We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“HONEST REVIEW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“HONEST REVIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We visited Chicago briefly on February of 2012 for site seeing and shopping. While in Chicago we wanted to stay at a hotel in downtown which was close to some of the attractions and shopping centers. While surfing through the net, we came across several hotels. What attracted us the most about 'BEST WESTERN PLUS' hotel was its location and free parking. Most everyone knows that downtown Chicago hotels are expensive and parking is not cheap. The hotels rates range from $150 to $500 a night and parking varies from $20 to $30 a day. Some places even charge more for parking if once you leave the facility and return.

The Best Western Plus River North cost $109/night with king sized bed or $97 for AAA members and free parking. It is located in the center of all the action. One can walk, catch a cab, take the bus or train to any destination. The hotel has a huge lobby, restaurant, indoor pool on the roof, sit out patio next to the pool, and a small gym. The hotel is actually two different buildings connected together by a bridge. All four sided of the hotel over looks streets and other building in Chicago. The only side we found interesting was the McDonald's side. We were told that there were only a few rooms available which over looked the McDonald's and one would have to call in the morning of the day of arrival to reserve one of these rooms.

The McDonald's is one of the biggest in the country, which is made of all glass and has two floors. It has an up/down escalator and elevators with luxurious contemporary sofa style seats. The view of McDonald's is fabulous from the inside and outside. Next to McDonald's are the Rain Forest Cafe, Hard Rock Cafe and the Sports Authority which has eight floors.

The hotel has 6 floors with fast elevators, bright lights and clean halls with vending machines, ice makers, etc. We stayed in a room with King Size bed, which was very spacious, clean and quiet. The room also had a TV, desk/chair, a recliner chair, a safe for personal belongings, and coffee maker. The lighting was adequate and the bathroom had hair dryer and iron/ironing board. Although the tub was a little small for my taste, it was enough to just take a shower. The hotel had room service and free Wi-Fi.

The hotel has no kids’ activity but provides a big lobby with a nice restaurant/bar. Free continental breakfast and coffee was also a plus.

One thing we found while staying at the hotel was that they offered discount tickets to various attractions around the areas. For example: We visited the Shed's Aquarium, which was about 3 miles from the hotel. Shed's website charges $35 + $5 as on-line fee ($40) for an adult. At the hotel the same ticket cost $27, a savings of $13 for each adult, which was even better than the AAA rate.

While in Chicago, keep in mind that the GPS in your car will keep losing signal due to the high rise buildings, long bridges and tunnels. Having a map handy will help you navigate better around town with less frustration.
I hope this review helps everyone in determining if this is the best hotel for you. I have attached a few pictures of the place and its surrounding areas.

If you like more information and additional pictures, feel free to email me at easy2talk2@hotmail.com and I'll do my best to help.

Thanks for reading and hope you have a great trip!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel in the morning and ask them for a room with the view of McDonald's (which is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MOTOR-CITY-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback and thank you for posting an email for others to contact you. This is strong testimony for our hotel and we sincerely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    821
    300
    117
    70
See reviews for
772
551
72
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The staff at the front desk are very accommodating and helpful. The location is good and the parking is free. The room was large and recently renovated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for sharing you feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see you appreciated the value that our hotel offers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Free parking, convenient location, clean rooms, nice service! I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit downtown Chicago! 20 min walk to Millennium Park and main museums. Close to subway (Grand with State) if you don’t want to walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vulpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsford
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel has free parking which is mighty rare to find in Chicago. The self parking is very accessible and convenient. There are dozens of restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The hotel restaurant is very reasonable for breakfast. Our king room was huge with lots of good lighting for readers. There is a lovely pool and exercise area on the top floor. Staff was uniformly friendly and very knowledgeable. We found the bed very comfortable. We booked via the Best Western site in advance and got a rate of 87 dollars a night. With taxes it came to $101 per night. When we asked to extend our stay another night we were offered the same rate. The neighborhood is a great walking area and very safe. Just across the street is the rock and roll McDonalds, the Hard Rock Cafe and the Rainforest Cafe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great location. Free parking. Pool. The layout, design of hotel is a bit out-dated but our room was modern. Nothing special but a great value compared to other hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $125 - $390
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing