We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular with locals...”
Review of Bistro Chez Nous

Bistro Chez Nous
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Surrey Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We selected Bistro Chez Nous as a geographical half way point to meet up with friends - and on the advice of fellow Tripadvisor reviewers.
It is a small - and at times, very noisy - venue; a former corner shop beside the train line.
At $50 per head for food only - plus $4 corkage pp to BYO wine - this seems like good value when you factor in the canapés on arrival, a choice of entree, main and a selection of petit fours/dessert samplers.
But the overall menu selection is very limited and for some reason mushroom soup replaced the French onion soup as soup d'jour. Although two of us snapped up the last two bowls of French onion soup, and very pleased we did as they were delicious! And isn't the ubiquitous pork belly phase overdone now? Can we please move on!
The service is impressive however and maitre'd, Ben, is a very warm, gregarious host.
Be warned that the tables are very close together and there's every chance your conversation will be overheard - or drowned out!
The one toilet for this restaurant is located outside the premises and dubbed 'Waterloo'! Not an ideal situation, but assume there was no other option under local planning laws.

3  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenCrow, Manager at Bistro Chez Nous, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Bonsoir Sally,

Thanks very much for your review.

We understand our tables are close together during busy periods (much like a busy Paris bistro!).

And you're right- the outside loo isn't ideal. Unfortunately due to the shape of the building and council laws, we can't allow our guests passing through the kitchen. It's as much a safety issue as anything. So 'Waterloo' will have to do for now!

We look forward to serving you and your table of friends again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Ben


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

This small Bistro, in what was once a shop in the Eastern Suburb of Surrey Hills, is a gem. The night we went featured a Lyonnais menu with a choice of three entree and three mains plus cheese "samplers" on toast squares followed by eight little deserts. On arrival Hors d'Oeuvre were served.
I had the rabbit terrine then the Lyonnais sausage and beans. My wife had the fish for her main course and reported that it was excellent. We couldn't eat all the vegetables (the potatoes cooked in duck fat were scrumptious) and by the time we got to the deserts (which were delicious) we had to leave half of them. The waitress did ask if we wanted to take the rest home, which was a nice touch.
At a fixed price of $49.50, plus $4 per head corkage if you take your own wine, this is a bargain and we will be heading back with friends soon. Ok, the place is noisy and the tables are close together, as they are in Paris Bistros, but the quality of the food is way better than many Paris Bistros I have eaten at.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank pierrekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenCrow, Manager at Bistro Chez Nous, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Bonsoir Pierre,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review Pierre!

Your attention to detail from your experience is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Ben and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Brought our friends visiting from Brisbane to this little gem in Surrey Hills. Once again Chez Nous did not disappoint us with their superbly cooked French provincial cuisine! I had pan fried fillet of rockling which was cooked crisp and moist and to perfection accompanied by french fries and salad. The beef bourguignon pie with good size beef chunks in crisp pastry and a rich gravy that blended beautifully was delightful. We finished the meal with a variety of sensational petit fors with coffee. Very reasonably priced set lunch menu. Staff were very friendly and ambience was homely and cosy.
This will be our local place to go to for a satisfying French meal!

2  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenCrow, Manager at Bistro Chez Nous, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Bonsoir Esther,

We are so glad this is your local place for a French meal!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write your experience at Chez Nous.

Kindest Regards,

Ben and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Good French restaurants are uncommon in Melbourne.
Bistro Chez Nous, Surrey Hills is a unique experience, for a special night out. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. Though small and a little crowded, it offers excellent value and food for the three course set menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Josephine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenCrow, Manager at Bistro Chez Nous, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Bonsoir Josephine,

Thank you so much for a lovely review.

We appreciate you taking the time.

Kindest Regards,

Ben and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Friends took us there. Provincial food and just wonderful.
We enjoyed the potato and leek soup. Superb and a very generous serving with bread stick AND pate. So filling one of our party cancelled the next course. The beef bourguignon pie was excellent but the base was marginally overcooked. And I could not pass up on the crepe dessert either.
Very reasonable prices, such that one could go quite frequently if lucky enough to live nearby.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JGqld1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenCrow, Manager at Bistro Chez Nous, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Bonsoir,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review!

We truly appreciate you taking the time.

Kindest Regards,

Ben and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Chez Nous also viewed

Mont Albert, Whitehorse
Surrey Hills, Boroondara
 
Mont Albert, Whitehorse
Canterbury, Boroondara
 

Been to Bistro Chez Nous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing