We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal Says - Great Hotel Great Service Ok Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #68 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I like the Intercon and the Fairmont type hotels. They take an old building keep the high ceilings and the wide halls and then take this shell and put in modern everything. So many hotels take the old infrastructure and put in window heating and cooling units that are noisy, cheap doors so you hear people in the hall, small bathrooms and crowded sinks. The Intercon in Chicago does a very nice job blending the two. I was upgraded to a suite but it was too much an entire second room bigger than the bedroom. But the bedroom is great. Wifi is free with membership in their rewards. The concierge was great with suggestions and reservations. Across the street is the Purple Pig. It is an upscale meditteranean restaurant with an emphasis on pork. It is served in ways that make your mouth water. They take no reservations and I have walked away in the past because the wait was 1-2 hours. The concierge got me and my customer in with a 5 minute wait. He showed us on the map every where to go in the area. So now for the restaurant at the hotel. Michael Jordans is the steak restaurant there are several in the country. The prices and menu in the bar were just too over the top. Two hamburgers and 2 ok wines came to $70 with a 20% tip that the bar put on the bill whether you liked it or not. For two people this is just wrong. Given you are surrounded by good places to eat, stay at the hotel ask the concierage for reccomendations and have agreat time.

Room Tip: Join the club and the upgrades are a great deal and for $100 you get free internet and a free night...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,641)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,524 - 3,528 of 4,642 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We always stay at the Intercontinental in Chicago. It is THE place to stay! Great location and great staff! Can't say enough good things. Just awesome. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeavg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Location couldn't be better. The hotel staff was wonderful. Rooms clean. Starbucks onsite and wonderful concierge. Would definately stay there again.

Have a kiosk in the lobby where you can print your boarding pass. This is the first time I've seen this. Very handy - worked perfectly.

Wish they had seating in the lobby where you could enjoy a cocktail. Love the lobby experience - especially when traveling alone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed the first weekend in March on business at the Intercontinental. The hotel was flawless, and the customer service impeccable. The hotel is right on Miracle Mile, so you are surrounded by high-end boutique shops and restaurants. The rooms actually have a computer kiosk where you can get information about area restaurants and attractions, as well as the menus for hotel dining. That was a nice touch.

Be sure to bring your $$$. We got a great deal on this hotel from hotwire, but all of those savings were quickly depleted. Parking is $57 a nigh. We had a SCRUMDIDDILLIUMPTIOUS dinner at the Michael Jordan's Steakhouse in the hotel, but be warned that it is extremely pricey. One complaint I did have about the hotel is that you really don't have a room refrigerator to store your own drinks and leftovers from restaurants because the hotel requests that it only be used for their over-priced snacks and drinks that they are trying to sell you ($5.50 for a Coke & $7.00 for a small package of Oreos). You'd better pack your own snacks (non-refrigerated).

In your spare time, take a walk around the hotel to experience the historic King Arthur's court/theme. If you're looking for a few dining options in one area, walk out of the hotel and to the right two blocks to Ontario St. If you then go left, down several blocks are quite a few different food options. We enjoyed Eleaven for breakfast and Portillos for dinner one evening.

As stated in other reviews, the hotel pool is offline right now, supposedly for repairs (we didn't see any repairing going on). It's an absolutely beautiful space, but...there's no water.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1400 which was a corner room and king room. I don't think we had any extra windows...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshtonMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I only stayed 1 night at the InterContinental, but I hope to go back soon.
The staff were friendly, professional & welcoming.
The room was clean & quiet & a perfect temperature for sleeping.
The bathroom was roomy & updated.
The only disappointment was to excitedly find a makeup mirror attached to the bathroom wall, but it was mounted for a six foot person.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenofCaffeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
3,503 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 191 in Chicago
5,062 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 505 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $251 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Wotif.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing