We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are tired of spare decor Reserve yourself a room here.”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Special Hotel with excellent location, decor,staff. The queen room with 2 beds was exceptional
Timeless traditional decor with stylish rooms, lobby, bar and sidewalk cafe. Just a few steps to Rush street restaurants and entertainment. And Magnificent Mile.

Room Tip: Queen with 2 beds adjoining interior space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymargaretcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,255 - 2,259 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Talbott for the Labor Day weekend for our first trip to Chicago. We let them know when we would be arriving and requested early check-in. when we arrived at 8AM, our room was ready. The room was clean, and the housekeeper kept it clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Kathy, the concierge, is very knowledgeable, and when she gives you a recommendation, you won't be disappointed. She also checks back with you to make sure that you were happy with her recommendation. The hotel has a high end but homey feel to it. The location is close to Magnificent Mile with easy access to most attractions. You will be treated very well at The Talbott, and you will feel good during your stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I have been staying at the Talbott hotel for the past ten years while attending weeklong Radiological Society Meetings. Previously I stayed at several other well known hotels near the Michigan Ave.
I can say with confidence that the hotel is one of the best in every category. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, the staff is exceptional, the resturant food is superb and the bar is a place to relax for the evening. No matter what the occasion, it is a real 'gem'.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at the Talbott last weekend for what was our first trip to Chicago. It did not disappoint in any way. The desk staff was welcoming, the room very spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was scrumptious. Probably the best feature I found was Tim, the concierge. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. He gave us a number of options when we asked for reccomendations and was quick to secure reservations for us where needed. Directions were always on point and he seemed genuinely interested in making our stay very memorable. Absolutely personable and helpful! When we return to Chicago the Talbott will definitely be our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanandCathyApex_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

There's not a lot you'll be left wanting for if you stay at the Talbott. Despite the high end feel, you'll post a lower number here than at much lesser hotels around town. At least that's what we found in our search. The location is perfect - right off the Mag Mile, only about 200 yards from the red line, and only a couple of blocks from the Hancock Center. It still maintains a quiet feel despite its center-of-it-all location.

The place is spotless. The staff is friendly and incredibly helpful for anything you might need, and the room even has a DVR! It's perfect because, while no one wants to stay in and watch TV while on vacation, with the DVR you can set all the stuff you want to see before you head out and then watch it later on in bed if you want. I'm big on bathrooms, and our room had a double sink with excellent water pressure in the shower. Towels are roughly half the height of the Sears Tower, so you'll be all nice and snuggly and dry in those. The place is great. Stop looking. Stay here.

The only con I can possibly come up with is that the remote control in our room was pretty weak and I often had to press the buttons multiple times to get it to register. That was frustrating. But it's not enough to dock the rating. Pass on this place at your own risk...it's 5 green dots here, and have a happy day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,536 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $210 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing