We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted a nice dinner before FIL. Was a bust.”

The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens
Price range: USD 5 - USD 15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Tucked inside the Callaway Gardens Country Store(R), where picture windows reveal a breathtaking ridgetop view, the Country Kitchen specializes in down-home Southern dishes with a creative flair. Start your day with a heaping plate of smoked pork and eggs benedict, or enjoy a fried-chicken-and-vegetable combo for lunch or dinner - washed down, of course, with an ice-cold serving of sweet tea right out of a mason jar. Whatever you fancy, your taste buds are sure to be tickled at this Callaway Gardens institution. Meals are not served between 11 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. as the kitchen switches the line from breakfast to lunch/dinner.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We wanted to squeeze in a meal before Fantasy in lights and wanted to avoid having to eat “fair food” at the event. If I could do it again I would have taken the food at the event. The service was absolutely terrible, the food was not good at all. It was over priced - 3 dollars for a sweet tea. Place thinks it’s Disney...well, it’s not! Store items overpriced too.

We had to ask 2 or three times to get our drinks correct, to get butter for the overdone biscuits, and sat for at least 20 minutes before we got our drinks. Took so long. There was no time to shop before FIL because it took forever to eat there. Would not ever want to go back.

2  Thank sojourninghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Rebecca B,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts and comments regarding your recent experience with us at the Country Kitchen. What you are describing is not at all in line with the Southern Hospitality that we so diligently strive to provide to each guest who enters our doors. We do send our most sincere apologies and will be sure to address the shortcomings you have provided. We do hope that this one unfortunate experience will not deter you from returning for the true Callaway Gardens Country Kitchen experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017

ALWAYS a good meal here. NEVER have been disappointed when eating here. LOVE that there is a little gift store to browse around either before or after the meal. I picked up some postcards and magnets for souvenirs.

Thank srpanderson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for the five star review! We look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

On a recent weekend visit to Callaway Gardens, my husband and I ate here twice. He can’t come to Callaway without having the “flat sausage” served here. He says it’s the best he’s ever had. Also delicious are the biscuits, which are impossibly light and fluffy, and the grits.

Thank mccayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Mccayk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The "flat sausage" is a local specialty. We are pleased to see that your husband enjoys it. We hope to see you guys again really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

The food was very good and the prices were very reasonable! We enjoyed the gift store too! The view of the mountains while dining was amazing! We will visit again! The breakfast is just as amazing as lunch! A very picturesque restaurant!

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Robert B,

Thank you for the very enthusiastic review. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable time and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

The Country Kitchen is slightly removed from the main Gardens complex but only by about a mile. And the reason is probably due to the fantastic panoramic vistas at this location.

The Kitchen is also a gift shop featuring homemade jellies and preserves, souvenirs, etc. Then there is the restaurant. Part of the dining room is on a climate controlled observation deck with yet another beautiful view of the valley.
TIP: Callaway Gardens has a couple of restaurants. So if the others are packed, check out the Kitchen.
Food (typical Southern fare) and service have always been great for us. You can’t go wrong. Don’t forget to take your camera.

Thank N9020GFpaulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for such a delightful and detailed review. We definitely look forward to visiting with you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Country Kitchen at Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing