We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location on The Basque Block”

Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery
Ranked #12 of 866 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999. With three locations in Boise, Eagle and Coeur d'Alene that capture the spirit of Idaho and the Northwest, Bardenay Restaurant and Distillery is a cornerstone of Idaho's restaurant and bar industry. The original establishment is located in a once empty warehouse on the Historic Basque Block in downtown Boise, Idaho. On April 25th, 2000, history was made when we served the first cocktail to included spirits distilled in a restaurant in the US. As the nation's first restaurant distillery, Bardenay has set an industry precedent as the first full service restaurant and bar with the ability to create handcrafted liquor on-site. Our distillers are happy to give tours as time allows. Please ask your server if you are interested in a closer look at our operations. p.s. We are only allowed to sell our fine spirits by the drink. If you would like to purchase a bottle, you may do so at many of our state liquor stores.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked down to The Basque Block and stopped here for dinner. We enjoyed the outdoor seating since the weather was nice and the Basque Block is interesting.
We both had the fish tacos and really enjoyed the whole experience.
We like Boise.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We love being part of the Basque Block in Boise!! Thanks for the review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went base on the reviews we read. Loved the brick walls, etc but that was it. We were seated and our server came for our drink order; came back in 2 minutes and wanted our dinner order, but we didn't have menus. She gave us the menus and was back every 2 minutes wanting our order; the restaurant wasn't that busy. We finally ordered and she disappeared; we had to ask other servers for additional drinks. So let's just say that the service was just the beginning.

My husband had the turkey sandwich and I had the meat loaf. We both had the bleu cheese cole slaw. The menu made no mention of having bell peppers in the cole slaw (who puts bell peppers in cole slaw???), since my husband is deathly allergic to capsacin he couldn't eat it. He said the turkey sandwich has zero flavor. The meat loaf sandwich was the most bland thing I've ever eaten. As for the bleu cheese cole slaw, you'd expect it to have a lot of flavor. Unfortunately, it tasted like it had been soaked in milk.

Before we were even finished, and we didn't even finish, our server suddenly appeared with the bill and then just stood there. Rude!! She must have been in a real hurry to have the table back. NEVER AGAIN!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred and Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. That is not our norm. We never want our customers to leave unhappy. Please contact us, we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. kmarler@bardenay.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Overall, we like Bardenay. We've been there just for dinner and separately for drinks. Pretty much all encompassing. Service was good. Fresh and local selection of tasty food. I can't give it an excellent because it is noisy. It is very casual, not the place to go for an intimate dinner. The outside is quiet and relaxed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback! We hope to see you back soon Joseph!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Good food on a quiet night. Had the Pho. Very good. I recommend. Good wine list. Steaks and other basque food.

Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks Andy!! Glad you had a great meal with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Arrived at our hotel near the airport and randomly searched for a spot to eat. This place looked nice so we took a chance. We were NOT disappointed! It was a great spot to eat. We sat outside and enjoyed great food and drinks on a quiet street. I will for sure go again next time I’m in Boise.

Thank Ism M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA-Manager-Response, Manager at Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

"We sat outside and enjoyed great food and drinks on a quiet street. I will for sure go again next time I’m in Boise.".... Anytime!!! Safe travels back home :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bardenay Restaurant & Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing