We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My first impression was not very good upon entering the hotel and smelling cigarette smoke. The lobby is very small with no where to really sit. The hallway carpet on the floor on which we were located was dirty with stains and torn in some places. Our room also smelled like cigarette smoke. The linoleum tile in the bathroom had a tear under the vanity (not sure how that could happen,) The refrigerator had food stains on the door. The only cups were two plastic cups in the bathroom. If one wanted any other cups/dishes, one would need to contact the front desk. We were told that the free breakfast was a "grab and go" breakfast. It consisted of granola bars and small packaged muffins. There was no de-caf coffee. Luckily for us, there was a Bob Evans Restaurant nearby that we went to for a decent breakfast before heading home.
The pluses for the Extended Stay were that the front desk staff were friendly and the bed was comfortable.
Do to all of the cons, I am trying to change my future reservations at the Extended Stay to other hotels. I will not stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone even though the price is more economical than the hotels I would prefer. I'll pay more to have a better stay.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgmdjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

If you are a smoker you will love this place. As we opened the door to our room, the aroma of stale smoke wafted over us. After about 10 minutes my eyes and throat were burning. I was told there were no nonsmoking rooms available, so we put up with it for the night. Thank goodness it was only a one night stay

Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DGKalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We were disappointed to hear your stay was not a positive one due to the room reserved through Priceline was a smoking room. We want to apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Unfortunately at that time we were unable to change your reservation to a non-smoking room due to being sold out. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We would like to add that we will be a 100% non-smoking facility after our interior remodel is concluded. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at URB@extendedstay.com. We hope that despite the experience you had, you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This is about the 4th time I've stayed at this hotel. Public areas were clean and well kept. Management was hospitable, and had made sure to honor a room request I'd made, which I appreciated. Smoking is allowed on the 3rd floor, but the smell does not penetrate the rest of the hotel. The room and kitchen area were properly cleaned and in good repair. Bed and linens very comfortable. Unfortunately someone at ESA corporate evidently has decided that windows that actually open are a public risk, and now there are metal stops that prevent windows from opening more than a couple of inches; this eliminates one of the advantages of ESA properties (being able to open windows to enjoy outside air). I did notice a 3rd floor window open, so apparently there is a way to temporarily remove the block. Wireless Internet is not superfast, but acceptable. The hotel is a block from I-74, so it is quiet. Good location near the I-74 Prospect St. interchange; it is less than 10 min. to downtown Champaign, about 5 minutes more to downtown Urbana.

Room Tip: The west side looks toward a Lowe's lumber yard; the east side looks toward the parking lot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

We appreciate you sharing your experience. It is great knowing that you have continuously enjoyed staying with us multiple times. I'm glad you found your accommodations suitable.Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I just needed a clean, decent bed for a one-night stay in Champaign, IL. I used Priceline to do a name your own price reservation at a 2½ star hotel (they list Holiday Inn Express, Fairfield Inn, Courtyard by Marriott, Hampton Inn, & Four Points by Sheraton as examples of hotels in the 2½ to 3 star category.) the closest thing I can compare this extended stay to is a Super 8.

The place is skeezy. The caulk is peeling away from everything, the bathroom fan vent is rusty, the room-darkening blinds don't meet in the middle (so the blinding lights from the mega car dealership across the street flood right into your room all night long.) It's the sort of place you enter thinking, "I'm definitely getting secretly video-taped when I undress in this room."

But at least you won't be lonely. We got to listen to King Kong pace the floor above us all night, and when our next door neighbor was awake at 6am, it was like she was showering in our bed.

Seriously, I don't understand how this hotel ended up as a legitimate alternative to the others listed above (most of which I've stayed in, almost exclusively good experiences at the ones I have visited.) There is a place for this type of hotel, I just want to know what sort of quality I'm getting when I go into the deal. I've used priceline's name your own price option before, always with very good results. But this experience has definitely made me reluctant to use that option in the future, since I can't count on a "2½ star hotel" to actually be a 2½ star hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank colietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies for the noise and cleanliness issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will be retraining our staff to make sure we are enforcing our quiet hours and to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests and we are very thankful for your feedback. Again, I apologize that our hotel was not to your standards.We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Awesome room with a small kitchenette in it. Bed was very comfortable. Chair was naugahide and comfortable. Free Breakfast was a muffin and fruit but we weren't aware of kitchenette until we arrived or we would have bought stuff to make our own.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cherye O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I’m thrilled that we were able to provide you with a home away from home experience! It’s great to read that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens, grab-and-go breakfast, and our comfortable rooms. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#14 of 25 in Champaign
131 reviews
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
635 reviews
0.1 km away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.7 km away
Super 8 Champaign
Super 8 Champaign
#23 of 25 in Champaign
457 reviews
2.4 km away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana

Address: 610 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Price Range: $84 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Champaign
Champaign Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing