We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Choices than this Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better Choices than this Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference in March, next time I will stay elsewhere (such as the W) and just take a taxi to the conference.

This hotel is a typical large, busy conference hotel. It is also a bit out of the way with no stores or shops close by or places to run out and get a bit to eat.

I stayed on the concierge level which was not worth the extra money. The morning breakfast and evening appetizers were not good at all. Your better off going downstairs to the cafe and getting a bagel. Also the rooms are typical, again not more than a basic conference hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubby2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please except our sincerest apology for any disappointments you experienced during your stay. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay or the amenities of the executive level floor. Please be assured, we are currently undergoing our 2nd phase of a renovations project that will include some of our guestroom accommodations. These changes will bring new, modern exciting changes to rooms and amenities and we truly hope you will visit us again and share in our excitement of the new changes taking place.
We look forward to serving you in the future in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    1,554
    877
    380
    185
See reviews for
992
825
228
2,067
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Hilton on Michigan Avenue and both were enjoyable. The rooms are spacious by big-city standards, the lobby impressively grand and the history of this old and elegant building makes it a great destination for Chicago travelers. Plan to walk several blocks to get to the heart of the shopping area along the miracle mile, but there is plenty near this hotel to keep you busy as well: parks, the Chicago Art Institute, intriguing smaller shops and restaurants are all nearby. It is also situated close to major bus stops and train lines so transportation is readily available. Pricing was reasonable, but as with most locations within a big city, plan to pay quite a bit for valet, or even self-parking in the area.

Room Tip: If you are a lighter sleeper, you may want to ask for a room that is not along the side that the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswell1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago and with its location. We are delighted to hear you this is your second time here. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Hilton has undergone a Reno for the most part - rooms are nice, but many areas remain the old, such as elevators that shake badly - cafe and snack bar are nice. House keeping is awful - wireless is good

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyButFair100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is the classic big city hotel.....and it is BIG. Interesting floor plan and architecture and lots of history. Try for a room near your elevator or it could take you awhile to find it. Great service and fairly handy (but big city expensive) self parking. Handy to all things in the loop and near the subway entrances. Not cheap but they do have occassional promotions and some weekend deals. Be sure to look at the photo displays in the mid-lobby front area.

Room Tip: Older hotel so rooms don't have good airconditiong in spring/fall.....get one that the window op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdogroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It was a pleasure to receive your comments and to learn of your appreciation of the Hilton Chicago and all it has to offer! We hope you enjoyed all the photos of history here at the Hilton displayed in the Grand Tradition. We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.


Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, il
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We would strongly recommend staying at the Chicago Hilton, especially for attractions in the area of Millenium park. We found the common areas and the room very well maintained and the service was very good as well. Very positive notes: we were allowed to make a very early check in at 10:00am and were upgraded to a two bathroom room. We asked not to have an adjoining room next to us, and have a renovated room if possible. Both requests were satisfied. There is HDTV in the room. It's also nice that the coffee machine in the room could make 2 cups of coffee at a time. Very quiet A/C. There was also a fridge in the room (not a mini bar). The restaurant downstairs (720) offered very good food. The maple martini is worth trying! There are very good other services in the building including a starbucks and a full service fedex/kinkos with inexpensive printing prices.

My wife notes that: 1) it is nice that shower caps are offered. 2) the shampoo and conditions are better than the usual hotel far.

The Internet room fee is a bit of a nickel-and-dime thing, but not a big deal. Would definitely stay again when in area.

Room Tip: Ask to not have an adjoining room next to yours, and have a renovated room if possible. The Martini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zvalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMcArdle, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback as it relates to your recent stay!
It is such a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and to learn of your appreciation with the quality of service you received from our staff. We are delighted to hear the staff was able to accommodate your requests of an early check-in and a two bathroom room upgrade.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all of the room amenities from the coffee maker to the shampoo and that you enjoyed our newly renovated 720 South Bar & Grill Restaurant!
We have a long and hard earned reputation for guest satisfaction and it is always good to hear that our hotel is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to many more years of serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels is known.

Sincerely,

Damien G. McArdle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#101 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,489 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago

Property: Hilton Chicago
Address: 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $227 - $724
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 1454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic meets cool as Hilton Chicago embarks upon a $150 million renovation in celebration of our 85th birthday. The fresh, new vibe inspired by traditional, design rich elements pulls its inspiration from the hotel’s original architecture and intertwines a dynamic and contemporary spin. With the renovation underway, the hotel has already introduced over 400 new guest rooms, 13 new hospitality suites, a new technologically versatile Grab & Go – SNAX and a new restaurant with private dining space and bar – 720 South Bar & Grill. The new contemporary guestrooms have been cultivated with ornamental lacquer finishes, soft leather and rich, bronze wood detailing accented by a cool color palette of velvet and silk textured accents. Guestroom media capabilities include a 37 inch flat screen television, in room touch concierge panel, HCN Navigator computer and wireless and wired internet access. Following a day exploring Chicago, decompress at the largest Chicago hotel athletic club with running track, take a dip in our indoor pool facility or catch some rays on our sundeck during the spring and summer months.Located on Michigan Avenue in the South Loop, the Hilton Chicago is 1.6 miles to McCormick Place, along the Shuttle Route to McCormick Place and the first stop on the returning route from the convention center. Directly across the street from Grant Park and walking distance to Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Lake Michigan, Buddy Guy’s Legends, South Loop dining and art galleries, Museum of Contemporary Photography, The “Loop” – Chicago’s Financial district, State Street Shopping, Soldier Field as well as two short “L” stops to Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Hilton Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hilton Hotel
Hilton Towers Chicago
Hilton Chgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing