We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“quiet and near the beach in a fishing village”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
calderhig...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good value spot surrounded by bananas”
Reviewed 4 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The property is close to the sea, we loved watching the sun go down over the sea from our balcony. The property had everything that we needed as a base for our walking holiday. The house was very clean and set over three stories.The furniture and decor was basic but suitable for our needs. The location is good for access to the many walks in the northern part of The island. It is walking distance to the old fishing village and restaurants although we drove most times after a day walking!
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2018
“We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it”

“The property is close to the sea”

we loved watching the sun go down over the sea from our balcony.

“The property had everything that we needed as a base for a walking holiday”

“The house was very clean”

“The location is good for access to walks on the island”

“walking distance to the historic centre and restaurants”

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Calderhigh thanks for your review of your 7 Night stay at the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House PAUL DO MAR since 2008

Your review confirms that the Beach House had:
“everything needed as a base for a walking holiday” and that

“The house was very clean and set over three stories”

And your review confirms that the location

“is good for access to many walks in the island”

“is walking distance to the old fishing village and restaurants”

We hope that you will return again to Madeira soon and consider staying at PROPERTY again or another property that we manage in Paul do Mar or Faja da Ovelha on Madeira´s sunniest, warmest south west coast.

Follow us and what´s happening in Madeira on our blog: best of Madeira. Best wishes, Paul & Iva the owners and Managers of the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House since 2008
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrichnie...
Buehlertal, Germany
1 review
“quiet and near the beach in a fishing village”
Reviewed 19 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

quiet and off the beaten track; only 50 metres from the beach and bathing area in a former fishing village; cheap and good restarants in the vicinity; uncomplicated and helpful landlord

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2018
Ulrich thanks for your Family group´s positive review of the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House PAUL DO MAR since 2008

Your review confirms that the Beach House is:

“Quiet”
“50 metres from the beach and recommended swimming area”
“in a fishing village”
“with good restarants nearby”

We are happy that you valued our guest care from the enquiry stage until check out. You wrote:

“uncomplicated and helpful landlord”

We hope that you will return again to Madeira soon and consider staying at SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House again or another property that we manage in Paul do Mar or Faja da Ovelha on Madeira´s sunniest, warmest south west coast.

Follow us and what´s happening in Madeira on our blog: best of Madeira. Best wishes, the owners and Managers of SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House since 2008
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamer76...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunny Beach EAST HOUSE at Paul do Mar”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We are a “hiking-style” couple who love nature and know the island pretty well as travelling here every year (sometimes twice a year) and also pretty much familiar with rentals in Madeira–also at Paul do Mar form earlier. We are also mostly self-catering that is why a well-equipped house/apartment (kitchen) is essential for us. Here we ve found absolutely EVERYTHING we needed. Sunny Beach House is located at the lower (western) part of this village. It is built as a twin-fashion-house where we ve got the eastern section. A row of houses at the beach then comes banana plantations in front of the house and on both sides. Parking is at the beach ca 100 m down from the entrance door.There are 3 levels inside (kitchen+one bedroom and bathroom at the base-bedrooms and bathroom+ terrace at the middle and smaller living room+terrace at the top. ) As I ve mentioned we’d been living in several rental apartments/houses in Madeira but this one was really unique as very well equipped-meaning that we ve found all the things that we are using at home and as such the stay for us here was like “being at home” (for us)!
Quiet surroundings, birds around, the sound of the wind and waves–something a “must have” for us and ve got it here. Above all of this we had the opportunity to meet the very friendly owner Paul who has supplied us with a lot of useful information firstly regarding the house , then possible sites places-museums to visit and also information regarding facilities, wines ,gastronomy, shopping ,whale watching options in Madeira itself….etc
Provided us brochures-books-maps so very well equipped could start our stay in Madeira again! (even walking sticks for the 2 of us-as we ve forgotten to take ours with us this time!!
Thanks Paul!
We ve never before met such a careful host as You are! You ve made our stay here even more pleasant as it uses to be …! We d definitely come back again –probably this year ! Best wishes for You and Iva and we d also wish You lots of satisfied and happy guests at this place ….as we are!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
“Here we ve found absolutely EVERYTHING we needed”
“Thanks Paul! We ve never before met such a careful host as You are! You ve made our stay here even more pleasant as it uses to be …! We d definitely come back again –probably this year (2018) !”
Hajnalka K, thanks for a 5 Star, Excellent review for the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House PAUL DO MAR. We do hope you return in 2018 and stay at SUNNY HOUSE EAST again or another property that we host in Paul do Mar or Faja da Ovelha. Follow us and what´s happening in Madeira on our blog: best of Madeira ! Best wishes for you too. Paul & Iva the owners & managers of the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House PAUL DO MAR since 2008
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P
1 review
“Nice time in November”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Since a couple of years we were back again and Paul and Iva are so nice and helpful like the first time.
The house is fully equipped, the beds very good and the view from the terrace to the sea is beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
"the view from the terrace to the sea is beautiful"
"the beds are very good"
"fully equipped"
"
Peter P
thanks for another 5 Star, Excellent review for the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House since 2008. Your first review was a couple of years ago. Your review confirms that the house is:
"fully equipped"
the beds are "very good"
"and the view from the terrace to the sea is beautiful"
Also, we are very happy that you valued our client care from the enquiry stage until checkout. You wrote:
"Paul and Iva are so nice and helpful like the first time"
We hope that your return to "the sunniest. warmest village in Madeira again soon" and consider staying at SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House or another property that we manage in Paul do Mar or Faja da Ovelha. Follow us and what´s happening in Madeira on our blog: best of Madeira! Best wished the owners & managers of SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House since 2008
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hil-36-36
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Sunny House East - simply wonderful! Extremely clean house with everything you need to make this a home from home - hair dryer, washing machine, clothes airer, kitchen hob, BBQ, games etc. Beautiful location overlooking banana fields out to sea and it was a joy to sit on the covered veranda each evening watching the sunset. Paul do Mar is a lovely fishing village and makes a superb base to explore the island by car. We also enjoyed walking from Sunny House along the sea front and through the old street to the little harbour and waterfall at the other end of the village - so peaceful, quaint and not touristy at all. The owners must be congratulated on their attention to detail and excellent customer service. From original enquiry to check out I felt that everything was handled quickly and professionally. When we met them, they shared a wealth of knowledge on the local area and gave us many ideas of the best places to visit which was appreciated. I also noticed that they run the house in an eco friendly manner and are very caring and compassionate towards the local wildlife which was wonderful to see. Thank you for a lovely holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
“Thank you for a lovely holiday!”
The hosts “run the house in an eco friendly manner and are very caring and compassionate towards the local wildlife”
“Beautiful location overlooking banana fields out to sea”
“Paul do Mar is a lovely fishing village and makes a superb base to explore the island by car”
“Simply wonderful!”
“Extremely clean house”
“Everything you need to make this a home from home”
“Paul do Mar: so peaceful, quaint and not touristy at all”
Hosts: “attention to detail and excellent customer service”
Hosts: “shared a wealth of knowledge on the local area and gave us many ideas of the best places to visit”
Hosts: “run the house in an eco friendly manner and are very caring and compassionate towards the local wildlife”

Dear British travellers
Thanks for a 5 Star review for the popular SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House since 2008! Your review confirms that the house is:
“Simply wonderful!”
“Extremely clean”
“a home from home”

And that the location is:
“Beautiful....overlooking banana fields out to sea”

And that Paul do Mar is “a lovely fishing village and makes a superb base to explore the island by car.”
And recommended for walking.

Also, we are very happy that you valued our client care from enquiry stage until checkout. You wrote:

“everything was handled quickly and professionally. The hosts “shared a wealth of knowledge on the local area and gave us many ideas of the best places to visit”

And that the hosts “run the house in an eco friendly manner and are very caring and compassionate towards the local wildlife”

We hope that you return to Madeira again soon and consider staying at SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House or another property that we manage in Paul do Mar and Faja da Ovelha. Follow us and what´s happening in Madeira on our blog: best of Madeira ! Best wishes the owners & managers of SUNNY HOUSE EAST Beach House since 2008, Paul & Iva Abbiati
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing