We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still great”

Wishbone Restaurant
Ranked #337 of 10,827 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Side
Cross street: Morgan
Transit: Clinton-Green 0.6miles
Description: The first Wishbone opened in 1990 at 1800 W Grand Ave in West Town with 40 seats. In 1992 Wishbone expanded to 1001 W Washington Blvd and was an early participant in the emergence of the West Loop neighborhood from a commercial area to one of the city's culinary hot spots. In October of 2018, Wishbone relocated 6 blocks east to 161 N Jefferson St. The menu features Dixie standards like Blackened Catfish, Shrimp and Grits and Carolina Crab Cakes along with a mix and match menu of sides such as Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Sautéed Spinach and Macaroni & Cheese. .
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Just went for lunch. Parking around here is now crazy. Cost more to park by valet costs more than lunch. I won't go if I had to pay.
Back to food. Southern style. Great gumbo. Bread pudding best I've ever had. Maybe it's the caramel sauce.?
Have had their catfish and chicken...both great. Sides are fantastic.
Service is great. Atmosphere is comfortable. Very clean.
Years ago I went here at least once a week.
Always said it was one of my go to places if I want a good meal at a fair price.
Try it. Order something from the daily special. Order anything on the menu that you think sounds good. It will be.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Wishbone is a very friendly diner famous for its generous breakfasts. It should get equal credit for dinner as well. It's a slower time but no less friendly and no less delicious. Generous portions of Southern staples are always available - fried chicken, jambalaya, po boys and more full the menu alongside more generic fare like burgers. If it's on special don't miss the delicious crawfish etouffée - a bit of N'awlins authenticity I didn't expect to find in the Windy City. Great service, reasonable prices

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Wishbone never fails to delight your taste buds. The hash: andouille chicken sausage, brisket, or smoked beef... try them all but hands down, the andouille wins. Spicy and savoury. Just like New Orleans

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Great restaurant, superb food, relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere.
Had a wonderful meal here tonight. The Crawfish Beignets are truly amazing, the bread pudding is superb and the Mississippi Mud coffee is perfect on a cold winter evening. Not just fantastic traditional southern food, although that is there if you want it, there is part of the menu that takes a interesting and creative step away from the norm without losing it's origins.
Staff are super friendly and the easy going vibe is excellent. I've only been a couple times but both times there have been large parties, birthdays etc. People like this place and feel very comfortable here.
As a recent transplant to Chicago, Wishbone has become my new favorite restaurant. Will be coming back here often and telling all my friends.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Great hearty and fulfilling food. I had the crap cakes and collard greens and they were the best. For desert had the bread pudding and it was nice and warm and sweet.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank patrillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wishbone Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wishbone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing