We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for long weekend”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi from Friday evening through Monday morning. Room was very, very clean. The king room was very spacious & the bathroom was large. Our room faced Kinzie & we did not notice much street noise other than the occasional siren or car horn. Very close to public transport - 5 minute walk to the red line station, convenient bus stops within a few minutes' walk. We did the parking package and had no issues with the valet service. WiFi worked very well. Hotel was within walking distance of shopping & many restaurants. Contintental breakfast was convenient since it was on each floor. Staff were very friendly, as they always greeted us as we went in & out & often inquired how our stay was going. Would highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable hotel (by Chicago standards) in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community! We’re happy to know were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago and walk to the many nearby attractions in our backyard! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback about our rooms and team and will be sure to pass on your kind comments! Thank you again for your recommendation. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,714 - 1,718 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

A great hotel in Chicago central that is convenient to shopping, restaurants and theaters. The staff was friendly and helpful. Especially nice is the continental breakfast located on each floor; no fighting the crowds for your croissant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My stay at the Amalfi Hotel was a great experience. This hotel scored high in my book for everything a hotel should be. A wonderful central location - a few minutes walk to the magnificent mile, great restaurants, Millenium park and an El stop. The staff was extremely friendy and polite and more importantly, helpful and knowledgeable about the city. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, attractive and very comfortable. After these basics it's the additional extra touches that make this hotel really stand out. The extensive continental breakfast was one of the better I've come across and was always kept fresh, stocked and tidy. During the day you will find a beverage and delicious cookies in the lobby. In the early evening a lounge serving light hors d'oeuvres with an open, well stocked bar was a nice surprise! Dual shower heads in the bathrooms, a computer set up in lobby to access airline info and print your own boarding passes, later check out time.....all for a great price. Great value for your money at the Amalfi! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eshaw388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Amalfi features all the things the business traveler needs...comfortable bed, a clean and quiet room, double-headed shower, bathrobe, etc., but it adds a host of very friendly faces and gracious touches to add to the experience. Paul, or one of his colleagues, will great you in the lobby with genuine warmth. Extraordinary cookies in the afternoon, free drinks in the evening, and a very lovely continental breakfast in the morning make a business trip feel more like a vacation.
I used to select a different hotel every time I visited Chicago. Now that I have found the Amalfi, however, I'm making it my only Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We’re honored to hear that we have become your favorite Chicago hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoy all of our complimentary amenities such as our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Thank you for your kind words about our team; we’ll be sure to pass them on, especially to Paul. We truly appreciate your gracious review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in the Amalfi in July 2010, 4th of July weekend.

I was very apprehensive about leaving my Diesel Ford Excursion with the valet at Amalfi. It has a few modifications to the engine and can be damaged if not operated correctly. I explained the procedure to the valet drivers, and felt like it was a complete waste of time.

When the vehicle was returned to me the valet driver did not let it idle down and cool the turbo off as I had instructed. When I tried to start it, it wasn't happy, but did finally start. I was so relieved to get it back I just wanted to leave.

Driving away I noticed that the top speed recorded on the GPS was 105mph!!! (previous top speed was 95mph, done a few days earlier driving across South Dakota). I could just picture the flying Ferrari scene in Ferris Bueller's Day Off. I couldn't imagine where in the crowded Chicago traffic they found a place to go that fast, though it wouldn't take long to make that happen (see reference to modified engine above).

A little while later we stopped for lunch and I noticed a dent in the front bumper. I contacted the hotel and was referred to their claims people. No remedy.

Lesson learned.

Brett

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Brett,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments are very important to us in maintaining the quality of service that we deliver. I apologize for the unfortunate incident with your car.

Like most hotels in Chicago, we use a third-party contractor for our valet services and therefore any claims or disputes must go directly through their claims department. I would be happy to personally follow up with the valet company to get an update on your claim and will be contacting you directly regarding this situation.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 192 in Chicago
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $189 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing