We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Peninsula is a fabulous hotel. I have stayed here many times in the past but it has been several years since my last stay (for convenience only). I had read some reviews stating that rooms were tired and in need of a redo. My room was not this way. It was perfect and did not feel dated at all. The rooms are large and well appointed. The bathroom is spacious with separate tub and shower as well as a separate dressing area. The staff and service are excellent. The location is great for shopping and restaurants. I was travelling alone and went to The Bar for a drink and dinner. It was very good. It’s old school with dark wood paneling and a fireplace. When I was there it was not crowded. I ate at the bar and felt totally comfortable alone. The bartender was helpful in a meal selection. Overall I can not recommend the Peninsula more highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMM5226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    133
    49
    17
    15
See reviews for
228
405
71
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Tremendous service, great location & worth every $$$

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Dominick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Peninsula is an excellent choice when visiting Chicago. Great location for walking up and down Michigan Ave. Close to great restaurants on Rush and an easy walk to the river for any kind of boat cruise. I loved the tv's in the both the bedroom and bathroom. I also loved the 2 dressing areas in the bathroom. The best part of our stay was, of all things, housekeeping! These people know how to make you feel like one of the rich and famous. Every day the room was spotlessly cleaned. Clothes folded, toiletries organized, shoes lined up in rows, etc. Every night there is a turndown service with slippers placed by the bed and fresh towels put in the bathroom. The only glitch in our stay was the fact that we like to sleep in and there was some reconstruction work being done in the room above ours starting about 8:00 AM. We opted not to change rooms and they offered a free massage (which I was too busy to use) and a bottle of wine along with a very nice apology. Over all, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I recently stayed here for a week and wished that it was two. It was my second visit to the Peninsula Chicago. The service was excellent throughout. The concierge desk was always staffed with two people who mailed packages for me and gave me advice; the lobby staff remembered my name as did the front desk; housekeeping showed up within five minutes of a request and room service arrived in less time than estimated. The food is good throughout. And the flower arrangements are always beautiful.
It couldn't be better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plain City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I wish every hotel was as wonderful as the Peninsula. This beautiful hotel has made every other hotel I have stayed at look sub-par. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to help me when my key card wasn't working for some reason. The room service was quick and the food was heavenly. Close to great shopping. This was one of the best vacations I have ever had and that is largly in part to the Peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $450 - $1,171
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing