We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Concierge Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #107 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Concierge Service”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is nicely located. The rooms are small but very nice. The best is the concierge service that was amazing. Eden and TK just could get me in everywhere (Restaurants & Clubs) and had as well a lot of good ideas where to go and what to do.

Would always go back if I'd come to chicago.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    711
    337
    200
    125
See reviews for
227
721
180
951
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have been staying at the W City Center on and off for a while. As a platinum member, the concierge has always done a fantastic job. My main concierge is TK who always reaches out to me to see I need before my trip and follow up for feedback after my trip. I greatly appreciated the personalized service this hotel offers and will always come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolboynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nice hotel, great ambience, great food..........concierge TK was excellent and an asset to the hotel and Starwood.

Room Tip: Higher floor; ask for an upgrade if you are a frequent traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandalama_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, IL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our second visit to the W Chicago City Center. The concierge service is what keeps us coming back! This time, our main concierge was Eden, and we were thoroughly impressed with her attentiveness, information about hotspots in the city, and her connections. Thanks to her, we got spoiled rotten at the 9 Steakhouse (even got to see Dennis Rodman, although I know that wasn't exactly on her account) and got to skip the long, long line at a phenomenal diner. The other concierge who assisted us was wonderful as well and made a FABULOUS recommendation for live blues.
If you go to Chicago, pick a place with well-recommended concierge service, and your trip will be the best trip possible. I write for luxury travel, and I have yet to come across concierges as well-informed and well-connected as those at the W.
Plus, if you let them know why you're visiting, you'll find little extras in your room, courtesy of the concierges. I let them know we were celebrating my husband's birthday and having a babymoon (last vacation before our baby is born), and Eden had a yummy b'day brownie and two onesies placed in our room for our arrival. These little extras are what keep us coming back to the W.

Room Tip: Each room is a little different - the one we first got had a "water closet" (bathroom wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdthephoneplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hotel was nice -- exactly what you have grown to expect from a W hotel. Wish they had a spa, although there is a spa at the Lakeshore W, and we could have easily made appointments there. The highlight was our W insider Laurelin, who was VERY helpful. It was my husband's birthday and she arranged complimentary beers and peanuts to be delivered to the room (which he really appreciated) and also helped us get a reservation at Frontera Grill, which we had not been able to get on our own. She was wonderful and really helped to make the weekend special. Thanks Laurelin!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoSmileyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,440 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#92 of 190 in Chicago
1,448 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
241 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $211 - $736
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing