We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff was outstanding!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I can't say enough good things about the hotel staff. The front desk was outstanding as were the doormen. These people made you feel like dignitaries. I wish I could have tipped more generously. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was very secure in regard to safety and it was also located close to many restaurants and shopping. The pool water was a bit cold but my young daughter certainly did not complain. Thanks again to the staff. You were all wonderful and deserve a raise. We'll see you again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! I will pass along your comments to the staff supervisors. As a team, we do our best to exceed guest expectations and it truly is a team effort. We are glad you were able to enjoy our downtown location! We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    366
    80
    22
    10
See reviews for
293
187
46
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We held a week long training seminar at this hotel and it was perfect. The food was better than expected and the staff was very attentive. Many of our attendees said they wanted to come back for the food alone. We are definitely holding another week long training here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyTempe_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for all of the detailed and nice comments about our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our location - we are within walking distance of so many places and it doesn't hurt that we have had such a warm winter! The comfort of our guests is always a top priority for our team and we will take appropriate steps to assure that comfort when necessary. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My daughter and I were in Chicago for one night and really wanted to make the best of it. We couldn't have picked a better location. This hotel was right around the corner from Michigan Avenue. The shopping was great and the restaurant selection was plentiful. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The front desk and conceirge staff were fantastic. The staff bent over backwards to be helpful.
I was regretting not staying another night until I came down to a lobby full of young adults (I assumed college kids) carrying cases of beer. They had just unloaded from a bus and had obviously been drinking all day. I overheard that they were from Columbia Missouri, in town for a golf banquet. One girl actually had to be carried into the hotel. She apparently had a few to many on the bus. I felt bad for the hotel staff having to deal with that ridiculousness and was glad to be on our way. I did turn to the concierge and ask how they handled situations like this and he said, "No worries. We have a zero tolerance policy and if they cause any trouble they will lose their rooms.". He sounded very convincing. I'm sure all hotels have to deal with situations like that from time to time. I would return to this hotel again for a fun girls trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlpryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for all of the detailed and nice comments about our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our location - we are within walking distance of so many places and it doesn't hurt that we have had such a warm winter! The comfort of our guests is always a top priority for our team and we will take appropriate steps to assure that comfort when necessary. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent one night here for a mid-winter get away. There were 7 in our party altogether (including 2 senior citizens and 3 kids), and we had booked 2 rooms. Upon arrival, they informed us they had upgraded us to 2 separate adjoining rooms which gave us 4 rooms for the 7 of us but still charged us for the 2 rooms I had originally reserved. We had soooo much room! And the rooms were very nice with comfortable beds. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable about the area. They were great with helping us get a van taxi since there were so many in our party, and they gave a great recommendation where to get the traditional Chicago-style deep dish pizza. We would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cktucker49328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for the compliments about our hotel! When the desk saw the amount of guests in your party and the fact that we had upgraded rooms available, we were able to upgrade your rooms, which I am happy your guests enjoyed. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some genuine deep dish Chicago-style pizza while you were here! We look forward to hosting your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
racine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had over 150 room nights with our group there in late January, 2012 and it was great. It marked the fourth event we've had at the Courtyard and they've been awesome. Would highly recommend them, especially if you are in town for a tradeshow. But, I've stayed there non-work as well and the treatment was the same.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms across the elevator if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation Ray! We are always delighted to accommodate your group! I am very glad that you have also received the same treatment when staying at our hotel for other trips as well. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to working together in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#76 of 187 in Chicago
4,238 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $222 - $503
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing