We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Ranked #68 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Spent one night in Chicago, and found this hotel via Priceline. I got it for a really good price and I figured something had to be wrong with it. Absolutely stunning. The renovation is incredible, the beds were comfy, the room was spacious, the bathroom was clean with a powerful shower. The dual sinks outside the door of the shower were a nice touch. (and yes, they had TOOTHPASTE waiting for you - who does that???) The carpet looked new and the view from the window was awesome. Stayed on the 32nd floor and the view was incredible. It isn't really within walking distance to the major attractions, but a one day bus pass sold to us during check in was the best investment. The busses are easy to figure out, and the hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. VERY QUIET at night on the floor. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on check in. They were great about finding a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMcCormick, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear mike141,

I'm so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    1,339
    502
    220
    101
See reviews for
671
551
159
2,203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very satisfied!! We booked this room through Priceline “Name Your Own Price” after not having any successful bids on Michigan Ave. hotels (or vicinity) due to an even busier city than normal because of a home Cubs game and a home Bears game (I would assume). Even though we knew what to expect of this hotel from staying here previously (via Priceline), we were very pleased again. When booking through Priceline, one cannot choose the room or amenities, so after reading reviews, I decided to call and request a king size bed and a lake view. I called a few days ahead of time and stated I knew I was not guaranteed anything since we booked through Priceline, but that it was worth a shot to request a king bed and the recommended “lake view” from a high floor, mentioning that it would be silly to have two doubles since we were coming up to celebrate our first anniversary. When we arrived to check in (after being wonderfully greeted by the valet and concierge staff), we were informed the kings had all been sold out (9pm). We were rather bummed, but we knew that was the chance we took when booking with Priceline. Julie, the lady at the front desk, was very kind and helpful (regarding CTA passes and other local info) and even wished us a “Happy Anniversary!” Therefore, the person I spoke to on the phone must have noted it because we did not mention it upon arrival. Julie was able to get us a great view from floor 32, despite no king bed. We decided to unpack, clean up, and go for a drink at the M/X restaurant. (M/X was pricey, but that was to be expected in Chicago and in the hotel. We had a great time relaxing and having drinks and an appetizer after a three hour drive.) When we arrived back in our room, we found a bottle of wine, two wine glasses, a cork screw, a cheese appetizer, and a card from Julie wishing us a Happy Anniversary again. It was so nice, and not that we were upset, but it made up from the lack of availability for a king size bed. I must add that even though we had two doubles, we sleep on a double at home and these were still more comfortable than our own! In addition to the nice staff, our room was clean, large, modern, had a great view, and was quiet. I thought maybe this hotel should be rated a 3-star or 3½ star based on the location in Chicago, but we definitely had service beyond 3½ stars and accommodations. As far as the location, it is not the greatest, but it is right by a bus stop. We purchased CTA passes and rode everywhere on the bus and the train to places like Wrigley, Navy Pier, Michigan Ave., etc. We then came back to a nice upscale, quiet location. Perfect.

Room Tip: Lake view & high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeserz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMcCormick, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Jeserz2,

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us! I'm happy that we could be a part of making it memorable for you. I will be sure to share your review with Julie's manager so that she can be recognized for the great service that she provided to you. The picture you shared is also a beautiful view of the rain coming in over the lake - gorgeous! Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing. We hope to see you again next year for your anniversary!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is a bit off of the beaten path but there is constant taxi service that can take you to your desired destination in a matter of minutes. Our taxi rides ranged from $9-12 dollars each. The area surrounding McCormick Place consists of a group of contemporary, modern buildings including the Hyatt. The hotel is itself boasts contemporary and comfortable furniture that felt really homey and there are several areas on the main level with plenty of furniture to simply lounge and/or socialize. I did not rent a car, but the onsite Hertz rental was a selling point for me. The business center was sizable and modern with a lovely glass door and windows, the Daily Grind sold coffee, snacks, bagels (including one with smoked salmon and cream cheese that I loved)! I also had a chance to have drinks and food at the M/X lounge that was Excellent! In addition, no matter where we went in the hotel, front desk, staff floating the floor, or the lounge, customer service was great. We had one "incident" where we thought our room would have been serviced sooner than later (as we came back in rushing to get ready for a wedding) but the hotel immediately sent someone to service the room and gave us a free breakfast for two pass for the inconvenience. Overall, our stay was great! I will be back and would highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAJDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMcCormick, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear PAJDESIGN,

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a good time at the wedding you attended. Next time, you could also try the #3 CTA bus to save on cab fare. It stops right in front of the hotel and runs up and down Michigan Ave to the Loop, Mag Mile, Millennium Park, and more. It's $2.25/ride or the front desk sells passes for $5.75 that are good for unlimited 24 hour rides on both the bus and CTA El trains from the time of first use. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Yes, it costs more, but the bed and view is worth it. Having stayed in rooms at both Hyatt Regency hotels in Chicago, my family liked view from McCormick best, and value was better at Hyatt by Loop downtown- but both had nice beds. McCormick Place itself is a veritable labyrinth and our feet hurt from trying to find correct room & food, but Hyatt made up for that. We had breakfast included in our stay; and used room service. Room itself felt a bit small, but everything else had every detail covered. Highly recommend this hotel. Porters/concierge are very helpful also!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choosana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMcCormick, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Choosana,

Thank you for staying with us and also taking the time to share your observations. I do agree with you that our city view is really fantastic! I'm pleased we could be an oasis next to the convention center and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

The location right part of the Mccormick Place Convention Center is convenient if that is where you want to be. Its to the south of center of the city, near Cominsky Park. There is not much in the surrounding area, and I am not sure if its that safe outside the convention complex at night.

Lobby and breakfast restaurant was excellent, and the staff helpful. One note is that the rooms are clean but somewhat dated. The sink is located outside the bathroom separated from the room by a low wall. The closet did not have a door but a curtain. Its utilitarian, and I guess I expected a bit higher grade room product. The views are spectacular.

I did see signs in the lobby that they are putting up an adjoining tower and renovating all of the guest rooms next year. They may have been delaying ordinary upgrades for one big one. All in all a nice hotel for convention goers which will get rooms commeasurate with the facade, lobby and brand next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMcCormick, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear S K,

Thank you for staying with us. Yes, the renovation is coming this winter/spring and we are so excited to unveil the new guest rooms to you! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#142 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,858 reviews
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency McCormick Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Property: Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Address: 2233 South Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop , Near South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $204 - $607
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency McCormick Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideas about convention hotels will instantly disappear when you stay at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place. Here, chic yet inviting décor welcomes you from the moment you enter our newly renovated Chicago Hyatt hotel, turning our expansive space into a welcoming retreat. Take in the incredible views of downtown from contemporary guestrooms, savor a variety of delicious cuisines in our popular restaurants, or relax in our indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency McCormick Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mccormick Place Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Mccormick Place
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing