We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #139 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a, nice quiet hotel to stay in for business. The bell man service was fabulous. They gave great directions and advice. I plan to stay again. This time I stayed in winter but last July they had an outdoor roof bar on a top floor. It was glorious for a summer evening. Otherwise they have a smaller bar in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    620
    496
    218
    173
See reviews for
279
545
160
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We liked being downtown close to walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The bathroom was small and no place to put toiletries and such, but the mattress and pillows provided awesome sleep. We enjoyed our one night stay here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Itraveldou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights so we booked 2 queen beds. The room was called 'contemporary', not sure why. The good: the location, there are lots of restaurants in the area and you are just off Michigan Ave., if that's why you're there. Quick walk or cab ride to most of Chicago's attractions. The beds were really comfortable and each bed had 4 pillows that were also nice. The hotel staff was nice and efficient, no problems checking in or out, and the doormen were helpful.

The bad - the bathroom is miniature and there is no vanity in the bathroom or outside. Quite a challenge for 2 ladies with makeup, hair dryers, etc. The bathroom also had no fan and got totally steamed up while showering making for damp clothes and a challenge to dry your hair. The room was showing it's age with slightly askew toilet paper holders, rust on the fixtures, stains on the carpet and ancient lamps. (Maybe they were the contemporary part?) The room and bathroom really felt like it could use a good scrubbing from top to bottom, not just a change of sheets and a quick wipe down. Not enough plugs for the modern age of gadgets. We had to unplug the clock and lamps to charge our phone and ipads and use our hair straighteners, etc. The in room a/c was noisy and drove me crazy when trying to sleep.

If it's the only place left for your price point (that's what happened with us), then it will do. But if you have a few choices, I'd pick someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimkam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Kimkam26,
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We can agree that our bathrooms are on the small side, but we are looking to find ways to improve the allotted space in the future. On the other hand, the Inn of Chicago is a historic building dating back to 1927. As such, the bathrooms are unique as we are a historic hotel and have a different style and layout compared to what many would expect from a traditional hotel. Some of our guest rooms have not been renovated yet, so you may have had a non-contemporary guest room during your stay. We apologize if any inconvenience with the amount of electrical outlets available in your room. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future so we can another chance to exceed your expectations.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A friend and I stayed in one of the Inn's contemporary rooms with two beds for 4 nights.

EasyToBook was incredible simple to use, and they offered a significantly discounted rate, so that's great to start!

The rooms are clean, the bathrooms rather small with no counter space (not good for us ladies), but the beds were ridiculously comfortable. Best of all the staff, no matter where we encountered them, we're incredibly friendly. On the night of St Patty's, the bar tender allowed us to borrow their bottle opener, and on our way back to our room, we realized we forgot our key (and mistook it for another card). Again, the staff was really nice. Housekeeping gave us new towels even though we placed them on the hook instead of on the floor to replace. So, it was nice not having to ask for more towels ever (a first for me).

The location in Downtown Chicago is perfect. The walk to Grand and State to reach the train is less than a 5 minute walk; the trek to Navy Pier is less than 10. We even walked from the Field Museum (South Loop),through the loop, and back to the hotel (just make sure you realize you're walking a couple miles, and wear comfy shoes).

My only complaint is that there is no mini fridge or microwave. We managed without it, but we were on a budget...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear N E,
We are so glad you chose to stay at the Inn of Chicago and appreciate your gracious remarks about the service and location. It pleases us to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we will share your praises with our Housekeeping team and Bartender. We do offer a mini fridge for a nominal daily fee, but do not have microwaves available for our guests. We apologize if this caused any minor inconvenience. Next time you come back to Chicago, it would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed two nights - Monday March 11 & Tuesday March 12, 2012. Came to Chicago to attend the Home & Housewares Show at McCormick with my partner for work and also enjoyed this trip as a little getaway for the two of us. I thought it was a very good hotel. Had a king room on the 17th floor facing Michigan Ave. in the corner - was really nice. After walking the show all day it was nice to return here and then walk around the city a bit - great restaurants in the area. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly, and the room was great. I loved it and hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: My partner and I loved the King room facing Michigan Avenue on the 17th floor - at the end of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Bill463,
We hope you enjoyed the Home & Housewares Show at McCormick Place during your trip to Chicago. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on your return trip to Chicago.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#101 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): $151 - $481
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing