We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Lunch Spot!”

The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Tucked inside the Callaway Gardens Country Store(R), where picture windows reveal a breathtaking ridgetop view, the Country Kitchen specializes in down-home Southern dishes with a creative flair. Start your day with a heaping plate of smoked pork and eggs benedict, or enjoy a fried-chicken-and-vegetable combo for lunch or dinner - washed down, of course, with an ice-cold serving of sweet tea right out of a mason jar. Whatever you fancy, your taste buds are sure to be tickled at this Callaway Gardens institution. Meals are not served between 11 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. as the kitchen switches the line from breakfast to lunch/dinner.
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Stopped for a quick lunch with family while visiting Callaway. Beautiful views and quaint place. Wife had fried green tomato sandwitch- tomatoes were great but Texas toast overpowered them. Eat open faced! Fried chicken salad was very fresh and tasty! Great cornbread muffins and biscuits. Plum jam was a nice touch! Desert menu looked good but we were too full to sample! Next trip.
Top it off with sweet tea- what is more southern than that!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrChemSafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We had delicious Southern food. Country fried steak and chicken were heavy but delicious. Biscuits and corn bread were included. The staff were all delightfully extra nice. It was decorated nicely with a view of the little mountains.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Always go here as soon as we get in to town. Could hardly eat all that was served. Lots of choices. Fried green tomatoes were amazing. Prices are decent. Server was very nice and accommodating. Views across the street were awe inspiring. Never knew the area had some many hills.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Kathweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

The food was not good at all. Very salty. I had the pot roast which was not great. The black eyed peas were good. The okra was mostly cornmeal.

The fish was not good either.

Best thing was the biscuits and the tea.

Service was very mediocre as well.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank stantondavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

As we were being seated, I spotted leftover biscuits on another diner's table and they looked homemade & amazing, so I had high hopes for this being a great home cooked country meal. WRONG. Our Server was asked if the creamed corn was made from fresh corn. He replied YES, so I ordered a vegetable plate. Seems all vegetables were from a can or frozen and tasted terrible. Collards, creamed corn, fried okra (batter breaded not breaded w/corn meal) spiced cooked apples were very bland. The only thing I can honestly recommend was the biscuits & jelly that came with them. Otherwise, save your money. Not worth making the effort to stop and servers are not knowledgable or honest.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Moon D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do apologize for your less than satisfactory visit and hope you told your server of your disappointment so we could improve your experience. Perhaps you caught the kitchen on a "off day", because what you describe is not the experience we strive to provide at the Country Kitchen. We will be sure to pass your thoughts and comments along to the Chef so she can address them appropriately. On a positive note, we hope you purchased some of the muscadine jelly to take home with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing