We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
largest carved granite ever!

this is def a "do not miss." try to go at night at christmas. the place is amazing and a great... read more

Reviewed yesterday
terri f
,
Dunnellon, Florida
A Piece of History

We came to Stone Mountain to see the carving, and we were able to do that, albeit from a distance... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
ClareBear5532
,
Irving, Texas
Read all 1,000 reviews
  
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
662
208
58
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
208
58
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laser show mt rushmore cable car confederate memorial light show awe inspiring train ride parking fee amusement park sky ride other attractions jefferson davis beautiful park carvings history granite lawn
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 955 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

this is def a "do not miss." try to go at night at christmas. the place is amazing and a great drive thru in your car with the family. decorations are fantastic. the laser light show will bring you chills and the music is great. we had season's passes and went here day and night all the time. miss it now that we no longer live in georgia.

Thank terri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

We came to Stone Mountain to see the carving, and we were able to do that, albeit from a distance and through scaffolding. Nowhere on the web site did it say that nothing was open before 10AM, and that the train (and other attractions) don't even operate every day. We had hoped to ride the train around the mountain, but instead had to settle for driving...which was fine. On a Wednesday, there were really only joggers and bicylists to contend with.

At least we did get to see the carving, and we did get in a gift shop. And now I can say I've been there, done that.

Thank ClareBear5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited Stone Mountain with my two boys. We learned quite a bit about the days of the Civil War from reading the various plaques while walking around. The ride up the mountain is a highlight, as well as standing as close to the edge as you can (safely, and with fencing all around). The views were pretty great from the summit and I enjoyed the brief history lesson on the ride up and back down!
My one complaint is EVERY single thing is an additional charge. There were extra things for kids (aimed at kids a bit younger than mine, who were 12 and 13 at the time of our visit), but each one was an additional charge. We were just starting our journey across the entire US, so I had not counted on EXTRA charges at an attraction we had already paid to enter and enjoy. Needless to say, my kids were slightly disappointed that we could not find a single "extra" that was included in the price of admission.

Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Must have been so beautiful in its natural state and cannot understand why anyone in their right mind would spend so much time,effort and money to create such a carving.

Thank AdrianH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Smaller than you would think lol but a great landmark to visit. The history in the memorial hall was interesting too. Would go again if we could avoid that stupid, price gouging to get into the park with the all attraction passes and $20 parking.

Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s one of a kind ART!!! The history and how is was made will blow your mind!!! It’s beyond believable, that and how this craving was made!!! Fabulous!!!

Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You can view the carving without paying an admission fee. Scaffolding (presumably left over from the laser light show) obscured our view and prevented us from getting good pictures. Free ten-minute video with comfortable seating inside the building. $12.95 fee for adults to go in the two-story museum. Nice gift shop with a good variety of goods.

Thank Indians65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our visit to Stone Mountain. It is one of those things that everyone should see. The history and presentation were good.

Thank waynewalker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've waited 8 years to see this work of art. It was well worth the wait. Absolutely amzaing. I was very impressed by the detail.

Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great historic attraction! They also have this amazing laser light show every night. We normally bring a blanket to lay on the lawn and a cooler filled with drinks and snacks. Note: during holidays, you may want to come as early as possible because the lawn fills up quickly.

Thank ready_2_go1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews