We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Chicago Hotel in Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Incredible Chicago Hotel in Prime Location”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I've stayed in the River North area of Chicago five times within the last six years, and this property is by far the best I have experienced. What a gem! Beautiful hotel, staffed with professional employees who go out of their way to enhance your stay. Lovely lobby and "Living Room", where coffee is served in the morning and a wine reception is held each evening. Front desk staff very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, which is home to dozens of great restaurants and entertainment options. The rooms are modern, warm and exquisite. I chose a King Spa Room, and could not believe the decor and size. And the bathroom....beautiful. As nice as the rooms are, take time in the morning or afternoon to use the "way better than normal" fitness center, or swim some laps in the immaculate "blue lit" swimming pool. At sunset, take your beverage to the roof terrace and watch the lights come up on the distinctive Chicago skyline. I had friends who live in Chicago come by the room for a cocktail, and smiled when I watched their mouths drop open when they saw my room and the rest of the property. Makes you proud that you made such a good hotel choice! After four nights, I truly wanted to extend my stay even longer. Palomar Chicago, thanks for doing everything so well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoast78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear westcoast78:

Wow, we are so honored that you wrote such an amazing review and we could not be prouder that you chose to stay with us.We are so glad we helped make you look good.

We are looking forward to your return.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    570
    85
    20
    10
See reviews for
656
951
123
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Sheer elegance every step of the way! This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. They even brought a fish in a bowl to our room for my toddler! Beautiful views from the rooftop with a nice heated pool to relax in. Excellent service!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPTLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear CPTLauren:

Thank you for the short but sweet review. It makes us very happy that you had such had good time.

Don't be a stranger.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Phenomenal property. Great location, superior rooms, strong hospitality and an unbelievable restaurant and bar (Sable). I've stayed at this property multiple times. Every time I end up trying a different property in Chicago (Amalfi, W, Trump) I end up wishing I had stayed at the Palomar. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Matt D:

We are truly grateful that you think so highly of us, especially given all of the other great hotels you have stayed at before. We hope to see you back again soon. It is an honor to have you as a guest.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our first visit to Chicago and chose the palomar because of the good reviews, we'd stayed at kimpton hotels before and it was reasonably priced. The location of the hotel was great, very close to michigan avenue and lots of great restaurants nearby. Although the staff were nice, they weren't as friendly as in other kimptons we've stayed in. The decor was quite tired and not of the standard we've experienced in other kimptons. Room was very clean and spacious. We had a few drinks in sable which was lively and had a good atmosphere. We received breakfast vouchers for sable on arrival which was unexpected but very much appreciated- small breakfast of bagel and fruit but enough for us. Overall I would recommend this hotel and stay here again because of location and value for money but decor could do with a freshen up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopsface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Chopsface:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it and thank you for staying at other Kimpton's as well.

We continually update our hotels with new furniture and carpets etc. and even though we are only two and a half years old we always look for places to do that.

Take care and see you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a five day vacation in Chicago (our new favorite city) and one of the highlights was our stay at the Kimpton Palomar. The hotel is perfectly situated for easy walking to River North, Millenium Park, Michigan Ave and a myriad of fabulous restaurants--- public transportation to the airport, Wrigley Field and the Steppenwolf Theater is a block away. What we loved about the Palomar were the amazingly helpful and gracious staff, the spacious, clean room, the delicous coffee available (with a paper) early in the morning and the wine hour at the end of the day that allowed us to meet others who were passing through the city. There is nothing about this hotel that doesn't deserve a five star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhetthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear rhetthouse:

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We always appreciate it. It will be a thrill to see you again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,306 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,530 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,729 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): $280 - $590
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing