We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit!”

Chicago Architecture Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 18.00*
and up
Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF) is a nonprofit cultural organization with tours, exhibitions, programs and events for all ages. Visit CAF on Michigan Avenue to view our 1,000-building scale model of Chicago, shop in our award-winning store, or participate in a fun LEGO® building event in our ArcelorMittal Design Studio. Choose from 85 tours by boat, walking, bus, or even L train, including the CAF River Cruise aboard Chicago's First Lady Cruises. Tours depart daily and are led by CAF's expert docent guides. Every October, check out CAF's free annual Open House Chicago festival. Proceeds from CAF’s tours and gift shop, as well as grants, sponsorships and donations, support this educational mission.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This place has so much to offer! First of all, it has the BEST mementos of Chicago ever. Not tacky souvenirs, but things you'll actually use around your home or office. Great presents too. It literally has something for everyone. Second, they have dozens of tours around the city that are fascinating. Sign up for one, or more! Finally, through the back door and into the building behind is a small scale, but very large, replica of Chicago that really helps you wrap your mind around this big beautiful city. You'll definitely be in the area at the Art Museum, beginning of Route 66, or at Millennium Park, so walk over and check this pace out!

Thank SportsMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Chicago model and the store! Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat tour"
in 301 reviews
"walking tour"
in 192 reviews
"caf tours"
in 71 reviews
"chicago architecture"
in 129 reviews
"skyscraper tour"
in 30 reviews
"volunteer docents"
in 28 reviews
"open house"
in 28 reviews
"oak park"
in 38 reviews
"white city"
in 42 reviews
"the frank lloyd wright"
in 24 reviews
"south loop"
in 29 reviews
"great tour"
in 106 reviews
"learn something"
in 28 reviews
"different perspective"
in 33 reviews
"top deck"
in 25 reviews
"two hours"
in 38 reviews
"great city"
in 33 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Thank GCtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The Architectural Boat Tour came recommended to me by people who had taken it a decade ago. Given the rich architectural tradition of Chicago, it is to my shame that I'd never considered an architectural tour. Missing this piece of Chicago should be a criminal offense.
The docent for our tour, Susan B., proved to be incredibly knowledgeable both about the history and development of Chicago as well as architectural styles including challenges and artistic merit. Seeing buildings from the river is to see them from the city's heart, and Susan's explanation brought architecture, art, engineering and history to life. All of us, including those who had previously taken the tour, were inspired by the description and realized how rapidly the city continues to grow and change.
I strongly urge pre-booking. This memorable tour is in heavy demand (justifiably), and missing it because one fails to plan would be crushing.

Thank BienAgiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the river cruise! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to your docent, Susan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The River Tours run by the Architecture Foundation are the absolute best "compact" Chicago Tour. Whether you've lived in Chicago your entire life or are just visiting, this is a great way to learn some of the history and architectural importance of the "Second City" (which you'll learn has nothing to do with being "second" to New York!). I can't recommend the CAF's tours enough - their docents are always exceptionally knowledgeable.

Moreover, the store on Michigan Avenue is definitely worth stopping into during your visit to Millennium Park or your walk along the Magnificent Mile!

For any tour on a boat, regardless of season, dress in layers. Even on cool days it can be really warm in the sun, and it can get downright chilly on the river even on the warmest days.

Thank MrVarmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed the river cruise! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words. It is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

I love this store! Just happened upon it on my walk. Great unique gifts! I found so many items and would recommend you go!!

Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We are thrilled that you loved the store, Victoria! Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Architecture Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Architecture Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing