We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A great start to our vacation!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for a night on our way up to Yellowstone from Salt Lake City. It's a sweet place located on the town's main street.. Our king room was very comfortable and clean, and included two $7 vouchers for breakfast, which we ate outside on the patio. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and while the menu is basic, we were pleased with the quality of the food. The inn has its own private indoor tubs fed from the hot springs, so we soaked there the night we arrived (you get robes and extra towels at the front desk) and went to the public outdoor springs the next day (they're fabulous!) The inn has a lovely lobby with lots of seating for hanging out or reading, as well as a sitting room upstairs off the hallway. Everything has that old-fashioned look which I love. There's free Wi-Fi. Room prices are reasonable, and the owner is very nice and accommodating.

The town is small and the primary reason to visit is to soak in the springs and go tubing on the river, which you can see people doing as the river flows right through town. The town is 2 1/2 hours from Yellowstone, so if you are planning on visiting the area, I do recommend a visit to this town and I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    54
    19
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
83
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The staff was very attentive and the main floor sitting area and porch were the best parts of the hotel. The room looked all it's years. Rugs old and stained. Ceiling fan noisy and we left window up since it was hot and no AC. Trains come thru valley all night, so noisy. However, the creek looks great for tubing and you can get an inexpensive good massage during the week.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
442 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The owner, Gail, who purchased this 90 year old property three years ago, is a really beautiful and gracious person. She works 7 days a week from morning to night making sure her guests every need is taken care of. I give her credit for taking on a large property that was run down and closed for business. The owner is in the process of renovating and upgrading this once grand old hotel built in 1917 which used to received stage coach passengers who came, as today, to enjoy the hot springs. Please be aware before you book a room at this old hotel in the summer that there is NO air conditioning in the hotel or rooms. There is one small room in the bar area downstairs that is air conditioned. The private hot spring pools are quite old and in need of updating. The hot spring pool room that we were given was still being renovated - the dry wall and ceiling were under construction. The very LARGE ceramic tiled pool (Room #3 only) was in good shape and had the advantage of the bathers having the freedom to adjust your own water temperatures (hot & cold). The private hot spring pools are FREE to guests - included in the price of your room. Pool room #3, the one we were in, had an open window to the outside which was refreshing and not claustrophobic. Room #1 is dark with no windows or sky light and didn't look like it had yet been updated. Room #2 was a very small pool with plants and a window. I am not too sure that the pools are pristine in terms of being sparkling clean and seem to need some work. Be CAREFUL not to go underwater in the pools as it will hurt your eyes. It took me two days to recover. I wasn't sure if it was the pools or the towels that caused me so much distress with my eyes. The towels may have had too much soap left in them which I am highly allergic to. So far, the hotel is still using old faded synthetic linens on the beds, and the pillows are not comfortable at all. You should bring your own pillows for a good nights sleep. The hotel is located right on the river, so you may want to request a room that faces to the river so you are cooler in the summer. The room we were given was probably the hottest room in the hotel facing the parking lot on the sunny side of the hotel. You definitely do NOT want to stay on this side in the summer. Even though the room had a ceiling fan, I could not sleep because of the heat & humidity on July 4th. You can watch fireworks from the balcony of the hotel and that was a lot of fun. Be prepared for LOTS of mosquitoes when visiting Lava Hot Springs in the summer. I was eaten alive while there. Just be prepared when you are visiting this aging town that you will NOT find high end anything there. The dinner at Riverside is average at best for the higher price, but there really are no other decent places, that I could see, in which to eat. The Riverside guest "continental breakfast" is as basic as it gets....commercial sweet rolls, dry cereal, oranges, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and coffee. The commercial public pools in Lava Hot Springs looked GREAT, so if you are booking lodging, you may be able to save yourself some money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Riverside Inn. Kathy was extremely nice and helpful when I called to make the reservation and also when we checked in. Our room was charming and comfortable, although there were some places that needed to be repainted and fixed up a little. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed eating out on the deck. We were there on quite a hot day. I don't think our room had any air conditioning, but the ceiling fan kept it cool enough at night. It is historic building and it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My husband and I stumbled onto this fabulous Inn and what an unexpected find it was. Old and quaint and loaded with charm. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. The food was quite good, (I can recommend to salmon with dill butter) and a voucher toward breakfast comes with your room. . We enjoyed a couples massage that was one of the best I've ever had and the mineral baths are PRIVATE. Quaint is code for "not everything is modern or perfect BUT this place is not to be missed if you are looking for laid back and romantic.
Jerry and Karen Riggs

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffythecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.1 km away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
386 reviews
0.1 km away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.2 km away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
10 reviews
0.2 km away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa

Property: Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Address: 255 East Portneuf, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price range (per night): $111 - $177
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa is a historic, full service adult boutique hotel, spa, restaurant & lounge located in downtown Lava Hot Springs. Featuring 18 guest rooms, onsite hot mineral springs & massage therapy, the acclaimed Portneuf Grille & Lounge which is open nightly for dinner, meeting facilities, free wifi & complimentary Continental breakfast. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The hotel is located within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing