We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience..Thank goodness for Groupon refund policy!”
Review of Flat Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swainsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flat Creek Lodge
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This place is NOt kid friendly at all-we asked before we went b/c we do enjoy taking our children with us places. We had to ASK 24 hours after arrival for the promised wine/cheese. There are NO modern conveniences oterh than heat/air. Everyone there was DRUNK and beligirent and the staff refused to do anythign about us being kept up until 3am by the people on both sides of us. As long as you want to spend a fortune on alcohol, they will LOVE you and treat you great. You can disturb anyone you please and the will kiss your rear. BUT if you really want a NICE relaxing vacation without being drunk or putting up with drunks, this is NOT the place for you. Instead of saying ANYTHING to the people who kept us up, we were told it was THEIR perogative to be drunk and disorderly, we were scolded for suppsoedly making a 71m phoen call and waking tehse same people up? Really, we were sleeping since they kept us up til 3am and even IF we made a phone call at 71am, this would be a problem where WE should be chastised WHY? THEN they overcharged us for a full extra meal on our ticket for food that was NOT fit to eat. Not sure who said the food was superb, perhaps if you are too intoxicated to tell the difference..The chepaest thing on menu is chicken with mashed potatoes and it was a thigh and leg SO TINY, I swear it was quail, not chicken and the garlic mashed potatoes were SO bad that I could not even eat them. Also, $5 for a baked potato for my son that was roughly the size of.a pool table ball To sum it up, we CAUGHT the fish we ate, so they were free and dinner was STILL over $100 with no alcohol purchased. Teh mac and cheese was so bad that my daughter told the chef he forgot the cheese. It was dried out noodles with some dry shredded cheese sprinkled on top. So, my "chicken" plate, our fish, 6 crablegs. a baked potato and order of mac & Cheese=$100. ANd again, did I mention, they did NOTHING about our complaints but complained about US and the nonexistent 7am phone call we made? NO tv, no phone, no fridge, no microwave, wifi if you want to sit on top of the office, shower only, no tub, cracks in the walls b/w the rooms, ONLY 2 towels for 4 people in a room.. NO ice to put in your ice bucket unless you want to get it from the KILL room ice machine? FAR from relaxing or a resort. and NEVER plan to take your family. Again, great place if you want to go kick back and stay drunk, but THAt is about it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tgdillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We deeply
apologize that your visit to the Lodge did not meet your expectations.
We pride ourselves on giving our guests a fun and relaxing visit and
are sorry that for you this was not the case.

While some see the rustic flair and "lodge" feel as an advantage and a
chance to get away from it all, you've helped us to understand that
some of our guests may come expecting something different. From your
feedback, we are in discussions to determine if it is a good fit to
add some amenities such as televisions to some of our Lodge rooms. We
also have updated our website with amenity information so our guests
can come visit us knowing what to expect.

We also make our guest services staff available 24/7 to accommodate
any needs, such as additional towels and ice.

As for your dining experience, we are sorry that the special
children's meal we prepared was not to your liking, as we know that
was a big concern prior to your stay. We made the meal especially for
your family since we did not at the time have a children's menu. Also
based on your suggestion, our culinary team has added some dining options
for families with children to the menu.

We also hope that since we initiated the full refund for your hotel
and meal costs, that this has helped to mitigate some of the distress
caused by your visit.

We've had the pleasure of hosting thousands of happy guests from all
over the country and world, and we provide a relaxing, fun environment
for all that come to discover Flat Creek Lodge. We value every guest
that walks through our doors and strive for excellence. We are truly
sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you again for
taking the time to share your feedback - we look forward to
implementing some of your suggestions going forward.

Kindly,

Cathy McDaniel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

My husband, 1 year old and I stayed here for a few days and had the best time. Great food!! Great Customer Service!! The baby loved the swans :)

Wish you many years of success!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandAFrey, Guest Relations Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Hi Lori!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences! We are so glad that you and your family had a fun time with us at the Lodge... and especially that our swans were appreciated by your baby! Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We just got back from our Thanksgiving weekend trip. We used the groupon. We stayed in the Fox room. Every room has a different decor/theme. The room does not have a TV, fridge or coffee maker, but we were alright with that. The walls are pretty thin b/c we could here everything next door. We ate dinner at the on-site restaurant. It was very good, but a little expensive. There is a game room which has TV's and a pool table. There is a spa with access to the jacuzzi. They have two, but the temperature would not increase, so it stayed at about 85, which was a little cool to me. There is a free catfish pond for fishing. My husband caught about 10 fish in about an hour (one was caught twice we think though). They have a fire pit area, which had a fire the first night, but not the second. The resort is not far from other restaurants and Wal Mart (mabey 10 minutes drive). We walked around and rode the free bikes, also. This is a nice resort to just relax, and very nice if you like to hunt and fish!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TiffanyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna J, Public Relations Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thanks so much for your kind words - we're so glad that ya'll had a good time biking, fishing and relaxing. We pride ourselves on giving our guests a memorable experience, and we're so glad that we were able to provide you with just that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I recently spent two marvelous days at Flat Creek Lodge. At first we wondered what to do....then we soon discovered renting golf carts to explore the property and Jeff helped us with some skeet shooting. This was my first time shooting! Words cannot explain the wonderful food, including the grilled romaine salad. Many compliments to the chef and his staff for the exquisite meals and service! We also saw a calf within an hour of her birth. Since I am a teacher I made a quick video of the baby and her mama for my students to see. All of the staff are very friendly and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Lodge room do not have television. Cabin/cottages do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doubleDfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlatCreekLodge, Public Relations Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Jeff was so happy to help ya'll with the skeet shooting, and we are so glad that you had a good time. And what a fun idea to do the film for your students. We are thankful that you had such a special experience with us and our staff. Looking forward to seeing you again and many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I would recommend this place to come to relax and just get away from it all!.. The staff was wonderful, Chef Joey was EXCELLENT!!!!. I love they way everything was decorated, it made nature come alive!... I have told all my friends and co-workers to come and experience Flat Creek Lodge on their next relaxing Get-A- Way!..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RN6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna J, Public Relations Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thanks so much for traveling down from Atlanta to come visit us - we will pass along your kudos to Chef Joey! So glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swainsboro hotels
11.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites Swainsboro
11.3 km away
Edenfield House
Edenfield House
#1 of 4 in Swainsboro
192 reviews
12.0 km away
Best Western Bradford Inn
Best Western Bradford Inn
#1 of 5 in Swainsboro
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 5 in Swainsboro
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Flat Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Lodge

Address: 367 Bishop Chapel Church Rd, Swainsboro, GA 30401-4310
Region: United States > Georgia > Swainsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Swainsboro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just three hours southeast of Atlanta, the Flat Creek Lodge resort offers an oasis to guests who enjoy being pampered with beautiful scenery, gourmet meals and luxurious surroundings. With a plethora of activities available onsite like bike riding through nature trails, visiting the spa, dining, fishing and even various types of hunting, the exquisite property entices all travelers. Flat Creek Lodge also creates an award-winning line of artisanal cow and sheep’s milk cheeses that appeal to the most discerning palate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Hotel Swainsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing