We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #115 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had read some of the negative reviews of this hotel, but it was so much better than expected. The adjectives I would use to describe it are serene, comfortable, appealing, gracious. The rooms were a little small, but what to do people expect at this price and in this location? The decorating was very cool and modern, but not intimidating. The employees were courteous and helpful. The bathroom was large. And somehow they make the sheets smell so good! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the elevator. I could hear the elevator beep when it arrived at our floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regnillogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for writing a review following your visit. We love the adjectives you used to describe your stay: serene, comfortable, appealing and gracious. Lovely! Thank you. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    610
    331
    143
    119
See reviews for
228
595
162
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Felix. Friendly staff, cozy room with all the amenities, beautiful view and great food at the hotel restaurant. Would recommend to couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBlack856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We're thrilled you appreciate our fantastic employees and outstanding location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Thank you for your recommendation as well! Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We got this hotel on Priceline for an 85 dollar bid - we didnt know what to expect but we were happily surprised. The hotel was very nice and they upgraded us to a king size room no problem. The location was perfect and we walked mostly everywhere (Mag Mile, Yolk restaurant, Samba sushi) Great times. The doorman were fantastic. The valet was a bit needy on the tips bothering me about a tip I gave the doorman. The frontdesk was nice but not as enthusiastic as the doorman when you come "home". all in all a great gamble and a fun hotel nice, clean, and in a great location. ( I was annoyed at a late night noise from the lobby and when I called the front desk they took care of it. So no harm no foul.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and for staying with us while in Chicago. We're thrilled you appreciate our wonderful doormen and fantastic location. Regarding the issue you raised with the valet, we're looking into the issue and conducting remedial training as necessary. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Felix with my wife and two small children for a 4 day trip to Chicago. We ended up with the hotel after Pricline accepted a bid for $85.00 dollars a night during the week in March. The hotel is located downtown near, Michigan Ave, and the shopping district. Its only about a 5 block walk to shopping and eating on Michigan Ave. The area around the hotel is loaded with places to eat for families and business professionals. The Hotel has within a 2 block area, Whole Foods, Walgreens, 7 Eleven, Rain Forrest Cafe, Gitos East (Pizza), McDonalds (coolest McDonalds I've ever been in 2-stories with escalators), Chop House, and Hard Rock Cafe, and Hotdog and pasta chains. All of these places are within a 5-8 minute walk. Its just a Great area. The Hotel was very nice, new and clean. The staff was very friendly and getting a cab easy. We never heard another person in the hotel trhough the walls and the rooms and hotel were very clean. The only two drawback were the rooms are small (no fridge) and their is a church mission near by for homeless to eat for free. I would stay in this hotel again and felt very safe in the area. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inhoclupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay in Chicago. We're thrilled you, your wife and two children stayed with us for your 4 day trip. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of downtown Chicago, near the city's finest shopping, attractions and restaurants. We're also very happy to hear you enjoyed our outstanding staff and clean, sleek rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Pros- very clean
nicely decorated (contemporary)
friendly staff
comfortable bed

Cons- very small rooms (smallest I've ever had in a hotel. Kept banging knee on bed corner)
no pool or hot tub
about a 6 block walk from Mich Ave (not extremely far, but far enough)
no coffee maker or fridge in room (however, front desk did offer free coffee)
very shallow sinks in bathroom which made it difficult to use
shower only in room (no tub)

Our overall experience of this hotel was very average. We were surprised it was a 4 star rating. We will most likely not stay at Hotel Felix ever again due to the distance from Mich Ave, the extremely small rooms, and the lack of pool/hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Hotel Felix. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our chic, modern decor, outstanding staff and comfortable bedding. In regards to the size of the room, we pride ourselves on our eco-friendly standards. Regarding the coffee in rooms, we offer complimentary Metropolis organic local coffee and teas each morning in the lobby. Thank you again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,485 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 189 in Chicago
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#70 of 189 in Chicago
1,506 reviews
The James Chicago
#43 of 189 in Chicago
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $199 - $455
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing