We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to learn some chicago history”

Chicago Architecture Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Chicago Architecture Center (CAC), formerly the Chicago Architecture Foundation, is a nonprofit cultural organization with tours, exhibitions, programs and events for all ages. Visit the CAC on Wacker Dr. to view our 4,000-building scale model of Chicago, shop in our award-winning store or participate in a fun LEGO® building event in our ArcelorMittal Design Studio. Choose from 85 tours by boat, walking, bus, or even L train, including the CAFC River Cruise aboard Chicago's First Lady Cruises. Tours depart daily and are led by CAC's expert docent guides. Every October, check out CAC's free annual Open House Chicago festival. Proceeds from CAC’s tours and gift shop, as well as grants, sponsorships and donations, support this educational mission.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Been on this tour twice and highly recommend it to all tourists coming to Chicago. The guides keep you entertained while educating you on the transition of architecture in chicago.

Thank Tanvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed the tour, Tanvi! Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat tour"
in 291 reviews
"walking tour"
in 199 reviews
"caf tours"
in 69 reviews
"chicago architecture"
in 143 reviews
"skyscraper tour"
in 30 reviews
"volunteer docents"
in 28 reviews
"open house"
in 29 reviews
"oak park"
in 39 reviews
"white city"
in 40 reviews
"the frank lloyd wright"
in 24 reviews
"south loop"
in 29 reviews
"great tour"
in 109 reviews
"learn something"
in 28 reviews
"top deck"
in 27 reviews
"different perspective"
in 34 reviews
"two hours"
in 38 reviews
"great city"
in 35 reviews
Filter

153 - 157 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We did the sky scraper tour. It was a walking tour in the freezing cold but really interesting and informative. Tours lead by volunteers, Michelle was great. Highly recommended

Thank Kat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed the tour, Kat! Thanks for taking the time to review us and for braving the freezing cold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Joined the Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise and the Art Deco walking tours and both were well worth the price.

The tour guide on the river cruise was very knowledgeable and had great passion for the subject matter. The weather was so bad (cold and pouring with rain) that at times we all had to retreat indoors, yet when the tour guide suggested we go out in the rain to see some of the "unmissables" we all obliged.

The Art Deco tour was equally good. I believe it was the same tour guide as the one I had for the river cruise, and she was just as good as before. The tour was on a Sunday and the empty lobbies were perfect for taking photos and for casually walking the streets.

Highly recommended, and if I come back I would like to go an L tour.

Thank ibbreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed the river cruise and the walking tour! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words. We would love to see you on an "L" tour if you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Architecture Center also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Architecture Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing