We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
USD 535*
USD 468*
The Peninsula
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 239*
USD 210*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 310*
USD 272*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 234*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 254*
USD 222*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 215*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 140*
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 124*
USD 109*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 209*
USD 188*
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 249*
USD 240*
Cancelon
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,519)
Filter reviews
2,519 results
Traveller rating
2,079
249
125
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,079
249
125
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policyhouse cargold coast suiteelysian hotelgas fireplaceluxury suitetv in the mirrorroom servicesoaking tubwet barbeautiful hotelliving roomfour seasonssteam roombottle of champagnerush streetturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,994 - 1,999 of 2,519 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have never spent time in Chicago - based on the hotel reviews we picked the Waldorf - we were very pleased. We stayed in a suite with our 17 yo (using the AAA rate) - there is one very large bathroom - but additionally there is a powder room off the living area with the sleeper sofa. The room was beautiful - and the fireplace is a nice touch. The hotel staff is incredibly gracious - they have a complimentary driver who will take you any where within a 2 mile radius of the hotel (out bound trips only) we used this service both nights to get to our dinner restaurants - James the driver was so great and helpful! No one at this property would accept a tip! From James to the door staff - really - that was a first for us!! Prior to our arrival the concierge (Edward) created a super itinerary for us (segway tour, architectural boat cruise and great restaurants). We will definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remembertoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in the Gold Coast area of Chicago. The service was excellent and the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The Waldorf Astoria has the most wonderful staff and amenities! The staff went beyond what is expected and made our trip to Chicago perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is by the far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. The inside decor is modern greek, the rooms are spacious, and the location is perfect. Going to the spa is a must for all hotel guests. There is a sauna, hot tub, steam room, work out facility, and relaxation room at your disposal. The most impressive part of the hotel to me was the level of class and service the hotel offers. They treat every guest as if they are someone special. The staff do not accept tips, and to be honest they all genuinely seemed happy to work there.

It is worth the money. Even if it is a one-time splurge - you will not be dissappointed!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a lovely property with superb staff. Our room was comfy but kind of an odd layout as an end suite on the 7th floor. The bathroom was just awesome and huge. We had room service breakfast one morning which was good but it seemed to take a while to deliver the food. The bar, Bernard's, is excellent but offers a limited beer menu. Comfy decor and excellent service are highlights. Note that the 18% gratuity is added on every tab. The hotel staff was excellent at every step. Superb location as well. Not cheap but pretty good value in terms of the overall experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a very good hotel. The big things - room, amenities, ambience - are great. But the service just trips up too many times. A few examples:

1. We asked about ice upon check-in. We were told it was in the room. We looked everywhere; no ice. So we called room service. It didn't arrive for more than half an hour, so we called again. We were told it had been delivered to the wrong room. A little while later a staff member used his key to **enter our suite** while we were in the bedroom and said he'd come to pick up dirty dishes. We sent him away and called again; we were told ice would be sent. It finally arrived a while later, and we were told there was no ice in our room type (a deluxe suite!). A manager called several hours later, while we were out, to apologize for the mixup.

2. The television in the bathroom didn't work (not an important amenity, I know). It took three trips from technicians and removing the mirror to make it work. When an operation this long and intense is required, how about switching us to another room or compensating us another way?

3. The suite's two shower heads continually drooped in their holders, so it was impossible to fix them in place. We asked for a repair; it didn't work. Our room was equipped for handicapped people - imagine if a disabled person had to hold the shower head all the time while washing!

4. There was no lotion in the bathroom. (Upon asking, we received three bottles.)

5. At check-in, we were told that the Sunday New York Times would cost $6. No matter, we were happy with the Chicago Tribune. But on Sunday, the Times arrived anyway. We called down to the desk - another mistake, no charge.

We stayed here before last year, when the hotel was called the Elysian. Then, the management was so mortified that housekeeping had missed a single turn-down service that they gave us a free bottle of wine. Also, the bathroom toiletries were Asprey, not Ferragamo (not as nice now). Staff assured us that the same team was still running the hotel. Did they always make this many little mistakes?

Room Tip: Avoid handicapped rooms if you don't need them.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FormerNYTHotelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews