We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location on N. Michigan Ave!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #74 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location on N. Michigan Ave!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We are members of the Ambassador rewards program and received an upgrade to a large, 2 room suite at check - in. Complimentary fruit bowl and bottled were delivered to us. The bedroom was big, comfy king size bed was perfect and furnishings well appointed - desk, bureau with flat screen TV. Free WiFi, as well informational computer provided (no internet unless you paid for it) Nicely renovated bathroom with separate shower and bath tub. No problems with water pressure even on a higher floor as mentioned in other reviews. Living room area was large with several windows over N. Michigan Ave. We were up on the 28th floor and during the day could hear sirens from street level, but it was quiet at night. This room would be useful for a longer business trip or a family needing the spread-out space. Bigger flat screen TV here. Furnishing in this room was a little drab. There was a second bathroom too!! All staff were helpful and the concierge reserved Architecture Boat tour for us. The ENO wine, cheese and chocolate bar in the hotel was a terrific and taste-y 'date night' evening. Recommended. PS. The pool is closed for re-furbishing, reopen date still TBD. Guests from Intercontinental can use the pool facilities across the street at the Marriott. We didn't.

Room Tip: Use concierge service for reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,899
    1,369
    540
    211
    143
See reviews for
842
1,038
211
1,433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

As a spur of the moment celebration/shopping/girls getaway I wanted to take my daughter to Chicago. I have always loved look and the history of this property, but have never stayed here...until now.

After doing some initial research of reviews...I was able to secure a fabulous rate and made the reservation. A few days before check in we received a welcome email from the hotel concierge...I reached out to him letting him know how excited we were to be coming and he offered a packet of coupons and other information to be picked up at his desk when we arrived.

At check-in we were pleasantly surprised to learn that our room had been upgraded to the 2th floor in the historic tour. The room was very clean and spacious. If there was a negative...there was not a lot of storage so if you we planning a multi-day stay it might be a problem. However, we were just staying for the weekend so it was not a big deal. I've read comments about the noise...seriously, it was very quiet except for the apparent 3 alarm fire that occurred sometime early evening when the trucks went by, but that was it.

Being late when we checked in, we really didnt want/need a big dinner...but we needed something so we thought we'd check out the wine bar and have a light snack and drink. However, there was apparently a convention or meeting on site so it was packed. Instead we opted for room service...it was wonderful...came earlier than promised and very tasty (margherita pizza and cesear salad).

Luckily had complimentary Internet service so we weren't impacted by the $17.95/day charge. However, there is also complimentary Internet in the Starbucks in the lobby. As a Priority Club member, we were also treated to a complimentary bottle of water (normally $7).

I can't say enough about this property and the staff and I will not hesitate to come back again. In addition...there seem to be several negative reviews about the pool being closed and guests being inconvenienced by having to go other places to swim. This proper is one of the most beautiful and historic and like all things must occasionally be refurbished. However, this temporary closure should not have come as a surprise to anyone as it is clearly mentioned on multiple areas of the hotel website. I can't wait to come back soon.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
505 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Spent three nights in Chicago at this property. First of all, I have to say that it would be hard to imagine a better location as it is perfectly situated on the Magnificent Mile close to terrific restaurants, the Art Institute and Orchestra Hall. The hotel has two sides - the historic tower and a new wing. The rooms are larger on the historic side but generally are looking a little tired. This property needs to be renovated. Some observations:

The junior suite I had was laid out strangely. A small bedroom and smaller sitting room separated by a corridor off of which was the very large bathroom.

The mirror over the sink was not over the sink but skewed to the right - made shaving a challenge and messy.

While descending in the elevator one morning, it started shaking so violently that I could barely stand up. It stopped on the 11th floor and I was greeted by an extremely worried looking hotel employee who had a technician shut it down. (This experience was far more powerful than coffee in helping me wake up - an adrenaline rush certainly cures sleepiness!)

Reports from my group were of sinks stopped up, exposed bolts in rooms, and generally things not working.

Now the good news - the staff is terrific. They make you feel welcome, are personable, have their own personalities, great service in the bar and really went the extra distance to help. I wish they had a better property to work in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the historic tower for a larger space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear John K,

Thank you for your compliments about our staff.
It is always nice to hear. I do however have some concerns about
your experience in the elevator and would like to discuss this with you
further. I have sent you a private message with more information.

Thanks again

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental recently on a business trip and was generally underwhelmed. The location is great, but the room I had was just average. The towels were surprisingly thin, which is something I don't expect in a quality hotel. The desktop computer screen may be useful for some guests, but I would have preferred to have the desk space to work on. The wireless is also ridiculously expensive, which amazes me when inexpensive chain hotels offer it for free. On a more positive note, I had dinner at the hotel one night and had the best crab cake I've ever had!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakPointers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
OakPointers,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing a candid review. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Intercontinental Chicago is a very nice hotel. Checking in was quick and efficient, the receptionist was warm and friendly. She gave me free breakfast coupons as soon as she found my information in the system. Although it is a little bit pricey, the quality and location of the hotel is worth the money.

The location for this hotel is just perfect. The Navy Pier is just straight down the street, shoppes and restaurants are within minutes of walking out of the hotel.

The only complaint that I had was that the pool was closed for an indefinite time. They suggested the option to go across the street to the Marriott for swimming but it is very inconvenient. Imagine walking out of the pool, out of the hotel and crossing the street in your swimming suit in downtown Chicago.

Other than that, the room was very clean, spacious and had a very good view of the Magnificent Mile. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, the view of the Magnificent Mile is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $234 - $609
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing