We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 272
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 823
USD 348
Thompson Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 247
USD 225
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 357
USD 339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 499
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 238
USD 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Raffaello Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 434
USD 354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
USD 294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 584
USD 418
Langham Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveller rating
1,403
326
120
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,403
326
120
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshake shackcherry circle roommillennium parkdrawing roomrooftop barpommel horsemen's clubmilk barthe beanpublic spacesunique hotelhotel guestscool hotelhistoric buildingfree coffeeart institutethe loop
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The hotel is located across from Millennium Park and has prime location as a visitor of Chicago. The decor inside the hotel and room is very masculine and dark. Even the products in the bathroom were products for men. It had a gentlemen's club vibe. We had two beds in our room. The beds were not super comfortable. I personally did not like the darkness and decor, and for this reason, don't think I'd return. But if location is important, this hotel is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saeromi228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer W, Assistant Front Office Manager at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear saeromi228,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chicago Athletic Association and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our wonderful location and truly appreciate your constructive feedback. We will be sure to share it with the appropriate teams.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,

Spencer
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This property is best for adults. I would guess 25-40 year olds that wear a lot of black, have a lot of money and are significantly more cool than myself are most comfortable here. To get to the elevator for our section of the hotel, we had to walk through a noisy bar. Coffee is free from the barista in the milk room but doesn't open until 0700. The bar is called the Game Room but would not have a child there in the evening and games are locked up in the AM. Our room was next to the stairwell which was heavily used even in the middle of the night. Workout room has no windows. It reminded me of a dungeon.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ctcavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen P, Assistant Front Office Manager at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear ctcavalier,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us. It is our wish that every guest that we have the honor of welcoming to our hotel has a wonderful experience, and a desire to join us again. We apologize for the shortfalls that you mentioned, and appreciate your constructive feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and thank you for your comments. We do hope that you will consider allowing us the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Dennis Norris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The hotel is in a great location, rooms are small but clean. Our room had a lot of noise from the El all hours of the night. The hotel seems like an afterthought to the restaurants here. Lobby and restaurants too crowded with locals. Definitely not a good place for families.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaiah J, Front Office Manager at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Heather S,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We're so pleased to see that you enjoyed our location and clean rooms. We're sorry that outside noise disturbed you and your family's time with us, and that you found our restaurants too crowded. The Cherry Circle Room and Cindy's offer preferred access to hotel guests, and our spaces are enjoyed by all ages. The next time your travels bring you back to Chicago, please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the Best,

Isaiah J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The room was very well appointed. It was neat and clean. I also liked the small amenities like bottled water and bath robe. My only caveat is the lighting at the desk. I worked from my room in the evening and I would have like a brighter light at the desk.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 815bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer W, Assistant Front Office Manager at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear 815bernadette,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chicago Athletic Association and for taking the time to rate and review your stay. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We also truly appreciate the constructive feedback and will be sure to share this with the appropriate departments.

Come back soon!

With kind regards,

Spencer
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a lovely two night stay at CAA to celebrate my husband's birthday. We returned to our room the first evening to find champagne and a tasty cake! Great service! The Millennium King Suite was spacious and spotless with a beautiful view of the park and all of the dining options were excellent. Highly recommend this special spot! My husband came here as a child with his dad who was a member of the original CAA and he was amazed to find the place so lovingly preserved and restored. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snowol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer W, Assistant Front Office Manager at Chicago Athletic Association Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear snowol,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chicago Athletic Association and for taking the time to rate and review your time with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience and that our team was able to provide such exceptional service. It is wonderful to know that we were able to provided such nostalgia for your husband on his birthday!

Come back soon!

With kind regards,

Spencer
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews