We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
0
6
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
6
7
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We stayed three nights. The camp is quite beautifully set in a coastal forest. The ablutions are old and substandard. They are more less kept clean. But the less time you have to spend there the better. Monkeys are a problem, so keep food locked away. We managed to pitch camp over a ant nest and they were quite a problem, getting in everywhere and biting aggressively. We found ourselves sitting in the caravan to avoid the ants. So check for ant nests before selecting where you pitch camp. The wildlife that wonders through the camp is awesome: mongoose, guinea fowl, birds, owls. Very protected from the wind. It would be good to select a site with shade. We battled to find one and camped in the sun, which made things a bit hot, even thought the weather was relatively mind. There is lots to do. We took a boat cruise on the estuary, made a trip the Cape Vidal and visited the croc breading centre. The camping is quite expensive at R400 per night for two people.

Room Tip: Look for shade and avoid ant nests
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

From the moment we pulled in with our Caravan we had hassles. We asked for assistance to set up the tent to the van and the ladies which was advised to us that they apparently know what they doing, just stood and watched us do all the hard work and still expected renumeration after that. The Bathrooms were disgusting, showers had grime and slime on the wall tiles and floor tiles and stank of urine. Will not be revisiting this campsite anytime soon.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank LeonieS855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Visited with a tour group and camped for 2 nights.
The site it quite a long walk from the main road and with the risk of hippos at night it restricts you going out without a driver.
The facilities were average although half the locks didnt work on the restroom doors and it was quite dirty in there when we arrived
Probably wouldnt choose to stay here

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with the state of the facilities in this beautiful area . The campsite is in desperate need of maintenance and the facilities badly need an upgrade . Although the bathrooms were kept clean and there was always hot water and toilet paper, the doors don't close and there is nowhere to put your clothes down in the showers .. Surely a few hooks are not expensive ....

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank 90heliav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We camped for a week in December. Walks along the Estuary are beautiful and nice to hear hippos at night. Ablution facilities were distgusting. Drainage pipes leake in walkways, toilet and shower doors literally rotting away. Will never stay there again

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank EvansMarielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews