We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional cottage ~ IT'S LIKE HAVING A GALLERY...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
View to front from kitchen/dining room
Sitting room with Smart TV, books and games
Sitting room with Smart TV, books and games
Second bedroom, with views to saltmarsh
Bathroom, with standalone claw-foot tub
View from upstairs
Sun-trap patio with gas BBQ
Looking to the summerhouse
Garden
From the summerhouse
Sunrise on Salthouse beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salthouse, Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The_Metca...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional cottage ~ IT'S LIKE HAVING A GALLERY OF PAINTINGS INSTEAD OF WINDOWS”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to Pit Cottage, we have already booked a third. Reading the guest book we are not alone, once visited this beautiful cottage invites guests to return time and time again.

Inside and out it is very well maintained, it feels homely with an Aga and a log burner. The owners Stacey and Nick put a lot of special touches into this cottage. There are a lot of lovely cottages in Norfolk yes but this one you can look out of FIVE windows directly out to the saltmarshes and sea, there is the best fed horse in Norfolk "Magic" and a duck pond directly across the road, this year with a resident family of 5 swans. It's like having a gallery of paintings instead of windows.

At night you can see the twinkly lights out at sea and watch the stars sitting in the beautiful garden. Time passes very slowly here for a truly relaxing break. It's very quiet and peaceful, sitting in the garden with a coffee listening to the birds sing.

Along with most other visitors we'll be back time and time again, the only negative of this stunning cottage is the day you have to go home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Wow - what a lovely review! Thanks so much for taking the time to write it. Look forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachpalT...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Situated overlooking the marshes, the cottage is a short walk to the shingle beach. The cottage is nicely decorated and furnished with comfy beds, a luxurious bathroom and well equipped kitchen with an Aga . it's a cosy retreat to come back to after a day exploring the area. We really enjoyed our stay here and will be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thanks very much Wendy for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to welcome you back again some time. All the best, Stacey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich W
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend in a perfect cottage”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic 3 nights in the cottage. It is without doubt one of the nicest cottage we have stayed in. It has everything you could possibly need. The wood burner in the lounge kept us all lovely and warm. The beds were very comfortable and when you lie in the bath with the bathroom door open you can see the see....fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort in a tranquil place”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A warm and well appointed Winter retreat. From the moment we arrived we felt that we were 'home', nice to have a welcome pack and the Cottage was snug and warm. Great views of the salt marsh, and the duck pond. Enjoyed a few walks along the coast, Cley Smokehouse worth a visit (hot smoked salmon). We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Thanks very much for your comments, Graham, we look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissy56...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage with fantastic beach views”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are in the middle of a 5 night break with our retrievers Lily and Molly. If they could rate the cottage, beach walks and location, they would tell you that they are having a wonderful time. Along with their owners agreement this has to be one of the best mini breaks, stress free, comfortable with all the comforts of home and much more. The only thing we would change is the weather but what is to be expected in December.
Stacey and Nick provide a clean and well looked after holiday cottage, complete with character and all mods cons. We couldn't have asked for more and as a 1st visit were surprised at the lovely welcome wine and flapjacks plus greeting card wishing us a lovely time. On reading the guest book - all agree Pit Cottage is a very special place and a return visit will be booked. Thanks. Stacey and Nick - 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and beautiful cottage
Liked least: The rain !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Many thanks Christine for your kind review! I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay. Best regards, Stacey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing