We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice getaway”
Review of Flat Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swainsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flat Creek Lodge
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice getaway”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My girlfriend and I recently visited Flat Creek Lodge for a weekend stay. The visit got off to a rough start as there was some confusion about the pet policy but the staff did what good customer oriented businesses do and made everything work out in a mutually satisfying way.

Each of the guest rooms are decorated in the theme of a particular animal (ours was Bass) and it's obvious that a lot of imagination and work went into decorating the room. Well done. We enjoyed the themes!

We enjoyed a couple of relaxing hours around the catfish pond. We won some and the catfish won some. :) We wandered over to the peacock/peahen area and really enjoyed watching these beautiful, colorful birds. Fun ways to pass the time.

Our singular most enjoyable moment was the dairy farm tour. This was absolutely fantastic and we enjoyed it immensely! The host and hostess for this tour are so friendly and informative. They are very liberal when it comes to sharing the cheese and wine and it tasted so amazingly good. This is a treat that I strongly encourage! Just as we were leaving the dairy tour it began to rain in Swainsboro and this lasted throughout the night. Rather than being a bad thing, this provided for a peaceful, soothing night as the rain fell upon the roof and the large pond just outside the room. Speaking of the pond- we were mesmerized throughout the weekend by the beautiful swans that resided there. Black swans, white swans, Canadian Geese, Mallards and a couple other species. Took lots of pictures.

We took advantage of the hot tub but did not avail ourselves of any of the other spa offerings. The hot tub was just right and the spa facilities seemed very accomodating, modern and comfortable.

Items needing attention:
Bicycles- The lodge advertises bicycling as an activity but you'd better bring your own. The ones there are in such disrepair as to be rendered unusable. Too bad because that would have been an excellent way to tour the premises.
Wait staff- Never had good service there in the 4 meals we ate in the dining room. It varied from waitresses with little to no knowledge of the food to having no one available to serve us as we sat interminably awaiting help. On Sunday morning there appeared to be only one person working and she was apaprently responsible for seating people, waiting tables, maintaining the buffet, keeping liquids available, etc. The food was good but it was a chore to get it. The dining experience was less than exceptional to be sure.
Too much rustic?- We enjoyed the rough hewn cabin-type appearance and it added to our experience. However, I can't help but think that all of the spider webs in the room are more a sign of neglect than atmosphere? If they are indeed a part of the atmosphere, then I apologize. Otherwise, I'd recommend a slightly more detailed cleaning.

None of the negatives mentioned would preclude a return visit to this little getaway. It's different in a good way and I'm sure we'll once again visit in the not too distant future. Looking forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savannahjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Hello!

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experiences at the Lodge. We're so glad that you and your girlfriend had a fun weekend with us! The birds are beautiful, and we're glad you were able to do the Dairy Tour as well!

Also, we greatly appreciate the feedback, as we are always striving for ways to make the guest experience its best! We have clarified the pet policy internally, as well as on our website, to ensure we are clear on the policies. As far as the restaurant service, we are sorry you experienced unsatisfactory customer service. We are in the process of doing some new hiring and training to make sure we take care of our guests in the best way possible.

As for the bicycles - good news! We will be getting some new ones in the near future, and we certainly hope y'all will be back to check them out! Thank you again for taking the time to visit us and also share your opinions about the Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    31
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
60
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our 33rd Wedding Anniversary and since I purchased this groupon a couple months ago, I decided to surprise my husband with something different for our anniversary! If I had read some of the reviews before going, I don't think I would have purchased it! It's truly a place for hunters and fishermen. I'm not sure what I was expecting as I packed dressy clothes/heels for dinner and after seeing our room and a quick tour of the place, I should have packed jeans/sweatshirts! My heels got caught between the floor boards in the room. The best thing about the lodge was dinner...we truly enjoyed the blackened salmon! Little disappointed in breakfast--especially the grits, but overall the food was pretty good! Be aware there are no TV, fridge, microwave, phone in your rooms and be sure to NOT rub your hands on any of the furniture, shutters, etc or you may get a splinter. Most of the staff at least spoke to you--especially the guys who helped w/our luggage...the cook and Ms. Lois were friendly but other staff people pretty much stayed to themselves. Although you can't account for the attitude of the other guests--they were distant! The wine and cheese, jellies were excellent! Appreciated the groupon but don't think we'll visit again!

Room Tip: Be aware there are no TVs or phones in the room and we didn't get cell phone reception so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for spending your 33rd Wedding Anniversary with us! Though hunting and fishing is one of the cornerstones of our business, we try to have varied activities for all our visitors, including things like the Spa, tours of the Dairy, our Fitness Center and more. We value your feedback, and we will strive to make sure our non-outdoor enthusiasts feel comfortable as well. We're delighted that you enjoyed the dining experience, wine, and cheese. Happy Anniversary and thank you again for your feedback!

Warmly,
Cathy McDaniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This place is NOt kid friendly at all-we asked before we went b/c we do enjoy taking our children with us places. We had to ASK 24 hours after arrival for the promised wine/cheese. There are NO modern conveniences oterh than heat/air. Everyone there was DRUNK and beligirent and the staff refused to do anythign about us being kept up until 3am by the people on both sides of us. As long as you want to spend a fortune on alcohol, they will LOVE you and treat you great. You can disturb anyone you please and the will kiss your rear. BUT if you really want a NICE relaxing vacation without being drunk or putting up with drunks, this is NOT the place for you. Instead of saying ANYTHING to the people who kept us up, we were told it was THEIR perogative to be drunk and disorderly, we were scolded for suppsoedly making a 71m phoen call and waking tehse same people up? Really, we were sleeping since they kept us up til 3am and even IF we made a phone call at 71am, this would be a problem where WE should be chastised WHY? THEN they overcharged us for a full extra meal on our ticket for food that was NOT fit to eat. Not sure who said the food was superb, perhaps if you are too intoxicated to tell the difference..The chepaest thing on menu is chicken with mashed potatoes and it was a thigh and leg SO TINY, I swear it was quail, not chicken and the garlic mashed potatoes were SO bad that I could not even eat them. Also, $5 for a baked potato for my son that was roughly the size of.a pool table ball To sum it up, we CAUGHT the fish we ate, so they were free and dinner was STILL over $100 with no alcohol purchased. Teh mac and cheese was so bad that my daughter told the chef he forgot the cheese. It was dried out noodles with some dry shredded cheese sprinkled on top. So, my "chicken" plate, our fish, 6 crablegs. a baked potato and order of mac & Cheese=$100. ANd again, did I mention, they did NOTHING about our complaints but complained about US and the nonexistent 7am phone call we made? NO tv, no phone, no fridge, no microwave, wifi if you want to sit on top of the office, shower only, no tub, cracks in the walls b/w the rooms, ONLY 2 towels for 4 people in a room.. NO ice to put in your ice bucket unless you want to get it from the KILL room ice machine? FAR from relaxing or a resort. and NEVER plan to take your family. Again, great place if you want to go kick back and stay drunk, but THAt is about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tgdillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We deeply
apologize that your visit to the Lodge did not meet your expectations.
We pride ourselves on giving our guests a fun and relaxing visit and
are sorry that for you this was not the case.

While some see the rustic flair and "lodge" feel as an advantage and a
chance to get away from it all, you've helped us to understand that
some of our guests may come expecting something different. From your
feedback, we are in discussions to determine if it is a good fit to
add some amenities such as televisions to some of our Lodge rooms. We
also have updated our website with amenity information so our guests
can come visit us knowing what to expect.

We also make our guest services staff available 24/7 to accommodate
any needs, such as additional towels and ice.

As for your dining experience, we are sorry that the special
children's meal we prepared was not to your liking, as we know that
was a big concern prior to your stay. We made the meal especially for
your family since we did not at the time have a children's menu. Also
based on your suggestion, our culinary team has added some dining options
for families with children to the menu.

We also hope that since we initiated the full refund for your hotel
and meal costs, that this has helped to mitigate some of the distress
caused by your visit.

We've had the pleasure of hosting thousands of happy guests from all
over the country and world, and we provide a relaxing, fun environment
for all that come to discover Flat Creek Lodge. We value every guest
that walks through our doors and strive for excellence. We are truly
sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you again for
taking the time to share your feedback - we look forward to
implementing some of your suggestions going forward.

Kindly,

Cathy McDaniel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My husband, 1 year old and I stayed here for a few days and had the best time. Great food!! Great Customer Service!! The baby loved the swans :)

Wish you many years of success!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandAFrey, Guest Relations Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi Lori!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences! We are so glad that you and your family had a fun time with us at the Lodge... and especially that our swans were appreciated by your baby! Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We just got back from our Thanksgiving weekend trip. We used the groupon. We stayed in the Fox room. Every room has a different decor/theme. The room does not have a TV, fridge or coffee maker, but we were alright with that. The walls are pretty thin b/c we could here everything next door. We ate dinner at the on-site restaurant. It was very good, but a little expensive. There is a game room which has TV's and a pool table. There is a spa with access to the jacuzzi. They have two, but the temperature would not increase, so it stayed at about 85, which was a little cool to me. There is a free catfish pond for fishing. My husband caught about 10 fish in about an hour (one was caught twice we think though). They have a fire pit area, which had a fire the first night, but not the second. The resort is not far from other restaurants and Wal Mart (mabey 10 minutes drive). We walked around and rode the free bikes, also. This is a nice resort to just relax, and very nice if you like to hunt and fish!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TiffanyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna J, Public Relations Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words - we're so glad that ya'll had a good time biking, fishing and relaxing. We pride ourselves on giving our guests a memorable experience, and we're so glad that we were able to provide you with just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swainsboro hotels
11.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Swainsboro
11.2 km away
New Swainsboro Inn
New Swainsboro Inn
#4 of 5 in Swainsboro
11 reviews
11.3 km away
Edenfield House
Edenfield House
#1 of 4 in Swainsboro
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Best Western Bradford Inn
Best Western Bradford Inn
#1 of 5 in Swainsboro
91 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Flat Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Lodge

Property: Flat Creek Lodge
Address: 367 Bishop Chapel Church Rd, Swainsboro, GA 30401-4310
Region: United States > Georgia > Swainsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Swainsboro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just three hours southeast of Atlanta, the Flat Creek Lodge resort offers an oasis to guests who enjoy being pampered with beautiful scenery, gourmet meals and luxurious surroundings. With a plethora of activities available onsite like bike riding through nature trails, visiting the spa, dining, fishing and even various types of hunting, the exquisite property entices all travelers. Flat Creek Lodge also creates an award-winning line of artisanal cow and sheep’s milk cheeses that appeal to the most discerning palate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Hotel Swainsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing