We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC BRUNCH”
Review of Maple & Ash

Maple & Ash
Reserve with OpenTable
Maple & Ash is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 10,256 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Gold Coast
Description: Maple & Ash is redefining today’s steakhouse experience. We take an innovative approach, mixing a modern aesthetic with authentic service to deliver classic wood-fired dishes. With the menu crafted by two-Michelin-star chef, Danny Grant, and a wine program named one of “America’s Best” by Wine Spectator, Maple & Ash finds splendor in every moment. Holiday Hours: Christmas Eve: 12:00pm-9:30pm Christmas Day: Closed New Year's Eve: Brunch 10am-1:30pm | Dinner starts at 4:30pm New Year's Day: Closed
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We decided to have Easter brunch at this particular restaurant upon the recommendation of my niece who says that Maple and Ash has the "best brunch ever." We usually have brunch at Shaw's so, we were a little apprehensive about how crowded it would be since we had heard that this restaurant is quite the go to place. We were pleasantly surprised that even though it was a busy type of day, everyone was gracious and welcoming. Our wait staff was professional and very attentive.
We were seven in all and each one felt that the brunch was just delicious. The food was perfect. Nice sized servings and very flavorful. Not a lot of options for the food but the food was fresh and the food stations were accessible without too much trouble in standing in line. The omelette station was quite busy. I had a delicious omelette made to order. I usually have a hard time getting a good one but the woman making them was quite experienced in making them.
One of the things that could improve would be the desserts that are offered. Not a lot of variety and most of them were picked over by the time we were ready for dessert. The yoghurt and granola was very good. However, I personally do not think that the set up was very attractive for the dessert table. I would have liked to see a nice center piece or a main wow dessert. None of the desserts were enticing enough for me. Only three of us had dessert. Yoghurt is more of a non guilty pleasure. It's good for you.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and we enjoyed the ambience and most importantly the food .
.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank panz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason M, Guest Relations Manager at Maple & Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Panz22,
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We will be looking into our dessert station immediately!
Mason Marks
Maitre D
Maple & Ash
mmarks@mapleandash.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were looking for someplace special to eat on a Sunday evening after the theater and did we ever find it! Elegant surroundings and conveniently located with a menu that was sublime. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and perfectly attentive without hovering. A bit pricey, but very well worth it for the food they prepare.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason M, Guest Relations Manager at Maple & Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Pamela,

Thank you so much for this review!

Mason Marks
Maitre D
Maple & Ash
mmarks@mapleandash.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was an awesome experience! All of it, the ambiance was elegant, the food perfectly cooked and very flavorful, the cocktails just right, and the service exquisite. Worth the price!

Thank RA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason M, Guest Relations Manager at Maple & Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

RA03,
Thank You for your review!

Mason Marks
Maitre D
Maple & Ash
mmarks@mapleandash.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Brunch on Easter Sunday didn’t have that many option, but it has enough, salads, omelettes, pancakes, fillet, pork , salmon and desert, what else could you ask for? and everything was excellent, tasty and perfectly cooked. And the service, excellent.

Thank Dve_gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason M, Guest Relations Manager at Maple & Ash, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank You!

Mason Marks
Maitre D
Maple & Ash
mmarks@mapleandash.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Whelp. Maple & Ash was, by far, my biggest restaurant disappointment in the past year or so. I’ve had this on my “Brunch Bookmark” list for a while, so I was excited to check it out with friends this past weekend. Unfortunately, I was beyond disappointed with the service, and the food didn’t do much to make up for it. First, when you’re serving brunch buffet-style, your table server should have plenty of time to be attentive. We ordered the Bottomless Brunch mimosas for our table of 4. When we ordered our 2nd bottle, we probably shouldn’t have had to make eye contact with the waiter 5 minutes later, and we definitely shouldn’t have had to make eye contact 10 minutes later, when the second bottle still hadn’t arrived. This also happened when it was time to order a 3rd bottle, and by the time that one arrived 12-15 minutes after ordering, it was warm. In addition, most of the buffet station servers were a tad rude, with the exception of the meat-carving station…he was the one employee that served with a smile, and found me a nice rare portion of steak. (Kudos to him!) Finally, we’re pretty sure the shrimp in the complementary seafood skillet had gone bad. It was more the consistency of fish paste than properly cooked shrimp, and it had quite an unpleasant taste and odor. In summary, Chicago is a city of fabulous brunch destinations, so I would say don’t waste your time with this one. It’s rare that I give a restaurant less than 3 stars, but I just can’t justify more based on our experience. Oh, and, by the way, Maple & Ash…the staff’s IDGAF hats? They are only amusing when you’re being facetious. Not when your staff truly doesn’t GAF.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Merrill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maple & Ash also viewed

 

Been to Maple & Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing