We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Atmosphere”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Neat outdoor area, but got buggy. Very casual eating, trash can at table, eat off paper products. Happy to see they did have kids menu! Sadly we couldnt feed gators, we were told they werent eating now. Would highly recommend deviled crab (aka crab cakes) they were amazing!

Thank rysoftballstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal, as well as our unique ambiance. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 434 of 5,335 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Like being in Margaritaville. Come here for good seafood and a good time. Place is very rustic. Servers are friendly and efficient. I had the Crab Stew (outstanding) and a Deviled Crab (very good). First visit; will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HankmidGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal, as well as our unique ambiance and the service you received. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a quick bite to eat, after biking all the historic sites on the island. We drive past the few restaurants on the southern end, without much interest. When I saw this spot on the map, I knew we had to come here.

It's hidden in the middle of a residential area and looks a little like a theme park, but it works. The seafood is very good. We split a seafood combo plate, each adding a clam chowder.

To make the place even more family friendly, they've got about 20 small alligators, sunning themselves. You can feed them from a fishing rod for $3, which should be fun for the kids.

It was not only an enjoyable meal, but a good experience as well. Highly recommended, if you're planning on visiting Tybee Island!

Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal, as well as our unique ambiance and our interactive Gator Lagoon. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

BBQ was not my favorite. Everyone else in my group enjoyed their food. Feeding the gators was something I looked forward to, and really enjoyed

Thank sparksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that your dining companions enjoyed their meals and that you enjoyed our interactive Gator Lagoon, but we are sorry to hear that you found your meal to be only average. Please do always ask for a manager if ever there is anything that does not meet your expectations so that we can take corrective action. We hope that you will join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were concerned when we read they had cats around and the place was packed. We got a seat on the patio and the service was a little slow. We ordered drinks and sat back to enjoy the place. We order a platter of seafood for two. When it came we ate for an hour straight. We had a ton of fun and really enjoyed the food. The bill was about $60 for all. Well worth it

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rowland2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed your meal, as well as our unique ambiance. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing