We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Hotel with personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #73 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pamukkale, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large Hotel with personal service”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

For a large chain hotel with a lot of conferences going on while we were there my sister and I felt the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When I arrived at my room I requested an extra luggage stand, it arrived within minutes plus extra pillows. The door man was very helpful and explained the workings of the hotel. The outrageous charge for wifi is so over the top, it is free at small chain hotels! It is free in the Starbucks down in the lobby. The room was large, the beds very comfortable, the bath was well supplied, and the linens comfortable. The location is great, close to shopping and good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msg1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,984
    1,410
    547
    216
    149
See reviews for
863
1,059
220
1,506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is my first stay here. I was not disappointed. The staff was very nice. The concierge was excellent and directed us to wonderful places to eat. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. We didn't need to depart till after check out time and they were very helpful with letting us check our bags until departure. I love, love, love the location. It is central to all things we were doing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hotel staff was friendly. Front desk was helpful, and the concierge was most excellent. He recommended us some really nice places to eat. It just all depended on what you felt like having at the time.
As for the hotel, the room was pretty nice, however, the bathroom looked like it needed to be renovated to keep up with its 4 star rating. Bathtub was pretty old looking, and the tiles needed to be up-kept more. Other than that, the hotel was good. Great location!! Let me repeat, great great location!!! Perfect for shopping, so you can drop off your bags easily and head back out. Close to all the landmarks, and best of all, within walking distance to most restaurants.
Negative of this 4 star+ hotel is that the wireless internet wasn't free!! Had to go to starbucks in the lobby if we needed internet.

Room Tip: Nice view if room is high, and on the street side. Barely any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stay here 2-3 times a year and each time I return with a warm welcome and greeting.
The staff is amazing as most have been there forever and remember all guests, their friends and more. There is no request they will not accomodate. I am guaranteed my upgrade as a platinum ambasador.
My only negative comments is this is a convention city which brings me there and now they charge as much as $75 to handle a package. There is no excuse to charge $25 for a small package and $75 for a large package. I think they forgot what business they are in? Charge a minimal handling fee as a service for a business visitor is okay - make it a revenue center and become as impersonal as the airlines.

Room Tip: best location in town with the mall across the street, lots of shopping on Michigan ave and central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I like the Intercon and the Fairmont type hotels. They take an old building keep the high ceilings and the wide halls and then take this shell and put in modern everything. So many hotels take the old infrastructure and put in window heating and cooling units that are noisy, cheap doors so you hear people in the hall, small bathrooms and crowded sinks. The Intercon in Chicago does a very nice job blending the two. I was upgraded to a suite but it was too much an entire second room bigger than the bedroom. But the bedroom is great. Wifi is free with membership in their rewards. The concierge was great with suggestions and reservations. Across the street is the Purple Pig. It is an upscale meditteranean restaurant with an emphasis on pork. It is served in ways that make your mouth water. They take no reservations and I have walked away in the past because the wait was 1-2 hours. The concierge got me and my customer in with a 5 minute wait. He showed us on the map every where to go in the area. So now for the restaurant at the hotel. Michael Jordans is the steak restaurant there are several in the country. The prices and menu in the bar were just too over the top. Two hamburgers and 2 ok wines came to $70 with a 20% tip that the bar put on the bill whether you liked it or not. For two people this is just wrong. Given you are surrounded by good places to eat, stay at the hotel ask the concierage for reccomendations and have agreat time.

Room Tip: Join the club and the upgrades are a great deal and for $100 you get free internet and a free night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $244 - $613
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Wotif.com, IHG, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing