We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice structure, cheap price”

Skydeck Chicago - Willis Tower
Ranked #5 of 647 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: No trip to Chicago is complete without a visit to the top of the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere and The Ledge at Skydeck Chicago! Treat yourself to a "one stop Chicago" experience on your journey to the 103rd floor. Enjoy 360-degree views spanning up to 50 miles and 4 states and our most spectacular view - 1,353 feet straight down! "Dare to Stand Out" on The Ledge - glass balconies extending 4.3 Feet outside the building provide a thrilling, once in a lifetime experience!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Its a must do in Chicago, but id have to say john hancock building is cooler. Went up when there was limited visibility due to storm but was still cool. Like the part where u can step out on glass floor that extends out, 103 stories above the street, for no extra charge. Pretty cool. Friendly people working it too. Elevator is freaky, takes only 60 secs but the car sways even in non-windy weather. They claim to be the tallest structure in Western hemisphere, but the CN Tower in Toronto claims that too, hmmmm

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank brucep460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glass floor"
in 514 reviews
"glass box"
in 385 reviews
"fast pass"
in 459 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 350 reviews
"elevator ride"
in 358 reviews
"tallest building"
in 143 reviews
"hour wait"
in 211 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 171 reviews
"long line"
in 245 reviews
"observation deck"
in 331 reviews
"gift shop"
in 295 reviews
"take pictures"
in 308 reviews
"great view of the city"
in 123 reviews
"lake michigan"
in 219 reviews
"ledge"
in 2,063 reviews
"boxes"
in 602 reviews
"queue"
in 721 reviews
Filter

1,295 - 1,299 of 15,808 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I went here on a Saturday afternoon to check out the Willis Tower. This is formerly the Sears Tower and the lineups were quite big. We decided not to purchase a City pass as we didn't want to do all of the attractions but this was pretty cool and the view from the top at over a hundred stories was pretty amazing. I would recommend this as a great thing for a tourist visiting Chicago to do, and make sure you set aside some time to enjoy the views at the top.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank powelj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

There was no doubt in my mind that the Willis Tower was going to be crowded seeing as it was a must-visit while in Chicago. If you do decided to. go visit, I recommend buying a "City Pass" which is essentially a fast pass for you to cut through the long lines. Even with our City Pass, it was still about a 1.5 hour wait - I can't imagine the wait without it. Once you get up to the top, you wait in line for another photo on the glass ledge. The gentleman monitoring our specific "pod" was very nice and patient allowing everyone to get all the photos they want. Overall, great views!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank adamama1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I wasn’t thrilled with this experience. It felt like we were herded like cattle. The line to stand on the sky deck was ridiculous and no monitoring so people just got in line wherever they wanted. We finally gave up and left. The views were pretty from what we did get to see so it wasn’t a total bust.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank angelarA9088OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Go early and be prepared for lines at the top. Great views. Children love walking out on the glass platform. City Pass saves you a few dollars.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skydeck Chicago - Willis Tower also viewed

 

Been to Skydeck Chicago - Willis Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing