We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BED BUGS!”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I went to sleep and woke up with bites ALL OVER MY LEGS IN LINES OF THREE! Although I didn't see a bug, the bottom of the box spring was ripped open - which suggests that they spray for bugs! When I called the hotel, they reacted fast and changed my room. They said they would "lock-down" the room and have an independent third-party confirm whether there were any bugs. Although they told me that this thrid-party did not find any bugs, they also refused to show me the report generated by this third-party (which would have showed the type of tests they ran, etc.)!

Later that day, I asked the hotel to bring a flash light to my new room so I could thoroughly check my new bed. The first staff member that arrived was not accompanied by a member of management and I told him what had happened to me and he was VERY SYMPATHETIC and said IT WAS NOT THE FIRST TIME. He gave me the flash light, let me check out the bed myself and then left after I was finished. About 10 minutes later, I got another knock on the door - this time with a member of management with another staff member with a flash light. This time they conducted the search (which was not as extensive as mine) and kept putting doubts in my head like it could not have happened!

Don't stay here unless you want to be some creepy crawler's meal! Hotel management will not admit to the problem!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank creeped_Out_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    1,035
    601
    226
    104
See reviews for
463
411
106
1,279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel is nicely located but so are many others along Michigan Avenue. Most disappointing for us was the lack of microwave and refrigerator. Our room was very small, barely room for the two queens and the bathroom was miniature. For the price, it is not a value. The staff was very gracious, especially the concierge and maid service. Room was clean, wall to wall windows afforded a beautiful view at night. Siren noise frequent. This hotel is geared to conference and business travelers, not families. Good restaurants are in the neighborhood. Our stay at the Hyatt last year was much much better. Disappointed to pay $16 a day for in-room high speed internet. Felt nickel and dimed for every add on. Free wi-fi hotspot in hotel lobby hard to connect and slow and blocked my e-mail service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverbeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Ventura County
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a beautiful hotel on Michigan Ave. So central to everything. The room was wonderful, quite large and Marriott bedding is always so comfy. The bathroom was a little small. The lobby is large and lively and has a full serve Starbucks! Great service everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We were on a combination business and pleasure trip and it fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Stayed here for a week for a business meeting. The event staff is exceptional. The rooms are average and halls dark. Very busy property--lobby is always bustling. Concierge lounge just OK. Breakfast consisted of eggs or oatmeal--typically they have bacon or sausage and switch it up--here it was the same everyday. Also, they didn't have sodas as they normally do--just fountain sodas that the staff had to get for you. It's a great location though--right on Michigan Avenue--walk out and you're in the middle of everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onefortheroad_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix,Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We have never seen a bathroom this small in a hotel.
It is a busy hotel with lots of people in the lobby.Location is very good and there are many restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
As other reviewers have mentioned, you can hear loud sirens during the night.
The good thing is that you hardly hear your neighbors and also you do not hear loud door slammings as in alot of hotels.
We have also stayed at the Intercontinental which is located on the opposite side of the street.We will stay at the Intercontinental next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oranges8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#69 of 190 in Chicago
4,461 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
276 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 190 in Chicago
3,381 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3890
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $258 - $548
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing