We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

Louisville, KY

A great place to stay with outstanding guest relations and services.

Our Cabana room was wonderful with a beautiful view of the ocean.

This is our 15th time to visit the King and Prince and we will return again.

  • Liked — Service and Cleaniness
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyandJon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    280
    108
    60
    29
See reviews for
305
439
27
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

Stayed here over Christmas "08." Our location was in the main building. Great accomodations & view. Also, when we had an issue with a cigar smoker that came in on day #2, next to our second floor/balcony room, the front desk assisted and moved us away from Mr. Stink (it was really obnoxious) with no hitches. Actually, we were given a better room on the first floor with the same Oceanfront view.

Food was superb, quality brunch available every morning and the Christmas buffet (though overpriced @ 40$) was a big hit with the locals. Everything on the island was closed on Christmas Day excpet the hotel dining room, which was a bonus.

Forget the ones that complain about this hotel being outdated. Sure, the place is 75 years old and maybe a bit musty here & there, but they obviously have invested in their property and for being in the "old/historic" building we were very pleased at the amenities, the comfort of the rooms, modern tile bathroom floors, the absolutely friendly staff, the free Wi-Fi access, security of the property and quality of the food. Come on, girls, they had hair dryers that a salon only wishes they had (Con-Air 1875), MAX power.

We will return to the King & Prince!

  • Liked — The relaxation we enjoyed during Christmas! Truly wonderful.
  • Disliked — The fact that a cigar smoker was allowed on the property. Ban cigar smokers!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtMyrtleBeach_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

My husband and I went to Saint Simon's Island for our wedding anniversary and stayed at the King and Prince. Just found it on the internet but was very , very pleased. We stayed in an oceanfront queen room... newly renovated with designer furnishings and linens. Very aesthetically pleasing... The hotel was first class from beginning to end with concierge service and a full breakfast buffet with made to order omelets. The pool area was very nice with wonderful views of Jekyll Island and a long beach to the other side. Very low key with an island feel. Swings bordered the paved walkway overlooking the beach. At high tide , there is no beach but these swings as well as the beautiful pool area , with it's sunning area complete with sand, more than sufficed. Everyone was very helpful... concierge service was a nice perk.
We loved the island as well - toured the lighthouse and took a day trip over to Jekyll Island.
If you go, you must eat at the famous Barbara Jean's down at the pier... it is excellent!

  • Liked — Views- Island feel
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scchicklovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We recently stayed at this property for a three night wedding trip. I have nothing but glowing things to say about:

1) The Service: Every staff member we met absolutely went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

2) The Location: Saint Simon's Island is one of my favorite places, and the King and Prince is situated perfectly for easy access to downtown and the main parts of the island. Also, you are right on the beach and you can't beat that.

3) The views. The view from our oceanfront villa was perfect.

The one area that needs to be addressed to make this stay flawless, is the room.

While the room had new furniture, everything else hasn't been touched since the 1980's. The carpet was stained and bunched up in areas. The bathroom had a very old and noisy fan, with dirty tile grout on the floor, and banged up sink and walls.

If this room had a modern bathroom and kitchen, and some new carpet, tile, or wood floors, it would be as close to perfect as you can get.

  • Liked — Staff, Location, Pool
  • Disliked — Dated room flooring, fixtures, and bathroom.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thegov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

Spent two days there in oceanfront room. Recently redecorated and quite large. Pool area delightful. Not too much room to enjoy the beach but it was a little cool for Oct.
Would go back again.

  • Liked — room with proximity to ocean
  • Disliked — not enough to do
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.4 km away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
10.7 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Property: The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price range (per night): $232 - $677
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing