We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Italian Restaurant - Great Staff and Management with Superior Food at a reasonable price”
Review of Osteria Via Stato

Osteria Via Stato
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Via Stato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #216 of 10,827 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Ontario
Transit: CTA bus stop at Ontario & State, Grand - Red Line, River North
Description: (OH-STEH-REE-YAH) A casual Italian tavern where people gather to enjoy antipasti with wine, a plate of pasta or an Italian feast, all served with the warmth and hospitality of family. Osteria Via Stato, a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant follows this definition and the Italian tradition of seasonally prepared dishes featuring local ingredients and artisanal producers paired with an all Italian wine list. Osteria Via Stato opens daily at five. Pizzeria Via Stato located adjacent to Osteria Via Stato is a cozy, Roman-style pizzeria that continues to highlight Executive Chef Digregorio’s passion for market-fresh ingredients. The tavern pizzas have crispy, thin crust with both artisanal and classic toppings. The tavern also features 300 Italian wines, local bottles and draft beers as well as an extensive selection of small plates. Pizzeria Via Stato offers both lunch and dinner
Reviewed 6 April 2018

So, we ended up at Osteria Via Stato after a very long walk around Chicago one day and we arrived between lunch and dinner - about 3pm. The management and staff were exceptional as our reservation was for much later in the afternoon. The environment is authentic Italian, regardless of the fact it is connected to the Embassy Suites, and very comfortable and relatively quiet. What struck me immediately was the class of the wait staff and restaurant management, accommodating, polite and fully of good recommendations. We were tired from our walk and not in a hurry - and the staff was accommodating - in that, they said you have the table and don't hurry and they meant it. Other times, we wanted a leisurely dinner and the wait staff is trying to hurry you in and out - but not here. The food is EXCEPTIONAL! I strongly recommend the caprese as an appetizer - it is the best i have every had, and we love Italian restaurants. The mozzarella literally melted in your mouth. The main course was great - as we both had pizza...perfectly thin and with abundant meat and veggies. It was the combination of service, food quality, unhurried atmosphere, and very, very reasonable prices that will bring us back when we visit Chicago again...that is a definite. This is my favorite Italian restaurant so far in all my many many trips. STRONGLY RECOMMEND visiting.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, Manager at Osteria Via Stato, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

It was a pleasure to meet and serve you on your recent visit, Matthew. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We loved this place. The pizza is the best thin pizza, the arugula salad and the pasta were delicious too, service excellent!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank nabeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, Manager at Osteria Via Stato, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We tend to agree on all accounts! Thank you, Nabeab!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

"Wow" is the best way to describe this energetic Italian eatery. From the wine and cocktail selection to the appetizers and main dishes, this was an experience. A tasty experience. After sampling several appetizers among our group, we settled into our entrees and devoured them all. With our hunger satisfied, we sipped cocktails and/or wine while enjoying the energy pulsing around us.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maintcoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, Manager at Osteria Via Stato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words and joining us for dinner. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is a great restaurant to work with for groups!! My groups have always been happy. Thank you Osteria!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lorissafendrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, Manager at Osteria Via Stato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for the great review Lorissa. Please let me know if I can ever assist coordinating your next group. Hope to see you soon!

Grant
Gwaspi@leye.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

My first visit here. With coworkers. We chose the family style dinner. Delicious salad and vegetable antipasti. Delicious pasta and sausage. We each got to choose separate entrees. Seafood stew, filet mignon, chicken, scallops ......all were very good. Great bread and wine too. Superb service.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank DanS3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialBD, Manager at Osteria Via Stato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hey Dan,

Thank you so much for the kind words and great review. Hope you will join us again soon! Let me know if I can ever assist with a reservation. Hope to hear from you soon!

Grant
gwaspi@leye.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Via Stato also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Via Stato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing