We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Cons:
Hotel did not provide promised room upgrade for Club Carlson Gold membership, despite that the hotel was not full or even busy this weekend. Our room was dark and ultra modern and decor was not to my taste - no choice offered at check-in for a more traditional (or larger) room. The table-top sign which indicated that I wanted the bed linens changed was tiny and not noticed until the next day. I could not figure out how to turn on the body sprayer in the shower. Not adequate space to store towels in the bathroom so they were just haphazardly piled on the ledge.

Pros:
Hotel did feel new and very trendy/hip. Location was excellent. Helpful to have so many sets of elevators to access guest floors. Also enjoyed the multiple lounge and relaxation areas throughout the hotel, including the vending and television area near the pools. Very unique flooring and carpet color in our guest room. Doormen were very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Tip the check-in desk attendants - paying for the "chance" at an upgrade did not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linfrangat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for leaving us a review. I am truly sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been and that your Club Carlson status was not better acknowledged upon arrival. I am addressing each of your comments with our team and hope that we are given the opportunity to recoup your confidence in us in the near future. On a happier note, I am glad that you enjoyed the location and lobby areas; I believe that the "Naturally Cool" room design will be more to your taste for your next visit. Thanks again for the review; I hope we see you back at the hotel again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,571 - 4,575 of 4,941 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Blue Aqu was a delightful getaway experience. The staff was extremely helpful and the facility was amazing! The lobby fireplace that runs the length of the room was so cozy and the room was beautiful with sliding doors in the ultra hip bathroom and a cozy robe in the lighted wardrobe. Good location, close to Michigan Ave.Beautiful view. Just first rate from top to bottom. It is the perfect spot for a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you so much for the great review! I couldn't be happier to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that it was the perfect spot for your getaway! I hope that we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here on 2/17/12. Took our two boys downtown for a night in the city.

Sometimes when a hotel is hip, the staff can have a 'whatever' attitude - kind of, 'I'm too cool for you....'
But not here. The modern vibe of the Radisson is complimented by a welcoming & friendly staff.
Our room was on the 10th floor - black onyx/granite floors - with an bright aqua carpet. Excellent lighting, top of the line fixtures. Our room had a balcony, although it was too cold out to enjoy. Wonderful views of Navy Pier and the Lake Michigan. Beds were comfy - 2 queens, rather than 2 double - which is hard to find. One thing we noticed is the doorways to the rooms are not right off the hallway - they are tucked back - you go down a little hallway to the doors to the rooms. This makes the rooms very quiet. No noise from the hallways at all.
Being a new hotel, everything is shiny and in excellent condition. The lobby is beautiful, with the long (very long) fireplace and comfy chairs.
The lounge, bar and restaurant are modern; decorated in white, gray & silvery tones.
We had lunch at Filini - the restaurant. Excellent food. Sandwiches were reasonable (around $10) but the other options were pricey for lunch. ($8-$12 for appy, $16 and up for entree - most averaging $23). Lunch for the four of us was $120 (we did have a couple glasses of wine).
Our boys loved the game room (pool table) and 1/2 basketball court. The gym is better equipped than any hotel we have ever stayed.... but it is shared with the residents of the Aqua building. We were there on two occasions, and it wasn't crowded.
Steam room and Sauna are also available.
We really loved this hotel. Then again, it is brand, spanking new. I hope that they keep up with the maintenance of the property - keeping it fresh and clean.
Great location -- close to the river, Millennium Park.
Only complaint -- parking. $53. OUCH. Goes with the territory of city hotels, I know. But it still gets to me.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for your review! I couldn't be happier to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we are the "perfect" getaway location. I hope we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

we spent one night here for an in town mini vacation. the rooms are very modern with hardwood floors. comfy bed and pillows, huge bathroom with a rain shower head and a wand attachment that i couldn't figure out how to use. there's a CVS store downstairs open til midnight, that comes in handy to keep out of the expensive mini bar. staff was friendly. the pool and hot tub were ok,but the steam room was really cool and something you don't see too often in a hotel. another cool part---half court basketball!!! the fitness center is open all night which is where the steam room and court are--super cool. a great location right by the trains and millennium park . this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: there are 18 floors, so the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pozdowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel and that basketball court and steam room were your favorites. I hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel for a long weekend. We have stayed at many hotels in Chicago and Milwaukee but this hotel is definitely a gem. The hotel is newly opened but did not feel like there was any inexperience at all. Fillini restaurant was wonderful and Michael was extremely helpful in making our breakfast delightful. The poached egg with salmon bacon was exquisite! Archtecturally, this hotel is stunning and the lobby sitting area with the full length horizontal fireplace is so comforting. We sat there each night with a drink and it was so relaxing. The rooms are really spacious and have a safe, full bar, rain fall shower and very comfortable beds. I cannot say enough about the weight room, athletic equipment, half basketball court and lap pool. We spent half of our time in that area and I never played so much "horse" in the basketball court as I did that weekend. The lap pool is perfect temperature for doing laps. i can't wait to stay in the summer to experience the outdoor track and pool! The lighting in the rooms and bathrooms are a bit dark. The room had a balcony which is also nice surprise in a hotel. The location is perfect for going to Navy Pier or the shopping district.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you so much for your review! I am honored to see that you had such a nice time at the hotel and that you enjoyed our facilities! I have passed along your compliments to Michael and to our Chef! Thanks again; I hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $196 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing