We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and improved facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #61 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Madison WI
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and improved facilities”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is probably my fourth stay at this hotel in the last 5-6 years, and I've noted some improvements over that time. While the basic amenities remain pretty much the same, I've noted that some of the rooms have been updated. This time my room on the 20th floor had a slightly more modern feel, a comfortable work desk/chair, and was quite spacious. Unfortunately, the lighting in the bathroom shower is still inadequate -- I get that the sole overhead light can't be moved, so how about a thinner/lighter shade shower curtain so I don't feel like I'm taking a shower in the dark?

Other changes include new parking fees in the attached but independently owned garage -- you either pay the going rate by the hour ($41 overnight) or get unlimited in/out privileges with a pass card for $44 (added to your bill in advance). Yes, downtown Chicago parking is expensive and you should just accept that's how it is --no different at any other hotel. This is not the suburbs. That said, at least the internet is complimentary, and worked great :-).

Staff is friendly and helpful. Attached restaurant (Viand) can be iffy, depending on the day. I've had great service and poor service there. But it's a good place to have a drink at least.

The location of this hotel is very convenient, one block off of Michigan Ave, so it's easy to get to and easy to walk to most gold coast/downtown locations. If you fly in, it will be an expensive cab ride to downtown, or you can take the El, but it's several blocks from the nearest station.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    385
    86
    23
    10
See reviews for
312
196
52
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I took an extended weekend trip on short notice to Chicago over the St. Patrick's Day weekend 2012. We visit Chicago about every 3 to 4 years and have become to know the city pretty comfortably. We arrived for this particular stay on Thursday and departed on Sunday. Note to newbie Chicago visitors: Unlike hotels on the north end or south end of the Mag Mile, the location of this hotel—in the heart and just a block off the Mag Mile—is extremely handy! If you drive to the city, as we always do, and since parking is at a premium everywhere downtown, you will park your car during your stay and walk or take taxis to your destinations.

This was our second stay at this hotel. We have stayed at two other hotels multiple times within the same one-block radius over the years, and this hotel, while slightly more expensive, offers a wonderful decor, full bar/restaurant, a unique pool and weight room situated on the 10th floor, and more, remains our first pick for a downtown location.

We have only stayed in a corner room here. The large bank of south-facing windows and the large east-facing window provide a spectacular near-180-degree view of the city. Sunrises are wonderful! We recommend requesting a room as high up as possible.

The staff has always been friendly—and considering this was our first time visiting during St. Patrick's Day weekend festivities, they were also very helpful in directing us to certain places of our interest, some of which were away from the larger crowds.

We look forward to our return trip!

Room Tip: The corner rooms provide beautiful views of the city. However, you are limited to one queen size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganPhotoRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was. I was nervous about the quality of the hotel, due to the wonderful cost for a downtown hotel, but now I'm thrilled with what a great deal we found. The location is wonderful, close to everything! The Starbucks in the lobby is small, but very efficient! Rooms are on the smaller side, but tastefully decorated and very clean. Staff and management were all exceptional and helpful! We will book again on our next trip!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First 5 Star in 2012!!! :) Wife and I stayed for two nights at this location. When I checked in I was recognized by membership and I asked for a possible room upgrade. We waited about 3 minutes and the lady at the desk kindly stated that I could get a King on the 24 floor (top floor) with a view of Magnificent Mile or a Queen Corner Room with a partial view of the lake, however that room would not be ready for about another hour. Since we drove 5 plus hours we decided to take the King upgrade. This was about 2PM, so it was early check in. There is no greater feeling than walking into a clean, fresh smelling room. Our room was exactly that! Also, Rewards Members, as a local incentive are offered 500 bonus points when using the restaurant for lunch or dinner (even bar tabs). I will stay here again when back in the area. On another note...Food - check out PotBelly Sandwiches about a 5 minute walk down ontario street. This place is also right next door to Garrett's, and finally Starbucks in the lobby. mmmm Good! Attractions - 5 minutes to the Mile, 10 to the water taxi's and about 20-30 to millennium park. Of course a video at the youtube channel. I highly recommend this hotel.... Loved our stay!

Thanks for reading.

Pros:
- Location, Location, Location
- Housekeeping & Staff
- FREE WIFI
- Room Service and Restaurant at Hotel
- Air conditioner in room not window (They get an extra star for that)

Cons:
- Needs to be about 40 floors higher for a serious view! :)
- Parking is $44 a day for in out access ($54 valet) "Parking fees are always killers in Chicago"
- No fridge or microwave in room (didn't request it)

RetiredArmyRANGER
Gold Marriott Rewards Member

Room Tip: Get rooms on higher floors and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHDSM-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new albany, indiana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here on 3/20/12. The staff were very friendly. The location is two blocks away from the red line. Great seafood restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: Join Marriott rewards, then ask for upgrades if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
4,463 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $215 - $475
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Marriott, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing