We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ambassador Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 197
USD 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 184
USD 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 129
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 220
USD 190
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 270
USD 247
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 331/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Raffaello Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 184
USD 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 195
USD 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 272
USD 258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 543
USD 391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 434/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,474)
Filter reviews
2,474 results
Traveller rating
1,953
417
70
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,953
417
70
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico osteriathe original pancake housethe gold coasttavern on rushgreat locationcorner kingoak streetrush streetrain showerwalk in showerboutique hotelthe magnificent milewithin walking distancehotel barjunior suiterestaurants and shoppinggreat shopping
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 2,474 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The staff at the Thompson go out of their way to help guests. During my trip this past weekend, three members of the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The most amazing was a server in the restaurant who remembered me from the last time I was there (June 2017) and came over to say hello and ask about my trip.

The rooms are very nice, too!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dzikakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear dzikakis,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that our staff was able to make your experience memorable. We hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great place to stay in downtown Chicago. Near any amenities you could require with a very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed only a single night, but visited the lobby bar as well as the Nico Osteria restaurant and both provided excellent food & service.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank apoirier6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear apoirier6,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with a great review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our bar's food and service. We thank you for praising our staff, hotel, and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We loved The Thompson Chicago. The location is perfect! Just a short walk to Michigan Ave, but without the noise and congestion. Easy access to the lake through the tunnel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, very focused on making sure everything is perfect and any need satisfied. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Chicago! Can't say enough positive things about it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RMcDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear RMcDallas,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with a fantastic review and I am glad to hear that your experience was memorable. We thank you for praising our service and our Gold Coast location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Convenient spot, walk to everything. Great room/view. Good bar for pre-dinner relaxation on first floor. Nice size room. Would definitely go back. Friendly staff was responsive to requests, and easy check-in/out.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Chuck B,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Thompson Chicago! We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with an excellent review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room's view as well as the bar area. We thank you for praising our service, hotel and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We spent four nights here for a family vacation. We enjoyed the ambiance and the staff. Our room had great views of the city. The location as convenient. The two double beds and room were just the right size for how little time we actually spent in our room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank leojtracnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, General Manager at Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Leojtracnik,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us at the Thompson Chicago! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with such a great review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your hotel room. We thank you for praising our service and hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks again,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Thompson Chicago Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews