We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location - Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norfolk, Va
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

There can be no better location in Chicago!! This hotel is in the heart of the City, just a few blocks from the famed Millennium Park, fabulous shopping, tons of activities, the Chicago Cultural Center (visitors center), and bus tours. Our room was lovely. The building was not originally a hotel, so many of the room are a bit oddly shaped. It adds - not detracts from the charm. There is a wonderful restaurant on the first floor. The staff was awesome!!! Valet parking with full in-and-out options was just $50 per night (cheap by city standards). We also loved the morning coffee in the lobby and the 5:30 p.m. free wine party. This is just a wonderful gem!

Room Tip: Higher is better! Be prepared for some street noise - it's a CITY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanciAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    333
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
208
535
107
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is an old historic building that was completely rehabbed a few years ago. The lobby, elevators and hallways still have the charm of the original building, but the rooms have been completely upgraded to include all of the modern comforts. The rooms are not huge but they have everything you need. The views are good. I think the best thing overall about this hotel was the staff. They were extremely friendly and helpful and not in an odd or intrusive way. There is complimentary wine each evening, however the wine is just average - but again it is free. There is also free starbucks coffee in the mornings. I think this is a great hotel for a short stay. It is located right off of the subway line that leads to O'Hare and 1 short block from the orange subway line that leads to Midway airport. If you don't want to splurge for the Peninsula or Elysian in Chicago this is a good option. I would probably opt for this hotel over the Hiltons, Sheratons, or Hyatts in town - although I have stayed at some of these in Chicago and they are not too bad either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window close to the corner of the hotel so you get views of both State and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTrekker1971ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thanks for your review. I am happy you found our hotel to be good value. The team will be excited to hear you thought the service was top notch

Team Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in February as I was in town to see a show at the Oriental Theater nearby. This hotel is in a fabulous location - across from the Macy's (former Marshal Fields) and very close to Michigan Ave. and many Theaters, bars and restaurants.

We had a standard Queen Room, which was larger than I anticipated, with a very comfortable bed. I could not get my husband out of it the next morning - he kept saying that it was the most comfortable bed he had ever slept in!

The design of the hotel is very unique and you feel like you are transported back into the 1920's, but with all of the amenities you would expect from a high end 4 star hotel. There is a gorgeous marble staircase near the elevators and I highly recommend checking out other floors. I took the elevator up to the top floor and then walked down the marble staircase as much as I could and i really enjoyed seeing each floor.

I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shera34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Burnham for a long weekend in Chicago. It was once again great. We had an executive suite, which was ample size. Nice views...could even see part of the lake. The staff is very friendly and attentive. We didn't eat at the Atwood Cafe, but we did spend some quality time at the bar. The bartender is a cocktail genius. Ask for a lesson on gin! We look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjcavalieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Burnham is a terrific, unique hotel perfectly situated in the heart of downtown Chicago. Excellent staff! Rooms are very well done; Atwood Cafe is way above average in a great food city. It's a treat to get to stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, especially the ones that overlook State Street. I've stayed here nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $254 - $685
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing