We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. Good central location downtown and with easy access to the 'L'. The rooms and in particular the bathrooms are exceptional. However the real highlight of this hotel is the staff. They cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. All staff including the Guest Relations Director introduced themselves. I have stayed in some excellent hotels in the USA but the Waldorf Astoria Chicago is in a class of its own.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the corner suites they all have balconies with excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,829
    218
    107
    32
    20
See reviews for
524
908
111
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have never spent time in Chicago - based on the hotel reviews we picked the Waldorf - we were very pleased. We stayed in a suite with our 17 yo (using the AAA rate) - there is one very large bathroom - but additionally there is a powder room off the living area with the sleeper sofa. The room was beautiful - and the fireplace is a nice touch. The hotel staff is incredibly gracious - they have a complimentary driver who will take you any where within a 2 mile radius of the hotel (out bound trips only) we used this service both nights to get to our dinner restaurants - James the driver was so great and helpful! No one at this property would accept a tip! From James to the door staff - really - that was a first for us!! Prior to our arrival the concierge (Edward) created a super itinerary for us (segway tour, architectural boat cruise and great restaurants). We will definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remembertoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in the Gold Coast area of Chicago. The service was excellent and the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The Waldorf Astoria has the most wonderful staff and amenities! The staff went beyond what is expected and made our trip to Chicago perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is by the far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. The inside decor is modern greek, the rooms are spacious, and the location is perfect. Going to the spa is a must for all hotel guests. There is a sauna, hot tub, steam room, work out facility, and relaxation room at your disposal. The most impressive part of the hotel to me was the level of class and service the hotel offers. They treat every guest as if they are someone special. The staff do not accept tips, and to be honest they all genuinely seemed happy to work there.

It is worth the money. Even if it is a one-time splurge - you will not be dissappointed!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a lovely property with superb staff. Our room was comfy but kind of an odd layout as an end suite on the 7th floor. The bathroom was just awesome and huge. We had room service breakfast one morning which was good but it seemed to take a while to deliver the food. The bar, Bernard's, is excellent but offers a limited beer menu. Comfy decor and excellent service are highlights. Note that the 18% gratuity is added on every tab. The hotel staff was excellent at every step. Superb location as well. Not cheap but pretty good value in terms of the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): $505 - $1,047
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing