We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel in Downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #58 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel in Downtown Chicago”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend mini-vacation at this fine Hotel and we were delighted with the friendliness of the staff, comfort of the room and the ideal location. I have stayed at a number of Hotels over the years and the Courtyard Marriott on Ontario Street is one of the nicest places I have stayed. This is a great value and one of the best Marriott Properties in the US.

The Front Desk staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and provided helpful suggestions of things to do a restaurant choices.

I recommend this property for fun or business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North are quiet with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mott3604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are glad you found our hotel staff to be friendly and helpful and the rooms to be comfortable. We are glad you enjoyed our location; it is perfect place to stay for shopping, dining, and site seeing. We will definitely pass along your nice comments about our front desk staff. We work hard to exceed guest expectations. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to host your next stay in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    383
    86
    23
    10
See reviews for
310
196
52
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Booked a room with two queen beds, along with the valet parking special, for Sunday September 2. Found the hotel with ease, and pulled up to the curb directly in front.

I was greeted at the door, and again at the front desk. I had noted in my reservation it was my Wife's birthday; the front desk gal wished her a happy birthday (nice touch). I arrived a couple of hours before check-in time, so my room was not ready. I was offered a different room option, or I could wait until my room was ready. Not a problem; I knew I was early, and I appreciated the alternate option. The front desk had our luggage checked, took down my cell number, and called within an hour to let me know our room was ready.

Great location. Less than a block from Michigan Avenue shopping, and a very doable walk to Navy Pier for those in healthy walking condition (5 to 6 city blocks). Starbucks on site; Viand restaurant on site; Dunkin Donuts just down the street. 7-Eleven, and multiple restaurants within walking distance. We didn't have time to check out the fitness center or pool.

Hotel and rooms are of modern decor, and the room was surprisingly large compared to the closets I've stayed in while in Chicago. No noise other than the occasional slamming hotel room door. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Front desk greeted us each and every time we returned to the hotel.

On site parking cost was comparable to any other hotel in Chicago, and the "valet parking special" with tip was comparable to the self parking rate. The valet attendant was friendly, opened our doors for us, and loaded our luggage in the trunk.

No question about it. I'll stay here the next time I visit the Michigan Ave / Navy Pier area. It's clear the management has set the bar high for above average, friendly customer service. Well done.

P.S. I didn't get to meet the famous Neil, so I guess he was enjoying some time off!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BakerBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We hope your wife had a great birthday in Chicago. We are glad you were able to enjoy our great location that offers shopping, restaurants, and local attractions all within steps of our hotel. We thank you for your kind thoughts about our staff and valet team. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

As a Platinum, I know what to expect in terms of rooms at the Marriott brands. Assuming they get that right (which they did), about the only way for a hotel to exceed or fail to meet expectations is with interactions with their staff.
We checked in and mentioned it was our 30th anniversary, which was greeted with a friendly "congratulations!". That was all I needed to hear.
That night, we hit the town and upon returning, found a basket of chilled mini-champagnes and strawberries. Needless to say, this was unexpected - it was just the perfect nightcap to an all-around excellent stay.

Great hotel with a great staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and thoughtful comments. As a Platinum rewards member you so richly deserve to be treated on such a special occasion. We are grateful we could host such a special day and wish you the best. Congratulations! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My entire stay was wonderful. Front desk, room service, the accommodations, housekeeping – all were excellent. My expereince at this property was beyond my expectations. The location is perfect - only a few steps from the Magnificent mile and close to lots of good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We work hard to exceed guest expectations and it is wonderful to hear your stay was beyond. We really enjoy the Magnificent Mile; between the shopping, attractions, and restaurants it is really hard to beat our fabulous location. We are glad you had an excellent stay at the Courtyard. We hope to host your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The staff at this hotel are wonderful! In all areas of the hotel - reception, restaurant, valet and housekeeping -the service was fabulous! It really made our stay.
I stayed her for two nights with my 14 and 10 year old. The room itself was nice as expected at the Courtyard. It's not luxurious but certainly clean and spacious. The restaurant food was OK and I would recommend ordering breakfast from the menu rather than the buffet. (Better yet, check out nearby West Egg Cafe -- busy and somewhat chaotic but delicious and worth the wait.)
The hotel location is phenomenal because it's close to the magnificent mile and navy pier. We bought a one-day unlimited ride pass for the bus/el and it worked out that we could go anywhere we wanted with ease.
Parking is expensive here. Idk the going rate in the city for overnight parking but I think there has to be somewhere less costly. The other downside of the hotel is the pool. For kids it was super small. It was busy (5 otther kids) and crowded. Oh and no in-room safe which was disappointing.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this Courtyard.

Room Tip: Pool is on the 10th floor so I would stay away from this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rdy2CtheWorld_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive comments. We will be sure to share your warm and friendly thoughts with our whole staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found our guest rooms to be clean and spacious. We couldn’t agree with you more, our location is phenomenal. Our hotel is located in the center of Michigan Avenue, next door to Garrett’s Popcorn, and walking distance of Navy Pier. The CTA system is very convenient, considering there are multiple stops just steps outside our front door. We are so glad to hear your stay was enjoyable and look forward to your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,454 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $215 - $476
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Marriott, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing