We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I booked this through Booking.com - it has the feel of a sleek boutique hotel. The staff were friendly and nice. The room was modern and clean. I did not use any other facilities such as gym. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yookyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,989 - 1,993 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

The staff here is great. By the 2nd day it's like a small family and everyone knows your name from desk staff to the doorman they are all great. We stayed at the ritz on our last trip to Chicago and other than location (a few blocks from mm) I like this place just as much or more. If I was going to complain about anything AT&T doesn't work in the hotel they should look into a repeater

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stay at Klimpton Hotels all the time. The Epic in Miami and the Alexis in Seattle are unbelievable properties. This, in my experience, was not.

It's not that the hotel was bad. The room was large, well decorated, clean and well appointed. The Internet was fast, the staff was friendly and tried to be helpful, and the New York Times was waiting by my door in the morning. And the price was competitive. Indeed, after American Airlines lost my luggage (though they prefer the term "delayed," as evidently luggage, like a child, is not "lost" until several days pass, though I digress), the hotel provided me with free toiletries. These are all good things.

However, remember that lost bag? I had to call American Airlines 1.800 number repeatedly to find my luggage, which I kind of needed. The hotel charged me $1.00 for each call. Which, I mean, it's a dollar, but really? Then, the concierge told me that the hotel would call me when the airline delivered my bag. What great service. Only, I did not get a call. Not a problem. When I called the hotel to see if the bag had arrived, the lady at the front desk remembered my name, also good service, and insisted that the bag had not arrived. Which led to 45 minutes more on the phone with American Airlines who swore up and down that my bag was delivered. It turns out, it was, the hotel placed it in a back room, did not call me and told me that it had not arrived when it had. Which, I mean, I don't know, maybe I'm nitpicking. It's the service I would expect from a Marriott or a DoubleTree. But a hotel that is purportedly in the top 25 of all hotels on TripAdvisor? Not even close. Nor, really, was the property or its location anything all that special. And when I have to hail my own cabs every time I leave the property? This hotel is fine, but as a disturbingly frequent business traveler, this hotel is no place to right home about, either.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear therlp:

Thank you for your recent review. As a senior TA reviewer, you clearly travel a lot and write a lot of reviews, which are always interesting to read.

We are truly sorry we did not live up to your expectations. It seems like the majority of issues you had at our hotel revolved around lost baggage from American Airlines. I do apologize that there seemed to be a mix up with our staff member in regards to where the bag was once it was delivered to the hotel. I know we are actively investigating what happened. I am sure without that one sanfu before you even arrived at the hotel you may have had a better overall experience.

Once again, we apologize and hope that we can restore your faith in our hotel in the future.

Respectfully,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

After a wonderful experience celebrating my husband's birthday at Palomar Chicago in January, I came back for a girls' trip to celebrate my best friend's birthday this week. I wouldn't have thought it possible, but this trip was even better than the one in January. This time when I made the reservation I thought to include a note that we were celebrating a birthday on Tuesday, and we arrived to a bottle of champagne and a personal note in the room. It was such a nice touch, and drinking (free!) champagne while watching "Bridesmaids" on HBO and getting ready for a fun night out will always be a great memory from my friend's 30th birthday. As with all of my prior Kimpton stays, every staff member we encountered was very down-to-earth and super friendly without seeming disingenuous. Beds were amazing, in-room breakfast was fresh, hot, and right on time, and the location of this hotel can't be beat. I also love the little Kimpton touches like the wine hour, free wifi and minibar credit for members, and the option of traveling with my dog! Thanks to my flawless stays at Palomar Chicago, Eventi in New York, and Lorien in Alexandria, I always check for a Kimpton hotel first when I'm planning a trip to a new city. Chicago is a quick drive for us, so I'm looking forward to many more stays at Palomar in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Corinne382:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and for being a repeat guest. We truly appreciate your business.

I am so glad you had a fabulous girls weekend in Chicago. We hope to host you and your friends again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is smaller than I expected, but does have a very stylish decor, the desk staff was stiff but adequate (many ho-hum personalities....even the concierge was a drag!....go figure?) although i must add that the bellmen, and doormen went out of their way to make us feel welcome. valet service was very frenzied,awkward and small (about the size of a two car parking space) yet they seemed able to get the car to us without major delay. they have a very nice sitting area where many people seemed to "hang" throughout the day.it had a beautiful fireplace where they served a free daily wine hour. they normally serve one white and one red selection, they also serve a very miniscule hors d'oeuvres that unfortunately does not seem to make it all the way around the room, so don't go hungry!!...lol..There is a beautiful restaurant and bar attached to the hotel that seemed to be very popular, the food was decent, not outstanding and somewhat pricey for what you recieved. we ordered room service twice, only because we recieved a meal credit when our room had not been cleaned after being away for 8-10 hours!!!! otherwise we would have never eaten on the property. at check-in they give you a $10 credit to apply towards a selection from the mini-bar. Initially, i was impressed with the room, we had two double queen beds, and a small sitting area, floor to ceiling windows with beautiful curtains,a flatscreen and many decorative touches. But, each day it went downhill,the first night there we received turn down service, our room was tidied up, robes were set out, bed turned down with chocolates on the pillows...etc. it was great! we stayed for 4 nights and never received that level of service again!!!!??? in fact we were looked over twice by housekeeping during our stay???!!! manager we spoke with was helpful but she was devoid of personality, (i don't know if these people like their jobs), when they did come to clean we left the room for a short while, i dropped some crumbs on the floor just to see if they would vacuum because i couldn't tell if they were doing it...guess what? still there after two days!!!? at over $200 per night that is just unacceptable!!!! my husband and i felt that we wasted our money staying here!!! we've paid much less and had better service at many other hotels in chicago!!! the fixtures are stylish but seem cheaply made. The bedframe was made from a veneered mdf material that had very sharp dangerous pointed corners (be careful!!!) I banged my shin in the same spot no less than five times during our stay!!!!! i'm no Klutz but i couldn't seem to avoid that darn corner!! the bathroom was adequate but small, two people cannot be in there at the same time and it did not have a real door,only a sliding veneered wood panel (uck) so theres limited privacy in the bathroom. we visited the pool, it was very beautiful with cool lighting at night, but when we stepped in it was freezing cold!!! that would be okay now, but in early march at night the the temp outside was below 50 degrees and so was the pool!!! this was so unwelcoming, and to make matters worse the water was somewhat murky with a weird smell!!!??? (uck) the workout facility was basic and underwhelming.overall this hotel is a letdown. needless to say i would not spend my hard earned money to stay here again, in fact i stayed 5 more nights in chicago at a better hotel for under one hundred a night, I booked it thru a discount site the last night of my stay @ the palomar and it was awesome. tip:don't be fooled by the bells and whistles, if you do decide to stay here ask for a corner room on a high floor for the best view and most quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room on a high floor for the best view and most quiet. also ask for king bed if ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamimomma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $159 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing