We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Ranked #40 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Everything about this hotel was wonderful, from the shower head to the ultra-comfortable bed. As a woman I rode the elevator with noted "This place is solid. They don't build them like this anymore." I found the hotel quiet, the service good, and the location perfect. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ME_Flats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear ME_Flats,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! We pride ourselves on giving our guests a comfortable and memorable stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our award winning restaurant Mercat al la Planxa! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome you back anytime!

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    575
    133
    43
    27
See reviews for
322
555
116
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here again over the St Patrick's Day weekend. Our son attends Columbia College, so this is an ideal place to stay when we visit him. The Blackstone is a cool 1890's-era hotel on Michigan Avenue. We've stayed only in the lake-view rooms (worth the upgrade) and have only nice things to say about the rooms, the cleanliness, the attentiveness of staff, and the overall ambience. The bathrooms are large, well-appointed, and luxurious with marble floors and very nice fixtures. Everything in the hotel is clean and bright. The mattresses are very comfortable. There's no sound between floors, and very little between rooms. The lobby & hallways are nicely-appointed and comfortable. For the price, this is a very nice hotel, and comes highly-recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear James S,
We always like to hear about our guests experiences when staying at our hotel. We are thrilled we could make your stay enjoyable and always make our guests the most important part of our hotel.
It was great to see you touch on the history of the hotel. The Blackstone itself is listed on the National Register of Historic Place. When we restored the hotel we retained some of the key original features including over 10,000 individual pieces of decorative, glazed white terra cotta which were recast or preserved.
Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you at the Blackstone again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I once stayed ay the blackstone hotel in the 1990s, back when it was a run- down palace of past-gone glories, back when you could stay a night with 7 other grad students in a single room, back when the heating and cooling systems barely worked. But thankfully those days are long gone and the Blackstone has been restored to it's former grandeur. Now it is elegant, clean, and comfortable. Rooms are large, lake views are still fabulous and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the loop. I wish every hotel I had to stay in was as comfortable as this. The tapas bar on the first floor is a bot pricey but absolutely delish. You probably wouldn't want to eat there more than one night. Starbucks on the bottom floor make breakfast easy.

Room Tip: Lake view gives views of both the field museum and navy pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synchro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Synchro12,
Comfort and excellent service is what we strive for here at The Blackstone. I take great pleasure in reading your review as you really touch on the exciting changes we made in 2008. Our famous history is not lost throughout the hotel as is best highlighted with our lobby where the upholstered circular lounge gives the room a central axis point while beckoning back to the hotel’s original era. This has been nicely fused with a modern touch seen in all areas of The Blackstone including our rooms which reinforce concepts of tradition mixed with innovation and while they also manage to provide an emotional connection to Chicago. Thank you for your taking the time to compliment our hotel.

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport Ct
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

True to previous reviews, the staff here are always friendly and helpful!

We were looking at colleges with our 18 year old daughter and I hoped to share all of the Chicago experience with her while we were in town. The location is two minutes from Lake Shore Drive, Highway access and 5 miutes from Navy Pier, Water Tower, Downtown!
Gorgeous hotel decor, mixed turn of the century with modern. Valet parking is expensive but it is at all the hotels. My husband parked on the corner and payed a meter. Not my first choice but it made him happy!

ACCOMMODATIONS: We had a concierge room on the 20th floor with a full view of Lake Michigan. Our room was clean and comfortable with chocolates and water bottles left on our pillow everynight. The attendants were kind and friendly but always seemed to forget that there were three of us in our room. Not a big deal though, just a mention. Beds were comfortable and Queen size not full!! Thank YOU!! Not two doubles!
Rooms was quiet from street noise which was a huge plus!
One complaint about room, the bathroom door. It is a sliding door and never stayed on it's track, plus you could see in about an inch space of the side of the slider so my husband/daughter had to be careful to maintain privacy when in the bath room. Inside the bathroom we had nice counter space and a marble shower. Clean, towels were kind of small. Towels are the "scrubby" kind of towels which I like because they get the blood circulating. I have heard reviewers complain they were not soft enough but it is not because they are bad towels, just a different style.
CONCIERGE LOUNGE: LOVE THE DESIGN and decor of the lounge, great place for a "chat" and to sip coffee or read a newspaper. CON-Food was really bad, bad, bad! They have water bottles and soda in the mini fridges. We preferred getting our coffee at the Starbucks below the lobby of the hotel.
WORKOUT ROOM:The workout room had newer equipment in excellent shape and overlooks Grant Park and Lake Michigan. I would rate the workout facility slightly above average. Definitely had what we needed for a full workout but nothing over the top. Towels and water were provided, one water had fresh lemons and ice! My only complaint about the workout facility was that the equipment was kind of dusty, not really dirty, but it did not look as though they have anyone assigned to clean the equipment on a regular basis. In addition, finding the remotes to turn the tv volume down was somedays a workout in itself! ha

RESTAURANT: They have a Spanish/Tapas style restaurant in the hotel but we did not eat there.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park and lake Michigan. The only thing I noticed was that the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HershieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear HershieK,
Thank you so much for your detailed review. I will be sure to share the lovely comments regarding our staff being ever so friendly and helpful. We are delighted to hear that you and your family were able to explore Chicago and see the wonderful attractions Chicago has to offer!
We apologize the food fell short of your expectations. Our culinary team is always actively looking for feedback. When time allows please reach out to me directly in order to share the specific issues you experienced. I can be reached at 312-447-0955. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards,

Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great stay at this luxurious, historic property. Rooms appear to have been recently rennovated, with comfortable, upscale touches - television embedded in the bathroon mirror, very comfortable leather chair for relaxing, high-end bedding, and a very productive work area. Although I coudl hear the train behind the property, it never interferred with sleep or work. I also never heard a sound from the other rooms around me despite the fact that the hotel was full.

Starbucks on the lower level along with a great Spanish Tappas restaurant ( Iron Chef Jose Garces). Property is very close to Soldier Field and the Natural History Museum. There's also a very well equipped Gym on the 6th floor with new cardio equipment, free weights and lots of floor space for other activities - great spot to see the sun rise over the lake!

I'm looking forward to spring when I definitely plan to return with my wife for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medicalalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminExec, Executive Assistant at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear medicalalert,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the essence of our historical hotel mixed with the modern feel. You are correct the hotel was renovated in 2008 and our aim is to provide a memorable stay to all our guests and you describe the setting perfectly comfortable with upscale touches. Thank you for the kind words regarding our restaurant Mercat a la Planxa I will be sure to share this with the staff at Mercat. Next time you are in town with your wife you should try our Sunday Brunch in Mercat, it is incredible! We look forward to having you visit us again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 190 in Chicago
1,944 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 190 in Chicago
5,034 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#138 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,068 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#37 of 190 in Chicago
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection

Property: The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Address: 636 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $277 - $560
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackstone, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackstone in downtown Chicago is a storied architectural icon rooted in the city's legendary past, but newly updated to deliver a distinguished hospitality experience for today's discerning traveler. Previously known as the Renaissance Blackstone, this recently revitalized destination is blooming as a point of cultural and creative discovery on the Cultural Mile. The Blackstone, where epic history meets a clever contemporary attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackstone, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Renaissance Hotel Blackstone
Renaissance Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing