We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$433
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
drrad666
Beautiful place with amazing staff
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2024
Can’t say enough about how lovely this place was to stay. The staff was excellent and clearly dedicated to service for their guests. We stayed in one of their canopy bungalows which was just lovely with many amenties, a comfortable bed and nicely appointed with a balcony overlooking the forest. The resort is pretty hilly, but the staff is happy to take you where you need to go in their electric golf carts. We enjoyed the very cool, multi-tiered rock pool as well as a walk down to the beautiful beach. Due to road flooding, we were “forced” to stay an extra night until the main road reopened…hardly a hardship! The staff were so accommodating it made the change in our itinerary easy to bear. We also ate at the Osprey restaurant for breakfast and a few times for dinner…stunning views and good food, too. It’s a little off the beaten path about 20 min south of Port Douglas, but highly recommended.
Date of stay: January 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$433
  • Algotels
0.0 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Exterior view
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Pullman
    AU$885
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Main pool
Booking.com
AU$135
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
8.4 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$1,259
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,259
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,259
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,259
9.2 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$236
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    AU$236
9.6 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main resort pool. Nicely cooled in summer and heated to the perfect temperature for winter.
Tripadvisor
AU$276
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
10.2 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$209
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$209
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
10.4 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Northwing Walkway
Booking.com
AU$409
Fully refundable
  • Sheraton.com
    AU$409
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
11.0 km from Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Oak Beach
Reviews (1,841)
Filter reviews
1,841 results
Traveller rating
1,296
379
101
50
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,296
379
101
50
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach nature walk coral sea ospreys restaurant eco resort main building golf buggy welcome drink port douglas flora and fauna stinger season our honeymoon bird life the great barrier reef peace and quiet shuttle service minute drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,841 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

We requested early check in and room upgrade which they kindly agreed as they weren’t at capacity due to recent cyclone and flooding events. Reception service was friendly.

Upgraded room had a fantastic view of the ocean and trees. Room was large but a little dated and lacking in basic maintenance (e.g. blocked shower head, leaking shower unit and signal issues with television).

The site is large but mostly walkable unless it’s nighttime and pouring down with rain for which I’d recommend using their golf buggy service (a few of the lights supposed to keep the pathways lit were broken)! The buggy drivers were also very friendly. They have their own private beach however there had been substantial damage from the cyclone which they hadn’t managed to clear before they arrived. Spa treatments were available during our stay and we both had a massage which was excellent and a real highlight.

Our main criticism was the on site restaurant, Osprey. Lunch menu was incredibly limited and was just the entrees from their dinner menu. Luckily we were only staying for two nights, any longer and this would be very tedious! Dinner menu wasn’t much better and food quality was not up to standards expected for the prices charged. Service was very relaxed (if anything, too relaxed!) and waiting staff were dressed like they were about to take us on safari (cheap red polo shirts and work boots!). Again, not what we were expecting given prices charged. The breakfast offering was probably the worst I’ve ever experienced and laughable. Hot food selection was limited to scrambled egg, bacon and sausage and that was it. Cold food selection was basic at best. You’d get a better breakfast at any of the budget hotels in the UK (eg Premier Inn). If staying here we’d recommend you do away with Osprey and drive into Port Douglas and make the most of the fantastic restaurants on offer there.
Overall a bit of a disappointing stay as we had high hopes / expectations given the positive reviews we had read when booking.

Room tip: Avoid Osprey restaurant Make sure have hire car - their taxi service into Port Douglas isn’t cheap!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Thank you for leaving us a review. We're disappointed to hear you found your stay underwhelming. We have definitely had our challenges lately however this shouldn't comprise your experience with us. We take your feedback seriously and appreciate your honesty. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024

The most beautiful place on earth. The 4 tier cascading pool feels like a natural water source. The resort compliments the spectacular natural environment, it feels so much like living in nature/ in paradise,whilst simultaneously being spoilt by all the comforts and services of a plush resort with good food and good service . The staff are lovely. The views are heavenly, the location second to none. Thank you Thala for this unique experience. Best place I’ve ever stayed at and I doubt I would ever find anything better👍♥️

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

That is so lovely to hear! Thank you for your glowing review and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

The amenities were dated, the restaurant was subpar and for the money and the owners kicked out the live in staff after the cyclone. For a business like this to treat their staff so poorly is shameful. Honestly embarrassing.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 346everettp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seton Prettejohn, Owner at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

It’s very sad to read your expectations weren’t met or brought to our attention during your stay.

Your main grievance strangely seems to be related to events when you were not a guest with us.

Our staff and guests were temporarily evacuated as we were forced to close for a short period due to the property’s access roads being dangerously damaged following cyclone Jasper in late December.

The safety of our guests and staff are our most important consideration that we take very seriously. Sadly temporarily closing and evacuating the property was the only option in the circumstance we were left in.

The decision to prioritise the safety of our guests and staff above business profits is a stance we have and will continue to stand by and do not consider worthy of your ‘scummy owners’ insult. The owners are a local family who have been harmoniously operating Thala for over 25 years. Other reviews will attest to the contentedness of our staff.

It is extremely unfortunate you are compelled to peddle an unfounded, malicious and poisonous point of view without understanding the sensitivity of the situation, the dangers we were all put in and the required safety decisions that were made to evacuate and protect our guests and staff as a result of the traumatising 1 in 100 year weather event the area and residents have recently experienced and are recovering from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2023

Service with a view at Thala Lodge is amazing. I had a great relaxing moment with a tasty mocktail on one hand and mesmerising view on the other.

At Thala Lodge, the combination of exceptional service and breathtaking views creates an unforgettable experience for guests. Whether you're seeking relaxation or adventure, this stunning lodge offers it all.

Unwinding with friends in this tranquil oasis, sipping on a delicious mocktail while gazing out at the awe-inspiring scenery. The attentive staff at Thala Lodge go above and beyond to ensure your every need is met, allowing you to fully indulge in the serenity of the surroundings.

Thala Lodge is the perfect destination. Unforgettable moments await, where service and views converge to create an experience that will stay with you long after you leave.

Room tip: It is a steep uphill climb so make sure to arrange for golf-like cabbie to drop you off.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wanderer14737240908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

We're delighted to hear you enjoy Thala to the fullest. Thank you so much for your kind words and looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

Very nice beach hotel with spacious rooms, excellent food, very good spa treatments and direct access to beach with clear ocean, good for swimming. We liked pools and beautiful suroundings. Especial thanks to the hotel manager Waruna who took a very good care about us, was very friendly, attentive and helpful. Would love to rerurn to this Beach Paradise.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Renate0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words Renate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews