We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
20
10
1
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
10
1
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guana cay pizza beach bar conch salad marsh harbour golf cart hammocks nippers accommodations bahamas vessel bath island hands sand ferry
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Grabbers is an experience! Good local food like conch & fish & wonderful atmosphere. You are sitting almost in the sand on Fisher's Bay on Great Guana Cay, Bahamas. Friendly staff & fun local bands on some nights. Was there last evening & an entire Junkanoo troupe entertained us around the pool- costumes, clanking cowbells & even tubas!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great place for a drink, lunch or sunset. This isn't a place you would want to stay. Rooms are dark with one small lamp. Rooms were filthy and bathrooms were disgusting. Camping would have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Grabbers is in a beautiful location to watch sunsets. It also has really good seafood, service and drinks.

We didn't stay at the hotel, but came here three times for food and drinks. They often play local rake n scrape music, so it feels like the Bahamas. The seafood was fresh - I had conch salad twice, and grilled grouper on the third night, and they were all fabulous.

The mosquitos were pretty bad, but the bartender loaned us bug spray the first night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank spike256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We traveled to Great Guana Cay to inspect a house (Dreamkeeper) on which we had a contract to purchase. Grabbers was the only place available for Thanksgiving night so we booked there.The bar and resturant are very good and met some interesting locals. The local lobster and drinks were excellent.The room they booked us in was the most expensive unit which was overpriced and severely need updating including new mattress and complete bathroom refurbishment. The TV was not working but heard that the cable was not working for two days, something common on Guana Cay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank submarineengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Grabbers is a great place to go drink, swim, eat and have a good time. The rooms are a completely different story. The bathroom smelled and the floors always felt wet. The bed was clean and very comfortable. We had plenty of clean towels which was good because they were not replaced the next day. The condition of the pool water was cloudy and needed cleaning. To be fair, the pool is usually nicer, but the skimmer was broken so the water wasn't being filtered and cleaned. They were working on it when we left. This review is just for the hotel room. The bar service is good and the location is great. The price is cheap for the Bahamas, and now we know why. There aren't many hotels to choose from. A cottage may be a better choice, but wouldn't have the same view. I guess you have to pick your poison.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any as we stayed in the new section. My son and his wife were on the second floor and said the bathroom didn't smell, but our friends room and our's did.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Departure802693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrabbersOnGuanaCay, Guest Relations Manager at Grabbers Bed, Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hey Toby&Jim,

We take great pride in keeping our rooms in tip-top-shape and are sorry to hear that was not the experience during your visit. The pool has definitely been fixed and you'll be happy to see sparkly, clean water should you choose to visit us again and we've made a special note about the bathrooms and floors to try and meet your needs, as well as the needs of our other guests, better in the future.

We hope you'll give us another try in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews