We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Finger Lakes NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Room was perfect, rate was very reasonable, great location, staff was so friendly. Fridge was not chilling so maintenance not only replaced it w/in 5 minutes, they gave us free drinks w/o requests. This hotel is about friendly customer service!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rarhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear rarhode:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you wrote. I am glad we were able to fix the fridge so quickly for you.

We look forward to your return to the Palomar Chicago.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    544
    83
    19
    10
See reviews for
618
915
117
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My fiance and I are getting married in Chicago in September, and stayed at the Palomar over President's Day weekend while we took care of wedding business. I can not say enough great things about this property (but I'll try to limit my review to the highlights):

1. The staff - I emailed the management a few weeks before our stay to request a room on a high floor. Not only did they accomodate us, but they also upgraded our room to a FANTASTIC suite and had the room ready for my 10am arrival. They also sent my fiance and I a bottle of sparkling wine on the evening of our anniversary.

2. The room - Out of control awesome...floor to ceiling windows, seperate sitting area with a couch and comfy chair, great bed, huge closets, and the best tub I've ever seen (seriously...it fit two comfortably and could probably have fit five somewhat awkwardly). I would also recommend becoming a Kimpton In-Touch member - the service is free and it provides you with ammenities like a newspaper in the morning, pillow menu, free Wi-Fi, and a $10 raid the mini bar credit.

3. The restaurant - Excellent food and a drink menu that could astound even the most seasoned drinker (which I am certainly not). I loved the half portion option. My fiance and I wanted to try a few things, so ordered five small plates which will all great. I highly recommend the Short Rib Sliders!

4. Location - 15 minute walk to Hancock Tower, 15 minute walk to Millenium Park, and an inexpensive cab ride to pretty much anywhere. Perfect.

...so in case you're still unsure about staying here...BOOK IT NOW, thank me later. We'll be reserving a block of rooms for our wedding weekend, and know that our guests will be very well taken care of!

Room Tip: Email the managment before your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I chose The Palomar for a long weekend (February 17-20). I made reservations online and made a note that we would be celebrating our Anniversary and coming from out of town (We live in Denver). Upon arrival the staff member who checked us in wished us "Happy Anniversary" and was very polite and helpful. When we arrived at our room there was a nice note from the manager of the hotel along with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our special occasion. What a wonderful touch!!

I can't think of one negative thing about this hotel or the hotel staff. Staff members went out of their way to help us and were always smiling!! The room was great - ask for a high floor - the city view is wonderful!! The location is great - perfect walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more! We didn't eat at Sable, but we did stop in for a cocktail - AMAZING!

Thank you Hotel Palomar for a wonderful trip, we'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: High floors have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I was perfectly pleased with my stay at the Palomar Chicago. The hotel is stylish without being too modern. The rooms were nicely appointed, although the beds were just a bit soft (but I like a firm mattress so this would not be a big issue for most people).

The bar in the hotel is very hip and crowded on the weekends, and the gym is actually reasonably well-equipped, but there are only 6-8 cardio machines, so they get filled quickly. The pool is rather small, and more of a dipping pool than a swimming pool. The concierge was pretty good, but they were not super helpful

A few quibbles....it took a while for the water in the shower to get hot in the mornings, and the bathrooms are a bit smallish. Also, there are only 2 elevators for the hotel floors, which can make for a slow wait at peak times.

Overall...this was a very solid choice, and I would not mind going back again, however I think that the 5-star ratings that many people have been giving the property may be somewhat inflated.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanston_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We chose the Palomar based on the Trip Advisor review and the location in downtown Chicago. We are totally sold on the Palomar and Kimpton Hotels! The front desk personnel were professional, friendly and helpful. The interior of the hotel has an art deco feel and the room was very nicely appointed. Our room was a nice size and very comfortable. We upgraded to a city view and were lucky to have been given a corner room. We had breakfast at Sable, which was very good, but a bit pricey. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade for minimal extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#16 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,211 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 186 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#14 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): $166 - $616
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing