We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,816)
Filter reviews
2,816 results
Traveller rating
1,617
883
219
61
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,617
883
219
61
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire station fire department great location free breakfast corner suite breakfast room navy pier hear sirens fresh fruit light sleeper within walking distance chicago downtown hot breakfast hot tub breakfast staff front desk staff the magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,119 - 2,124 of 2,816 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent two nights on a group tour in March and this Hampton Inn exceeded our expectations. Everyone who worked there was exceptionally friendly and helpful...from the door greeters, to the bell desk, to the front desk staff, to the breakfast crew, to the sales staff. Even upper management showed up at the breakfast area to check on things. They had several people working the breakfast area keeping the food out and the area clean, unlike most limited service properties. Typically when a group shows up for breakfast, the ONE person assigned to the breakfast area is overwhelmed. Employees made an effort to greet us when we came and went from the hotel, smiled, and asked how our day went. They truly gave us a "warm and fuzzy" feeling. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btravels6577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am glad that your group had such a great time with us; we do our best to take care of large groups like yours. I am so glad that you enjoyed the preparation our breakfast team paid to your group to ensure you get a wonderful breakfast experience.

Please come back to visit us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown on your next trip to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was exteremely impressed with this Hampton Inn in downtown Chicago. Perfect location for tourists or business in the loop. There are so many great restaurants and bars around this hotel and only a short walk to Michigan Ave.

I booked the 1 bedroom suite and was completely impressed by the decor, nice and new furnishings, and the spacious rooms. The upgrade is worth the money especially if you are travling with your family.

The gym was very small -- breakfast was great.

As normal, Hampton has great quality and the cleanest rooms in the hotel industry. As a short comparison, I have recently stayed at several Hilton properties in the area and here are my ratings.

Hampton Inn downtown: 5 stars
Hilton Garden Inn downtown: 5 stars
Homewood Suites: 3 stars

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is in a great area of down town Chicago. Everything is within walking distance, shopping, dining, the "L". You name it, it's close by. Our room was neat, clean and had a great kitchenette. New GE stainless steel refrigerator, and microwave made reheating the awesome leftovers from Maggiano's easy-peasy. Our suite room had a large king-sized bedroom with a large flatscreen LG television. The bathroom had a granite countertop sink area, large closet with a safe and a clean bathroom with a large shower/tub and toilet room. The living room had a comfortable pull out sleeper sofa and a desk area. The kitchen has a nice granite counter top peninsula - great for eating and stashing all of our shopping packages.

We were very concerned when there was a sign in the lobby and another one as we exited the elevator on our floor, offering us earplugs, in case we needed them, available at the front desk! What? Why would we need earplugs? When we saw that our room was right next to the elevator bank, we knew why. A gentle humming of the elevators was our constant companion. We had even requested not to be near elevators on our reservation form. The outside noise was not an issue for us, we were on the inside or backside of the hotel. This was our only 'complaint' of our visit. We would make sure that we did not stay in room #312 again, or any other room next to the elevators.

Room Tip: Ask to be up high and away from street noise and elevator noise and confirm that when you check in.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently stayed at this Chicago hotel with our twin daughters, age 1. The fire station was not a problem for us. I took a small white noise sound machine and it was great to have to dull out any noise. The staff is Amazing at this hotel. The Room was super clean and spacious. The Free Breakfast was a nice plus. And the Valets were worth every penny. Almost every outing, we took a cab, and the valets would find us a cab immediately. This vacation was stress free and absolutely wonderful. I can't say enough positives! The only down side was the pool was too chilly for us, but would be a great temp for a lap swimmer. Nice, large hot tub. We loved this hotel, and it will be our first choice if we return to Chicago in the future. oh, and we loved their pillows and duvets!

Room Tip: Our corner suite was spacious and lots of windows.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passportmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I only choose Hamptons because they are reasonably priced and usually include an awesome breakfast. This hotel was no different. We took the MetraRail from Harvard to Ogilvie Station - then just an $8.50 taxi ride to this hotel. Within walking distance to everything - including Michigan Ave and State St.. Hotel front desk has great ideas where to eat, where to go, and what to see. Love the coffee/hot chocolate station and the delicious hot/cold breakfast. Can't wait to go back again to Chicago and it WILL be this hotel! Forgot to mention the awesome pool/hot tub. After a long day of walking, a glass of wine and a soak in the hot tub relaxed us and we were all set for the next days adventures!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offthegridwithjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

offthegridwithjay,

My name is Ross Guthrie, Assistant General Manager of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I just wanted to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. So glad that you enjoyed our pool & coffee service on our second floor.

We look forward the next time you visit Chicago from Madison, WI!

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews