We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #98 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Chicago!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Best Western River North has everything I need when I stay in Chicago. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable and the location is within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, and The Magnificent Mile. If you drive your own vehicle into the city, this is the place to stay for sure, as the parking is free! The staff is always friendly and accommodating. I had only one complaint the last time I stayed...all of the vending machines were out of bottled water and it was a Friday night...they should have been full. The water at the bar was ridiculously expensive, but I bought it, because I didn't want to go back out to the store. I dealt with it!

Room Tip: Get a suite if you want lots of space. Most of them are just huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieLove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    840
    314
    121
    72
See reviews for
804
567
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wandered in after making our way to Chicago by train for a quick escape from Indy and found a great group of employees who were sincerely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and oriented for our first trip to this city. If any of them read this... we can't wait to see the Facebook video of you guys doing that dance!!

Our room was newly remodeled and looked fresh and was very clean, including the bathroom. I suppose it would be called small, but we don't care about size and it was very comfortable.

If I had one thing to say about this hotel, it would be please don't come here. Because we want to keep this great gem as quiet as possible, so we can be sure to get a room anytime. We don't want to risk it becoming too popular! :-)

Room Tip: We didn't go to Chicago to eat at McDonalds, but the one right across the street is such a desti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynpgal047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for the great comments! I will make sure the staff knows of your feedback, I know they appreciate it when guests recognize them! The video you mentioned has been posted, enjoy! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We're not city drivers or city dwellers. The location of this hotel is perfect! Free parking is definitely the greatest thing. The staff are helpful and very nice. This is the only place we stay when we go to Chicago,.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliemae4780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eau claire, wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

we stayed 4 nights for a long anniversary weekend. The rooms were small, but cozy, with comfortable beds. Parking was free which was great because we just got CTA passes and used mass transit for all of our sightseeing. You can buy CTA passes at the Walgreens 2 blocks away, but get free maps at el locations. We felt very safe walking anywhere and most attractions were even close enough to walk to. The pool was awkward to reach and the fitness room was waaay too warm. Overall a great value

Room Tip: try to get a room in the west tower if possible if you want to frequently use the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank packerfans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 7 days. I was pleasantly surprised at how great it was!

The parking was extremely awkward. You have to park with other cars directly circled around you, so the chances of you being able to get out whenever you want is unlikely. The great thing is that parking is FREE (extremely rare in Chicago) and this location is so perfect that we didn't take out our car once. We bought a bus pass for the week (22$ each) and bussed/walked everywhere. The transit system is awesome, was able to hop on a bus anywhere within 5 minutes.

We checked in early, so our room wasn't ready. The staff were kind enough to store our luggage in the back, so we walked around and got a feel for the area. When we came back, we checked into our room and got settled in. The room was very small but manageable for two people who don't plan on spending anytime in our room. We noticed that there were ants in our bed so we politely asked for another room and they were very gracious and did not hesitate to change us! They even gave us two complimentary breakfast coupons. Our second room was perfect, no complaints.

The hotel is located right across the street from a gigantic 2 story Mcdonalds (which was extremely tempting to go to every morning haha). There is an AWESOME pizza place "Gino's Eat Pizzeria" just 10 minutes away if you want to experience some Chicago's deep dish pizza. There is also Hard Rock Cafe and Walgreens nearby. We walked around at night without any fear, it seemed fairly safe.

Although we had a tiny bug problem, they made up for it with their very friendly staff. I would definitely book Best Western again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $177 - $416
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing