We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Planet Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #89 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome to Planet Hyatt”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've stayed at this Hyatt many times over the last 5 years. It's not my hotel of choice in Chicago, but sometimes it's the cheapest and it's also connected to the Pedway, which is convenient during winter months. The hotel itself is really two separate (but connected) towers. It really is a huge space, so be prepared to walk, especially after check in if you're in the east tower.

The rooms have improved in recent years due to pretty aggresive upgrading and rehab. The "Junior Suite" was by far the best experience I've ever had at Planet Hyatt. The room was spacious, clean, well decorated and had an amazing view of Chicago, though the bathroom was very small - smaller than the bathroom in a standard room which was pretty confusing. On a separate trip I stayed in a standard room, which was...standard (I would have angled for an upgrade, but the lady checking in beside me was expressing her outrage to the poor staff about her lack of upgrade, so I thought I'd do them a favor by keeping my mouth shut and just accept the room I actually paid for). Also clean, comfortable and totally sufficient.

The hotel overall lacks a personal feel. There always seems to be a pretty big mix of business travelers, tourists and conference attendees (if you do stay here get ready to laugh at the pretty random conferences they hold). That said, the staff I have interacted with over the years has always been friendly. By far the largest annoyance is the Internet fee. $9.99 per night is the standard rate, but they offer an upgrade to a faster speed for several dollars more. Another small annoyance is the prevelance of connected rooms...there's nothing worse than hearing your neighbors when you're trying to get to bed early, so make it your mission to find a room that isn't connected to another!

I'll stay here again. I'll roll my eyes when I book it because it's not my first choice. Then I'll arrive and realize it wasn't so bad afterall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geejaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,517
    2,554
    1,045
    391
    215
See reviews for
1,043
1,405
322
2,875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great stay with luxury and awesome views of Lake Michigan. You have to check out the Eleven City Diner a short taxi ride but awesome food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location. You are right on the river, and you have a gorgeous view from any room. It's walking distance to many bars and even the Chicago Theatre (which is a must see if you are in town). The hotel has 2 bars and a nice restaurant. The rooms are modern and spacious with plenty of luxuries. If I am in Chicago, this is where I want to stay. Fun, great price, and perfect location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clkiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a nice stay at this Chicago hotel. Not normally one we could afford, but had the opportunity and took it. The hotel was comfortable and clean, and the staff were great. The best part was the location: walking distance to museums, parks, the theater district and great restaurants. Definitely worth a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

stayed over the christmas holiday in 2011. despite it being an enormous hotel and very crowded, the hotel was well-staffed and took care of everything without delay. if you're looking to mainly stay downtown, this is a prime location, half way between the northern end of michigan avenue and the museum campus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5252orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,683 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 190 in Chicago
5,013 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 190 in Chicago
4,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $187 - $519
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing